We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Most beautiful beach ever, dangerous rip currents

This is the most beautiful beach I've ever been to. The road is rough but worth it when you get... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2020
MindyLovesTheWorld
,
San Angelo, Texas
Miles of beautiful beach

This beach goes on for miles and miles. If you want to have a private beach area, this is the... read more

Reviewed March 20, 2020
569tamerab
,
Kaysville, Utah
Read all 946 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kauai
from $149.50
More Info
from $308.27
More Info
from $210.82
More Info
from $165.31
More Info
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
742
153
35
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
742
153
35
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road wheel drive rental car beautiful beach polihale beach sand dunes jeep wrangler miles and miles pot holes napali coast favorite beach west side soft sand rip currents rough ride an adventure well worth the effort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 946 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Secluded yes! Might be interesting and quiet but if it's recently rained, the dirt road becomes almost impassable for regular (rental) cars. We didn't want to risk getting stranded that far from help. We were not alone as another party was also turning back. If the condidtions are right or you've got 4 wheel capability, it seems like a perfect destination

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank bilewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

I just went there to photography but there were many there camped on the beach with their cars and it made me wish I was also

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Daryl-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Follow the Kauai coastline along the south end of the island and you'll come to Polihale State Park. Since it is out of the way you'll find far fewer people here than at other beaches. You'll also get an amazing view of the Napali coastline and it's cliffs. There is camping here, and surfing in the winter. If you've seen the rest of the island and are looking for something new, check it out. And if you decide to drive out on the sand, let some air out of your tires and make sure you don't get stuck.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank RodneyB399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

Not easy to get to but we'll worth the effort. We loved it so much we went back twice. Would have gone more but ran out of time. It is a state park, but no lifeguards. A place where the locals go. A very smart thing! A beautiful beach and not too many people! The road is about 5 miles of off road driving, but well worth the effort.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

The road back to the Polihale state park is NOT well labeled (lots in Hawaii is not), we turned around 3 times before finding our way. BUT after finally finding the right path and being bumped around the car for 3-4 miles on the unpaved path it IS SO WORTH THE TREK!!!! You end up on a spectacular beach directly on the Napali Coast with cliffs galore to see!! The water was entirely too rough to even think about getting in but we were there at about 4pm so unsure of how it is other times of day. A definite must do!!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank moetmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews