We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Bali Hai Villas are very nice. Right now they are building a new resort office/club and one of the pools is closed down but the other pool wasn't crowded and it was nice. We stayed in building 15 and it was OK except the roosters will wake you up before daylight and keep crowing until well after sunrise. If you are looking for a place with air conditioning, this isn't it. It was often hot and humid in the early part of the night and then got better later on. I guess you get used to it but I doubt most vacationers are ready for the humidity. Our clothes never felt completely dry. The buildings are built very close together so keep your conversations to a low level.

Room Tip: To get away from the roosters, stay as close to the front of the property and as far from the wooded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 764 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We originally went to the Bali Hai 3 years as a rental. We found it to be very well maintained, always clean and enjoyable. The staff is wonderful in the care they provide to guests. We were so impressed, we bought a 2 bed room unit and now go there every year. The location on the north end of Kauai, the close by light house and bird preserve all add to the wonder of the vacation.

Room Tip: If you like to stay up and party, choose a room close to the pool and BBQ area. If you would like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi Robert,

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have chosen to come back every year. It’s good to hear that you were taken great care of by our friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are currently staying at Bali Hai as a 7 day RCI exchange. Our condo is lovely, cannot even tell if it is renovated unit or not. Perhaps they do it piecemeal, as our walls are all freshly painted, not a mark anywhere, new carpet and new furniture as pictured on website. Just no granite counters.
I like the lower level as it is cooler, but, with fans and sliders open, we have never been warm, actually chilly at night and early am. And our lanai is completely private, just lush landscaping, can sit out in pjs with coffee in am, no problem. That is a great bonus as I notice most lanais are pretty public. I was worried with some previous reviews, we also have a gold crown home resort, but have no regrets about chosing Bali Hai, would return, which we likely will. And, we told Wyndham we did not want to attend any sales appt, and they never called or bothered us about.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank adirondacksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the unit lanai. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from Kauai, and spent a week at the Bali Hai in Princeville. We are owners so we were very happy with our 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. Our unit is in building 9, so our lanai faces like a garden area. We had our breakfast every morning on the lanai, and it was fairly private. We did go to the pool a couple of times, and really enjoyed that. Every morning we would head out for a walk after breakfast, one morning we came upon Queens Bath which was on my list of to do's, but didn't realize it was walking distance, it's fairly steep, and I wouldn't do the hike after it has rained. We made a good decision when we decided to purchase a timeshare at Bali Hai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorzetti1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived Sat. Around 5 pm. We asked for an upstairs room which they gave to us. It overlooked the pool and waterfall. We were not hassled to sit through the sales pitch. We just said no upfront and maybe because we had already booked all of our activities they couldn't offer the discounts so they didn't pressure. We are RCI so we didn't get housekeeping services which no big deal for us. We weren't there much. The only negative was the lack of air conditioning because our bedroom got the afternoon sun and no breeze. The living room air circulated better and was more comfortable. There was a portable fan in the closet, had everything we needed including starter coffee, filters, salt & pepper, laundry soap, toiletries, dish soap, dishwasher soap, hair dryer, jacuzzi tub, comfortable mattress and pillows. Overall, a great room. The Internet did go down the morning we wanted to print our boarding passes. My husband asked the office if he could print them out and they wanted to send him to the sister resort with complicated directions because of the sales people who weren't even there yet. They finally relented and he finished before any sales people showed up. I would recommend staying maybe on the East side of the island just because so many activities are closer. Once you have explored the island, maybe your second trip, Princeville would be a good selection. We were driving a lot to do things. It is close to Foodland, an expensive grocery store, and limited shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at a 2BR unit in mid-Sept.Room is spacious with well equipped kitchen. Stainless applian
ces with granite countertops. The unit we had, 510, was adjacent to the pool/water feature. Pool is a combination of sand-bottom and tile-bottom pools separated by rocks with "seats". Water is fed from water feature so water is slightly colder than ocean. Pool area is small with too few tables and shade

Trade wind breezes do not penetrate from the ocean enough to be effective even with all fans going. Really should have AC.

Location relative to Princeville Shopping Centre (grocery), Hanalei Bay, Queens Bath and other world class snorkel/scuba sites is very good. Shopping in Hanalei Bay is very limited.

Timeshare tour requests were limited to 2 times. They offered $100 of an outside activity to take the tour/presentation. Everything in the vicinity is outdoors related liking hiking, kayak, snokeling etc. In our case, the weather did not cooperate with some sort of rain each day (mostly around dawn). This made the trails very slippery, especially going downhills (where good shoes not flip flops).

Televisions were low tech with only SD video. WiFi is even worse. Signal would drop out almost hourly. Even had 1 day of no WIFI (crisis!)

Room Tip: Having room to close to main water feature should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcguthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you trade into Bali Hai Villas from RCI expect to be given very poor treatment and to
be given a room that is either not updated your overlooks workers dumping garbage and cleaning sheets and doing laundry. We could not sit on our balcony at all or have the sliding
doors open because of the dumpsters below us and the noise. This vacation would have been
a complete bust had it not been for the fact that Kauai is just a beautiful island. Just don't stay at a Wyndham owned property if you are trading through RCI
In general the location of this property is in Princeville and the location is excellent. This resort the actual staff members are nice and helpful the Wyndham Timeshare reps are just
complete and total jerks only wanted to sell you points you dont buy you dont have a nice vacation and they will make sure of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blushingbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We apologize for the location of your unit while staying at our property. We know that having a great view and enjoying every aspect of the unit is important. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the general location and the resort staff. Thank you so much for providing your honest feedback, as we do use this to improve the overall guest stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
23.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,829 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
581 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bali Hai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Address: 4970 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: $192 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bali Hai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Bali Hai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Villas Hotel Princeville
Bali Hai Villas Kauai
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing