We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Seriously, what are people complaining about?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sealodge at Princeville
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The location of Sealodge is incredible. We are here right now in G-5 and we love it. We fall asleep to the sound of waves and palm trees and wake up to the same. G-5 has a loft bedroom which our kids love, a main bedroom for us, two baths, a lanai overlooking the ocean, and a living room with a daybed next to a huge sliding window that opens to ocean views and breezes. The unit is not fancy and the furniture is a little dated, but who cares? This is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to. Sit on the lanai, look at the ocean, and feel all the stress melt away. This is a wonderful spot and a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PearlieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just got back last night (8/11/2013). I had been a little nervous, given the reviews and my wife's sensitivity to odors.
The place was great. We stayed a week. The sound and view of the ocean, waking up to beautiful sunrises, the ocean breeze, the closets full of gear (camping, snorkeling, beach mats, beach towels, etc), quiet neighbors, benches right on the bluff, the brilliant red crested cardinals and endangered Nene that would stop by just in case you had an extra tomato or mango. We had a terrific time.
About other reviews: No, there is no one hanging out in the parking strip in an RV, I didn't get my gas siphoned, never heard anyone call it the Ghetto of Princeville. On the contrary, it is a very nice area. The age of the buildings or the furniture did not seem significant when we were there, everything was functional and even attractive.
Smell - The room is right at the top of the bluff, which means amazing views of the coast and a good strong breeze coming off the ocean. It also means more humidity. And the room doesn't have (or need, really) air conditioning. So, yes, the room smelled a bit closed-up until you opened the windows, cooked something, or even just left out a guava. Not a strong smell, but if you are looking for something to complain about, there it is. The worst spots were the laundry area the first time we pulled back the screen and the back closet by the camping gear. The couch to me smelled a bit like a guest brought a dog. My wife wasn't disturbed by the smell, which was my main concern.
Bugs - We found 2 mosquitoes in a week and two very cute geckos. An ant or two. No spiders.
Cooking - The unit has full kitchen, with all of the utensils and pans you are likely to need on vacation (and a dish washer). How well it is stocked my depend on the last guest - there wasn't much in the kitchen in terms of staples for us. Also, none of the units appeared to have a grill, instead there is a grill area that is a grate over concrete. More of a party-size than just a quick grilling for two.
Laundry - There is a washer and dryer in the unit, what was very useful.
Privacy - You will have people wander by your windows occasionally, mostly looking for the path down to the beach.
Security - It seems pretty secure, but when we accidentally locked the door handle, we discovered how easy it would be to non-destructively break into any of these units. (No, we aren't telling.)
Other - There is a small pool that was nice to swim in. There is a tv with basic cable and a stereo. The management company and cleaning crew are fairly responsive. The windows are cleaned every day or so. There is a small library of books, which came in handy. There is some sunscreen, aloe, etc left by former guests. The bathroom fan is VERY noisy.
And there you go, I think that covers everything. You'll have a great time if you have reasonable expectations. If you have the money to be pampered, check out the St. Regis just down the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have spend 8 nights in condo A1 in Sealodge enjoying both sunrise and sunset just in front of our condo. Falling asleep and waking up only to the sound of rolling waves was amazing! Well proportioned condo and good location for going to the beach, hiking the Na Pali coast, not far from Lihue. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPlesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days during our honeymoon. As this unit is on the ground floor, it was much more accessible to bugs and we'd often find ants and spiders crawling around. It also smelled completely musty and mildewy and the sheets smelled AWFUL, like body odor. Once we did laundry (and made sure to wash the sheets) the condo became a lot more bearable and we were finally able to enjoy our surroundings. The view from E2 is truly incredible and you won't be able to find the same thing at this price point. However, it definitely came at a cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just came back from our 8 days stay at this F7 unit.

I want to give this place a 4 stars for the unit and the condo complex and its facilities get a 3

Pros:

1. The View: loved waking up to the beautiful view of ocean. The views can be enjoyed from both bedrooms, patio and living room.
2. Well maintained condo
3. Had the basics
4. Price.

Cons:

1. The beds in this condo are awful, we would always wake up with bad back and neck pains. Please if you are the owner reading this, please change your mattress.
2. No exhaust fans in the kitchen, when ever I cooked the smell would just linger around the condos and then to our cloths.. did not like that.
3. The sofa in the living room had this bad old cloth smell.

The condo complex itself:

Pros:

1. Location


Cons:

1. Like many others here, I have to say the exterior of this condo complex is hard to take in.
2. There is a swimming pool, which was getting cleaned everyday (i could see the pool guy from my bedroom) but it surprised me that there would always been sand in the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimF7Sealodge, Owner at Sealodge at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Deepti R,

Thank you for your considered review of Sealodge F7. I am very happy that you found the condo well-maintained and that you enjoyed the wonderful view. We try to provide the same experience to our guests that we enjoy when we are there, so I am very glad that you enjoyed these aspects of your visit.

I am deeply sorry that you did not find the beds to your liking. Your experience is perplexing, as these mattresses were purchased quite recently; we chose high quality bedding and specifically chose sets that have a plush layer over a firm base in order to provide comfort to as many guests as possible. In fact, one guest recently emailed our rental agent to inquire as to the make and model of the mattress because the bed was so comfortable. Sadly, we did not meet your needs, and we are, of course, looking into the mattresses and other areas of concern you noted.

I do hope that you enjoyed your visit to Kauai and that you will remember your stay at F7 as an overall positive experience.

Again, thanks for your review; feedback helps us improve our services for all of our guests.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This unit has been updated. There is a queen downstairs and there are two twin beds in the loft. There are two full beds, one up and one down. There is a washer and dryer. The unit is on the first floor and has easy access from the parking lot. The unit has unobstructed views of the reef and ocean. There is high speed Internet
access. There are 2 large closets. The unit is not large, but the space is well used.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

C5 needs to provide TOILET PAPER! I was mid-cleanup when I discovered that there was no more toilet paper. A couple on a honeymoon should not be making an emergency trip to purchase toilet paper. The price of the TP should just be built into the rental amount. I am pretty shocked that we had to deal with this. I called up Patti (the property manager) and she assured me that she was "sorry", but that they didn't provide "paper product". At no point during the booking process was I made aware of the BYOTP requirement. The interior also needs a major facelift; besides the TV, it looks like it hasn't been updated since 1987. The bedsheets are all very worn and uncomfortable. The towels are thin and worn nearly to tatters. C5 has a nice view, though.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank LMCMFFAA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.5 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.4 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,811 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
755 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealodge at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealodge at Princeville

Address: 3700 Kamehameha Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5342
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $230 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sealodge at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking views. 1 Bedroom 1 bath with a sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. The unit has recently been updated with new kitchen and bathroom granite counter tops, new appliances, fresh paint , tv and much more. You will not be disappointed. Sealodge beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill. Swim, snorkel, and watch whales from your private patio. Historic Hanalei town is just a 10 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sealodge at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealodge At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Sealodge Kauai
Sealodge At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing