We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sealodge at Princeville
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in B6 and the view was amazing. The condo was clean and stocked well. The only complaint was the people above us. They were up at 5 am stomping around and children screaming. On vacation, it is nice to be able to sleep in and not be up at 5 am. Other than that...we will be back!

Room Tip: Sleep quality horrible because of the family above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent one night here - we were supposed to spend 5. Our first impression was that we didn't get our $100 worth of cleaning from the prior renter's cleaning fee. We picked up band aid wrappers, potato chips, price tags, and left giant dust bunnies alone and called the cleaning service to complain. To their credit they did respond right way and offered to come by again. The pictures on the Hestera website must be from years ago. It's now like a college dorm room. The sofa is shot - you sink into a hole when you sit down. We put towels on it because it's so stained looking. Ditto for the day bed under the window - more stains. The kitchen has ants the minute you open up food containers. The bathroom light fixture was hanging down so my husband had to push it back up into the ceiling. The next morning we found out why that probably happened - we awoke to hammers, drills and other remodel noise going on directly overhead. I called Geri Hestera immediately and she said F7 was available if we wanted to go look at it. We decided to move to F7 and we're so glad we did. My biggest disappointment was that she admitted she knew a full remodel was going on above us and this was confirmed by the cleaning guy that showed up to redo our unit for us. Everyone knew except for us poor suckers who just wanted a peaceful vacation. Thank goodness for F7's availability - that saved our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSnorkelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Lovely place for a relaxing stay on the quiet north shore of Kauai. We loved having a place that felt like home and made this vacation rental our home base for a week. We could see Kilauea Lighthouse winking out the bedroom window, and from Sealodge itself we could descend the hill and hike about 10 minutes to a gorgeous, secluded beach. Princeville was much more to our liking than the more luxurious resorts on the south shore.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KrissyR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Had an amazing time here...hated to leave. All the comforts of home..even snorkeling gear! Great walk to a semi private beach. Rocks can get a little slippery on the trail to the beach so be careful. Went to bed and woke up with the sounds of the surf and the wind in the palm trees. The beds are very comfy and the lanai was perfect for sunset dinners! You can't go wrong with this place. Right on the cliffs above the beach. Very quiet and well managed. Thanks Robin for a great time and we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank flipflopsforeverCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very nice place to stay in Princeville. Quiet, views and close to the shopping center if you need a few things. The view is spectacular and the unit is clean and fully equipped with washer dryer and most everything you would need in a kitchen.

It was at the end of our trip to Kauai and so it was island chill time for a few days. My wife spent the better part of the day on the pune'e (that's an Hawaiian twin-sized bed-- in an alcove) looking at the ocean and reading her book.

We had one small problem with the lock on the front door which maintenance responded to within an hour. I would recommend they find a different locking device that isn't so cantankerous.

Tip: Pick up an ice chest and do your major shopping at Costco in Lihue rather that hitting the Princeville Foodland that is your basic overpriced Northshore grocery store The poke is average and salty. We got much better at the Safeway in Ka'paa and Costco.
We went to the Saturday market in Hanalei and got some great vegies and other treats.

If you like photography this is a good base of operations. Recommended highly and Geri in the reservations department was very helpful in finding us the unit that best met our budget and needs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubanoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

his review is for G9.

What a great deal. I found this unit last minute on VRBO with Ahh Aloha Rentals. I too was nervous after reading trip advisor reviews about mold and a noisy couch and construction, however NONE of these problems existed.

The unit was very clean and well stocked. There were boogie boards, snorkel gear, bug spray, hairdryer, pots, pans, baking pans, very cute dishes, beach towels, chairs and more.

The bed is amazingly comfortable, reminded me of Westin's Heavenly Beds. I also liked the pillows and the sheets smelled nice too. The couch was comfortable enough and not noisy, to refute one of the previous reviews about this unit I read.

It's a small 1-bedroom unit, where part of the bedroom wall is a fold up screen, so the room opens up and makes the unit more like a large studio, kind of. Hard to describe, but was great for myself and would work well for a couple or maybe a couple with a small child.

The view of the ocean is astounding from this unit. I sat on the lanai to enjoy coffee over the ocean, saw the waves crashing through the living room windows, and woke up in the morning with the sun coming up over the ocean through the bedroom window. Awesome. There is a view of the mountains from the kitchen and you can hear the birds sing in the morning.

I was a little skeptical about the blue countertops and mint green walls from the pictures, but when you see it in person it really is very cute.

This complex is in the high end Princeville resort area on the north shore. A beautiful area close to great beaches and the NaPali coast. Heaven on earth in my opinion. The condo was so nice for me I could have lounged around it for my whole trip!

The exterior of the buildings are kind of ugly and outdated, but the interior was very clean and cute which well made up for that.

Also, the price I paid was awesome for this unit, if you search around and get a last minute deal you will be very pleased.

Room Tip: Check VRBO and reviews to find a good unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank OcTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights of our Honeymoon in unit D6. The condo provided all of the amenities of home with a fully stocked kitched with all of the usual things you would find in your own home kitchen. This upper corner unit looks out onto the ocean to the north and the patio looks out to the east facing the lighthouse. The sunrises are very pretty from the large bedroom windows. It is great to hear the ocean waves crashing at night while going to sleep. The unit itself had fairly updated furnishings with hardwood floors, flat screen TV and a Blu ray player. There is a path to a secluded beach that takes about ten to fifteen minutes to get to. There are lots of warning signs about the path being dangerous but it is not any different from the beach paths on the rest of the island. You will have to navigate some steps and large rocks but nothing extreme. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the different units on their website and appear in real life as portrayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.5 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.4 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,825 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealodge at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealodge at Princeville

Address: 3700 Kamehameha Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $233 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sealodge at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking views. 1 Bedroom 1 bath with a sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. The unit has recently been updated with new kitchen and bathroom granite counter tops, new appliances, fresh paint , tv and much more. You will not be disappointed. Sealodge beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill. Swim, snorkel, and watch whales from your private patio. Historic Hanalei town is just a 10 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sealodge at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealodge At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Sealodge Kauai
Sealodge At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing