We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, decent resort...one of the better RCI trades IMHO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, decent resort...one of the better RCI trades IMHO”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've been using RCI for about 10 years now and have been to quite a few of the Hawaiian resorts. I think you have to have reasonable expectations when using RCI. In my experience a nice property is really more average or middle of the road vs a traditional non-timeshare resort. The bad ones can be really bad - downright disgusting. This was definitely one of the nicer RCI exchangeable properties I've stayed at.

We had a party of 6, requested an upgrade from a 2 to a 3 bedroom which they were able to do for a very reasonable fee. The unit itself was very spacious and modern enough. All 3 bedrooms had their own private bathroom. Beds were comfy. The deck was good size - it wrapped around the back and side of the unit with 3 sliding glass doors for easy access. Kitchen was equipped well enough. We used both the rice maker and blender that was provided.

My 2 kids really enjoyed the pool. One end had a sandy entrance that they thought was really cool. Both the hot tub and pool area had waterfalls. Plenty of chairs & lounge chairs. We didn't use them but there were numerous grills in the area. Also worth noting- due to the construction only one of the pools were open and that never was a problem for us. Maybe because we mostly hit the beaches and left the resort during the day? Either way, it never felt cramped or crowded at the pool or hot tub.

If you are looking for an alright place to call home base while you're out exploring & enjoying Kauai, I'd say this place is very doable. It's not luxurious. If you want a resort that you don't feel the need to leave, head down the road to St. Regis or the Westin. But I could stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chickylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    309
    114
    54
    34
See reviews for
305
280
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I planned to spend half of our 12 day 36th Anniversary trip here and the other half at another resort. The time we spent here was fabulous. Our 2bedroom/2bath condo was located on the 2nd floor across from the new club house which was under construction. There was never once any noise or distraction from the site. As a matter of fact- cudos to the construction crew as they were very clean, quiet and worked quickly. They had almost completely roofed the two buildings before we departed. The club house is going to be a beautiful addition to this property. The pool is so nice and inviting with two waterfalls and a sandy beach. Most of all the staff were so sweet and friendly. We had a problem w/ our 2nd reservation at another property and they were so kind and helpful to accommodate us back in our unit. The concierge treated us like family, helping us with recreation plans and info. Aloha to all at Bali Hai. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any of them would be much different than ours. Maybe ask for 2nd floor to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1-georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our first time staying on the North side of Kauai. We always stay in Poipu at the Point at Poipu, so the Point is the only comparison I have for lodging when reviewing these Bali Hai Villas. We've stayed at the Point four times. Our stay at the BHV (Bali Hai Villas) was through an RCI exchange.

I requested an upper floor room. I got it. I requested two beds in the second bedroom and we got those too.

Our room was definitely NOT a renovated room. Our experience, perhaps, would have been better had we been placed in an upgraded room.

Check in was easy. Our room was ready a little earlier than 4pm. They call it "pre" check in and give you your room keys and send you to Concierge "to get your parking pass". Yeah, they send you there to give you the spiel about island activities and "be sure and attend the orientation breakfast!" and then you can save up to 25% on all island activities if you attend a 90 minute presentation....
All I had to say was "no thank you"
And we didn't attend the orientation breakfast. And that was it.

There are several DVDs you can check out (for free) as well as a small selection of board games. Internet and printers are available also in the main registration building.

Upon first entry the unit appeared clean enough. The number one most important part of cleanliness was that none of us saw a single cockroach for the duration of our week's stay. That speaks volumes when staying on any of the Hawaiian islands! The sheets and towels appeared clean and unworn.

I was disgusted when I set the placemats (pretty much shelf liner cut into rectangles) out to eat and they appeared to have never been washed. I soaked them in hot soapy water and scrubbed them clean to remedy that.

When I emptied my bathroom trash later, I was surprised to find a couple cans (mostly empty) of chew in them! Strange.

There's no mid week cleaning done (like they do at the Point) but that's no big deal. There was a vacuum in the room so we could vacuum anytime we felt like, as well as a broom and a worthless dustpan.

There's no towel exchange (like at the Point) but we were provided with eight, fluffy beach towels that we washed a couple times ourselves.

The layout of our two bedroom, two bath room was roomy and better than at the Point. The units can sleep six people and what I liked about BHV was the low bar that offered seating for those extra two people if necessary. At the Point, if you really have six people in the unit, the kitchen table only seats four and the extra two people either have to wait to eat, or take their food into the living area and eat at the "coffee table" in there.

The dishwasher seemed to work just fine. The disposal smelled something awful. Nothing a couple drops of Peppermint Essential Oils didn't help. The cooktop knobs were loose and not in the right positions so when the knob said the burner was on, it really wasn't. The microwave seemed brand new and quite functional. The fridge dripped from the top constantly, filling one of the produce drawers with water and dripping water on anything in the path between the top of the fridge and the produce drawer. It did maintain the required temperature so we don't know if this is just something that happens because of high humidity or not? Probably not, but we just moved our food out of the dripping path.

The dishes, glasses and cookware available was adequate.

The front door nicely magnetized open for great breezes. Lots of louvered windows for more breezes. There is a small bench right outside the front door that is handy for setting stuff on while you search for your room key. We loved how we didn't share stairs or an entry with anyone so the only people coming and going were us! We saw one building that had shared stairs/entries.

No AC at this place (there is AC at the Point). However, there are enough breezes to keep you comfortable, with the help of the ceiling fans and the stand fan that we found in the Master closet. We're not used to not having AC. The fans have to be on at night to stay cool and it dried our throats out (go figure), which left us pretty sleepless at night. Another con of no AC is that even though there's no smoking, people still go out at night on their lanais and smoke. Maybe that's what was drying our throats out. No AC means you're at the mercy of your neighbors and the noise they choose to make, or not to make.

No blackout shades or dark shades on windows so unless you want to be up when the sun comes up, bring an eye mask.

There is only one sink in the Master bath. Not a problem. The Point has two. There is a jetted tub/shower in the Master. The shower was the worst part of the unit hands down. Wow. I don't know what was up with that shower head, but it was about worthless for trying to get sand out of places sand should not be. You had your choice of 3 head settings. 1. A pitiful, pulsating stream of water coming out of the center of the head. 2. Light streams of water coming out all holes in the head. You'd have to stand under that for at least 30 minutes before you'd even begin to feel wet. 3. The pitiful, pulsating stream of water coming out the middle with the light streams all around. Showering was a challenge, to say the least. The shower in the 2nd bedroom was not a tub shower and their head provided a normal flow.

A nice sized cooler was in the Master closet for use as well as a safe.

The stacked washer/dryer was surprisingly full sized! (it is not at the Point)

Bath soaps, shampoo, conditioner, lotions provided were effective and good smelling. A few packages of dish soap, dish detergent and washing detergent were provided as well as paper towels.

The proximity to the Princeville market couldn't have been better. Foodland was our favorite place to be!

They are building a new clubhouse. The new clubhouse will have an exercise room! Yay! Right now there is no exercise room. We knew there would be construction and we didn't really care so we didn't ask for a room away from construction. We ended up with a room looking right at the construction. Ha ha! It didn't bother us. Workers showed up around 7:45am and seemed to clear out around 4pm. Even when we rested in the afternoon the construction noise didn't really bother us. Some people would really be bothered by it though!

Due to the construction only one pool was open. It was a pretty cool pool. Zero depth entry with waterfalls on the other end of the pool. And a spa. The pool at the Point is a killer pool so we weren't too impressed with this one, but it's still a nice pool. Plus, we spent most of the time at the beach anyway so it wasn't a factor for us.

Would we stay here again? Maybe. The Princeville location was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here because my dad cashed in Wyndham points--he's a 'VIP Presidential', so he was able to get 2 of the 3 bd condos and 1 2 bd condo for the week. Even being 'VIP', none of us got a unit with any master bedroom AC, even though it is advertised. The units were very warm by 3 pm despite fully open doors and windows and the 'trade winds'. The constant barrage of sales flyers and the high pressure sales tactics of the concierge when you're getting your parking pass is very off-putting. The pool was packed, but we didn't go to Kauai to sit around the pool, so not important to us. I wouldn't have paid money to stay here because of the lack of AC at night, but it was a gift from my dad, so much appreciated.'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BbytthDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bali Hai Villas. The pool is great for small children, the room was clean and comfortable, we would stay here again! I would not use the hotel concierge to book activites. We found better deals on the internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall this facility was doable. Good space & amenities, except no air conditioning in rooms. Had some plumbing problems with the toilet, which resulted in toilet overflowing & flooding the entire bathroom. Staff responded promptly but did an mediocre job of disinfecting/cleaning the flooded area. We also got a late night visit by a cockroach, but I guess that's expected in the tropics because when we inquired about it to the office they kind of brushed us off. No towel exchange service for provided beach/pool towels. They recommend washing them on your own with the in room washer & dryer. Showers had huge jetted tubs which we did not use, so I can't say if or how well they worked. Some mildew in the showers, which grosses me out. Mattresses were awful! It felt like sleeping on a couch bed in the king size bed we were in. I think with some upgrades to the rooms this place would be nicer, but I don't think we will ever return. The lack of air conditioning with the high humidity is a must for us in the future. Plus, there are renovations going on at this facility and there is only one pool available and one hot tub (which was broken for 1 of the 3 nights we were there). They do have outdoor barbeques for grilling which is a definite plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFamJhnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We used our RCI trade for this unit. We did not have the same results that Uruzla_13 had. We were given a nice unit from the start. We traveled with 4 other couples and had 3 units, all 2 bedroom, 2 bath. We all had nice units. We requested to be in the same building, which took some arranging, but the staff did it! Everything in the unit was of good quality, clean and functional. Our TV's all worked, as did the remotes. There was a VCR/DVD player in all the rooms (3). The master had a whirlpool tub and the second bath had a walk-in shower. We had a cooler for the beach or pool. There were 8 fluffy beach towels to use for the pool or the beach. There was no mid-week housekeeping, which did not make much difference to us. We had plenty of bath towels and there was a washer/dryer in the units. The front desk furnished extra detergent. They had a small starter kit, which included 2 small bottles of dish detergent, a scrubber, paper towels, small salt and pepper. There were plenty of garbage bags and trash and recycling was close to our unit. A complaint is that the pool is not heated and was COLD. We did not use it for swimming, only sun bathing. The hot tub is small and was very crowded, probably due to the pool being so cold. The bottom of the hot tub is small rocks, something unusual but felt nice. There are gas grills in many places, with the BBQ tools next to them. The staff is very accomodating and was pleasant to deal with. We were "encouraged" to have an owners-update, which was billed as "learning to use points better", but was really an effort to sell more property. They did stick to the "90 minute guarantee". Something that NO ONE can control is the rooster noise. They start to crow early in the morning (4-5 a.m.) and might be right outside the window. The units are not air conditioned, so keeping the windows open at night is necessary. We learned to go to bed early enough that our wake up call was not terrible. The location of this trade was good. Just a short drive to Hanalei. If there were activities offered, we did not use them. Beaches close by. We enjoyed a couple of the tours, hiked and swam. We liked the area a lot. First time for the North Shore. Would go back here again. Be prepared for the daily rain showers, they come and go pretty fast, but you could get rained on. Prices high in Hanalei (grocery). We bought at Costco in Lihue before going to Princeville but filled in with small stuff locally. Wish there was some sort of food pantry that unopened food items could be donated to avoid thowing out on last day. One tip: we rented a car from "Island Cars" in Lihue. They rent older model cars for much less than the "big guys". Good car, great price. Very accomodating owner and staff.

Room Tip: We were given a second floor unit in building 16. Quiet. Our friends had first floor units. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapoutofit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
23.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,769 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.4 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bali Hai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Property: Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Address: 4970 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bali Hai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Bali Hai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Villas Hotel Princeville
Bali Hai Villas Kauai
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing