We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, rooms need upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice area, rooms need upgrades”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The property is very nice and the pool was great with the exception of the sand under the recliner chairs. It hurts your bare feet! Our particular condo needed an upgrade as our appliances and technology were at a lower standard than our friend's condo across the street. Beds are very uncomfortable. Overall a pleasant experience, but the condos need an upgrade to match the Princeville standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDtoLA0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    302
    111
    52
    34
See reviews for
294
274
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped into our condo, the heat took our breath away. Of course all of the fans were off and doors & windows were closed so first thing we did was open everything and get the air circulating. However, our unit was a corner unit and even though there were windows on 3 sides of our unit, there was never a cross breeze. (And we never closed any of the windows or balcony doors, or turned off the fans, the whole time we were there.) A full week of taking multiple cold showers per day and avoiding our vacation rental from sunrise until well after sundown was not exactly how I wanted to spend my honeymoon.

I had read reviews that stated there were portable AC units available at the front desk (there's not), that you didn't need the AC because of the breeze (they lied), and that there are 2 pools available for swimming. I understand there is construction (when we booked our vacation, the site stated the construction would be done by September 2013, but it now states November 2013) so one of the pools was closed. The problem is with only 1 small pool (more of a 4 foot wading pool, not appropriate for swimming laps or any activity) everyone staying in the resort was at that pool so it was even more cramped and less "swimmable" if you will.

And the property didn't have a fitness center so aside from sweating profusely all week, we didn't really get in much exercise. As a couple who goes to the gym daily, this was another drawback.

However, it was about 10 minutes from Hanalei (a small town with a fantastic restaurant [The Dolphin] and shopping district) and Hanalei Bay which was amazingly beautiful, with crystal water. The Princeville Shopping Center next door was a great find, with a grocery store, several restaurants (including CJ's Steakhouse which ended up being one of our favorite spots), and lots of unique shops. We spent a lot of time in these 2 areas, eating at both restaurants multiple times.

A side note on the prices on Kauai, it's definitely more expensive than the mainland but most wasn't that shocking. For example, in Cleveland we can get a bag of chips for about $2.50, at the store in Princeville, chips were about $3.20. Sure it's more, but I was expecting double the cost so I was pleasantly surprised there.

Most of the things we wanted to do were on the South (1.5 hour drive) or East (45 minute drive) sides of the island so there was quite a bit of drive time. This did allow us to use the AC in our rental car so it was a bonus, but it also ate up a lot of our time there. Since we didn't realize how long it would take to get from one end of the island to the other, we didn't figure that into our site seeing plans. If you don't have plans to see the rest of the island, this wouldn't affect your stay.

I realize a lot of the negative comments in this post are because of other things we had planned. Since this was our first trip to Hawaii, we didn't know things like how long it would take to get around the island, or where Princeville was in relation to Poipu or Waimea Canyon. I want to be sure other first-timers at least have the knowledge too.

The bottom line is it was a clean unit with relatively comfortable bedding, some useful appliances (dishwasher, laundry units in the condo), full-size refrigerator, but a horrible coffee maker, an itchy couch and no air flow. If we had paid for this, I would have asked for a refund and stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately, since this unit was a honeymoon present, we really didn't have much of a choice.

The feral cats on the grounds were disconcerting. I like cats, we have 2 of our own; but they're not hissing at us from the bushes. It was just off-putting. And makes you wonder why they are hanging around, and what disease they bring with them.

The roosters and chickens were literally everywhere. I was surprised that the roosters crowing did not bother me much at all. The fountain outside our unit was much louder and caused me much less sleep all night long, than the roosters crowing in the morning.

Trip Advisor asks to have you rate the room service and fitness center. They both got a terrible rating from me because they are non-existent.

One point: For the presentation, we were not going to go to it, but they saved us $75 off our snorkling adventure, gave us a $75 gift card, and provided us a discount card that could be used in the area for such things as free dessert or 10% off your bill, so we caved. It was an hour & a half of our time but the clubhouse (where it was held) was air conditioned which was appreciated. Our sales rep told us from the start he understood we weren't going to buy anything but just wanted to give us the information to make an informed decision. However, once we got through the presentation and still didn't want to buy anything, he was kind of a jerk and continued to try to push us to buy. His math was tricky: he showed us that for 2 weeks of traveling per year we can expect to pay say $2000 (I don't remember the exact numbers) but for one week with Wyndam's time share you only pay say $1500. (It wasn't that blatant in the presentation and I could see how someone would be tempted to pursue it.) As newlyweds, we don't have any extra money in our budget. This was the first full week of vacation we have taken in the 3 years we have been together, and much of it was gifted. Our sales rep did not think that was an appropriate answer and pushed, implying that we were lying about our available funds, which is not the way to make a sale, even if we DID have the money. But I digress.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely not, it does not have any of the amenities I want. If the temperature in our unit had been tolerable, I might have given a 3 (Average) rating but without that small level of comfort, it doesn't matter what was or was not available in our unit/on the grounds, we weren't able to spend much time there.

Room Tip: Take the advice and get an upper unit so that you can have the balcony doors open without people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the cooling of your unit. Please know many locations in this area use trade winds to cool the rooms. We also apologize for any inconvenience from the construction that was taking place during your vacation. It is important to us that all of our guests enjoy their stay and feel respected during their visit. In regards to room service, our goal is to make each guest feel at home with a kitchen and laundry. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain “hotel” amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We will work to better communicate this in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were married at Tunnels Beach on Oct. 25th. We traded RCI points for a 1bdrm, 2 bath upstairs unit. It was nicely furnished and had everything we needed. Having 2 bathrooms was really nice!!
We were traveling with friends who were in the unit opposite us, which was also very nice. We were close to the pool and clubhouse which was convenient! The king bed was comfortable, and having a safe, small ice chest and beach towels was super!!
There are only 2 concerns. The water pressure in our unit was very sparse. The jacuzzi style tub took 30-40 minutes to fill.
We knew the units did NOT have air conditioning, and the majority of reviews on RCI said that the ceiling fans and open windows/doors cooled the units adequately. I have to say, I disagree. The units cooled down by about 2am every night. We didn't feel secure enough to sleep with the sliding doors open, so that may have impacted it.
Overall, it is a very well maintained resort, but too warm to go without air conditioning. (BTW... We live in CA and have summers with average temps of 95+. We're used to hot weather, but not without an ability to cool off.). We will not stay there again because of the lack of air conditioning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaAnnEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Congratulations on your wedding! We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations during your honeymoon. We apologize for any inconvenience from the water pressure and trade winds in the unit as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful resort. Pretty, pleasant, and up to date. It does not have air conditioning. I would have liked air conditioning on the hot days since we stayed around the villa most days. It was pleasant enough to sleep at night but hot during the day. The front desk was so helpful to look for a villa that met my preferred wishes. I appreciate the extra effort. We stayed on the second floor to try to catch the breeze. Don't know if it helped or not.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words. We will share this with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do apologize for any discomfort regarding the lack of air conditioning. Many resorts in the area are cooled with trade winds. We do hope you come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a two bedroom, two bath unit on the bottom floor, near the clubhouse. The front bedroom had to put up with lots of traffic noise early in the am and pm returns of the tour buses. The unit was nice enough, but kitchen lacked all the supplies. A phone call was all it took to get whatever we needed, a fourth chair for the dining table, water pitcher and bathroom supplies. The service was very quick. Not close enough to the beaches, but we like to explore the whole island so it wasn't a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Bottom floors are noisy due to guests above you and car traffic in and out near the clubhouse, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamaetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the property and that our staff was able to fully assist you with any unit necessities to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property is beautiful, facilities are great (we had a 2 BR, 2 bath with full kitchen-like new) and the location is wonderful, i.e. Princeville. Right next to the outstanding golf course, Prince Course known as one of the 100 best courses. However, there is no air conditioning. Supposedly with the ceiling fans, and trade winds visitors would be comfortable. We were not. We were told the trade winds were not as prevalent as normal. Apparently a lot of places in Kauai are not air-conditioned. Other than that it was wonderful. There was no fitness center but 2 tennis courts. A new club house is under construction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including information regarding the trade winds. We are so glad you enjoyed the property grounds and location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a two bedroom, two bath unit. It was an end unit so no upstairs units above ours. We had a ceiling fan which did not work, a problem iwth one of the stove burners, and a problem with the dishwasher. There was a very prompt response when we reported the problems, although the fan was never completely fixed while we were there. The kitchen was furnished with the basics, period. There was no pitcher, as I found out when I was making some juice; only one serving spoon, no measuring spoons, one measuring cup. They provided only two packets of dishwasher soap for the entire week. One plus was that they did provide a small cooler which was handy for taking cold drinks on our excursions. Aside from these issues, it was quite comfortable. The pool and hot tub area were quite nice.

Room Tip: The units with no units above them are probably quieter; also rooms farther from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.5 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
#5 of 12 in Princeville
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bali Hai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Property: Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Address: 4970 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bali Hai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Bali Hai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Villas Hotel Princeville
Bali Hai Villas Kauai
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing