We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Serviceable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokee Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waimea
Hope, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Serviceable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We needed a budget place to spend a second night in Koke'e SP after camping the first night. Since it's impossible to book a second night's permit on the fly for camping we looked into this option. It worked but I sure wouldn't want to spend my whole vacation here. We heat soley with wood at home and know how to operate a woodstove. But my husband struggled that night & the next morning to keep a fire lit. We chose our cabin based on the fact we would be able to sleep next to the stove and since it was January at elevation it was 50* inside and out. Barely stayed warm after buying two buckets of their firewood. No idea what kind of wood it was or dry but no choices. It was definitely all about the location and being inside out of the rain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    14
    12
    19
See reviews for
25
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

No phone. No TV. No frills. No stress.
A fireplace. Amazing surroundings. The chickens. It's Kauai...at elevation.
Wake in the morning with the fog and head to the top of the Na'Pali canyon for amazing views with your coffee. Head out on incredible (some are taxing) hikes.
Great for families, I would think...the cabin's little kitchen makes it easy to self-cater. There is an amazing market before you come up into the Wimea Canyon area...great Poke on tuesdays!! Ishihara! Great grab-n-go and ready food...as well as groceries.
Man, I love this island!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SauteedGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here a while ago with my family. I don't know if it's improved at all but this was the worst 'hotel' we've ever stayed in. My family couldn't even deal with it, we lasted one night then had to check into our next hotel early the next day. The shower didn't work, was rusty, the shower floor was dirty and gross. the bedding/towels were dirty. Webs everywhere. The kitchen taps barely worked. The scenery is really nice but not much to do. If you don't mind dirt and rust and you're there for the nature you should be fine, if your high maintenance you won't enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lululx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waimea hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We chose to stay here because we had limited time in the park and wanted to near the hiking trails. We also didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars for a room. We couldn't have been happier with what we got. Yes, its basic. The cabin is rustic, the beds are unmade when you arrive, it might not be perfectly clean (though certainly not disgusting or anything unbearable). But its your own cabin, with a fridge and cooking facilities, in the middle of what feels like nowhere. There are deck chairs so you can sit outside, the kitchen is spartan but enough to cook your own meal (stove, a few pans, spatula, eating utensils etc) and you're walking distance or a short drive from great hiking trails. Given that, and how expensive everything in nearby towns was (and all with minimum stays) we thought this was a great deal and would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

From reading the reviews, you will quickly see that these cabins are not for everyone. However, don't be afraid of these reviews at all if you love getting away from the trappings of modernity and relaxing in a rustic cabin!

Does the cabin look glamorous from the inside or outside - no. Will it be perfectly clean - no. Will there be rust - yes. Is it a relaxing, rustic cabin that has everything you need, but nothing you want (as they quote) - YES!

Staying in the Kokee cabins was definitely one of our highlights of our 2 week trip!! We foraged for wood and started a fire in the fireplace (gets down into 50s at night), made spaghetti with friends, and enjoyed hearing the rain on the tin roof.

If this sounds like your kind of lodging, don't miss the Kokee cabins!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thefox111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed a single night at the lodge, nice drive and beautiful view points of the canyon close by. Lodge cabin is no frills living which adds to the rustic experiance. Wouldn't want to stay here longer than a night or two, for people on a budget its ideal. If your into glam resorts dont book, if camping in a garden sheds for you go for it, its fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skidz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemiah Valley
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

it is an urgent warning to every traveler do not stay at the cabins of the Kokee Lodge, we had to spent on night during a bad weather period in march in one of the cabins, disgusting is our first description and we could add on a list of words to describe it even better, it was beyond imagination what we had to put up with, first of all safety and health standards totally dismissed droppings from rodents and numerous insects, filth and dirt anywhere from the floor to the ceiling, inside the cabinets, mold growing on the dishes and few little pieces of cutlery, sheets and towels, available dirty and some of them not washed and fresh, beds, toilette, shower stove and fridge in a condition hard to describe, it still gives me goosebumps when I think about it, $99 plus tax for what and on top to have the guts to warn us if the key is not back by 11.00 for check out time there will be an additional fee, a sign on the wall saying that anything taking from this cabin we will be charged a nominal fee, what else do the owners want to rip us of with, a cabin for this price has to be clean, sanitary, heated or cooled one or the other, no they sell you a small bucket of fire wood which is even not dry enough to burn or enough to heat up place and this during a very bad weather situation I will add photos to proof what we are talking about and there will be numerous complains published and directed to the management and also the ministry of tourism of the state of Kauai, this has to be addressed and dealt with to stop people from running businesses they should be never in charge of, Kokee Park is a world class site, and time and experience of people staying there should not spoiled by the management of Kooke Park Lodge, all this sounds like a nightmare but it is true and we just want to make travelers aware please stay away and if you go through the same experience we did and other people who stayed at the same time there and had nothing better to say, please be so kind and report it to the ministry of tourism or any government agency responsible for health concerns, thank you for reading and your time

Room Tip: if you are not a camper, rent a room in any close by hotel or resort, or rent a Volkswagen camper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank chilkofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
22.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
17.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
24.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
23.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokee Lodge

Property: Kokee Lodge
Address: Kokee State Park, Mile Marker 15, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796-0819
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Waimea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kokee Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokee Hotel Waimea
Kokee Lodge Waimea, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing