We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not as expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Scotland to celebrated our ruby wedding with a trip to Hawaii this establishment was our lodgings for the second week of our holiday and have to say it was a disappointment the bathroom smelled of stale urine and the bedroom had a certain odour , we also had a very passionate couple as neighbours and could not help but listen to the nightly antics,add to that the fact we were in the block opposite the main reception it was a very busy corner , I did notice that some blocks had been refurbished and perhaps this has now been done throughout such a shame that this place was our last impression of such a beautiful Island

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    294
    106
    52
    33
See reviews for
288
265
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,010 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We started off by trying to check in 25 minutes after check in time and were told that the unit was not ready and to go have dinner! Excuse me, but we flew in around noon and ate at about 1:30, so we were ready to check in, not go to dinner. They said they would call us when the unit was ready. So we went and basically wasted time and finally at 7:30 we went back, because we did not get a call. When we returned they said: Oh we were just getting ready to call you." We have traveled all over The U.S., Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean and Europe and have never had to check in 3.5 hours late. Then they told us that we were in a recently refurbished unit. Well you could have fooled us. The jacuzzi bath tub was grungy, the appliances were white and the micro wave was rusted, the refrigerator looked like someone had skate boarded over it, the back splash on behind the sink was warped and I could go on and on. Their so called business center was only avaialble from 3:30 p.m. until 10:30 p.m. Which was no problem, but we could not print our boarding passes until11:02 p.m. So we were told: "You need to come at 7 in the morning to print your boarding passes." We'll since we weren't flying out until 11:00 p.m., we had no plans of getting up at 7 a.m. Then at 7:45 we were told that they cut the computer off to the customers. The real kicker is that they have no place to store your luggage, but were so nice to tell us not to have any luggage in the back seat because we would very likely get our car broke into. We are not member of Wyndham. We purchased out side of the country and are use to much classier units, beautiful pools, locations on the beach, bend over backwards customer service and updated units that are actually updated. We would never consider staying here again, the front desk people are really rude when it comes to customer service. They just don't want to be bothered, much less do anything to help you. We talked to several locals who use to work for this property, but resigned after Wyndham took over because they were expected to NOT give good customer service. One more thing, our bedroom had a road going by it and since there is no heat or air conditioning, you have to keep your windows open. The traffic slows down at about 10 p.m, but starts up at about 5:30 a.m. Nothing like being work up by exhaust fumes. Also, you can smell what the neighbors are cooking, just like they were using your kitchen.

Room Tip: I guess second floor rooms are best, because the chickens won't be right by your windows and nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bali Hai Villas is one of four Wyndham Vacation Resorts in the Princeville area about an hour an a half from Lihue Airport. It is the newest, largest and prettiest regarding the landscaping. We previously stayed here 5 years ago for one week. This time we stayed for 3 weeks from Jan. 14 - Feb. 4 in a two-bedroom unit in one of the newer buildings on the property. Another couple joined us for 13 days of our stay.

We had requested a ground-floor unit away from the construction. We were very pleased with our unit and that we could stay in it for all 3 weeks, however we were still close to the construction area which was sometimes annoying. Some mornings they started work at 7:30-8:00 am. And some days it was impossible to sit on our lanai because of dust plumes drifting over - we were in Unit #1313.

They are constructing a new clubhouse which will have another pool and 2 spas. The main big pool and spa with waterfalls is open for use. It's very nice with lots of seating plus a sandy beach for small children to play beside the shallow pool area.

The two-bedroom unit we had is very comfortable in size for 4 adults or for a family of four. The master bedroom has a king bed with 4-piece ensuite & the guest room had two double beds with 3 piece ensuite. However the mattresses were very soft and basically did not provide any back support. Three of us ended up with sore backs. The living-dining-kitchen area are open concept and very nice. However the cushions on the couch seemed to have lost all their stuffing and really sunk in when you sat on them - again no support.

Housekeeping is once a week from the day you check in. We had loads of bath towels & beach towels. There is a washer and dryer in the unit which we made use of often.

We liked the fact that we could go to the other 3 Wyndham properties and use their facilities - the pool at the Shearwater (cold water) but the views are awesome overlooking the ocean and spotting for humpback whales. It's a small quiet pool with spa - perfect for R & R.

We would stay here again as we loved the size of the unit. Once the construction is finished and they replace the mattresses, it will be very pleasant to stay. Princeville is a very upscale and beautiful area with a grocery store, restaurants and shopping close by. A car is definitely needed to get around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabulash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The resort was over an hour late checking us in and we were supposed to get an early check-in. That's an hour past normal check in time. We asked for help with luggage and the bellman arrived after all the luggage had been dragged upstairs. We wer misinformed about the owners update, there was no way to reduce maintance fees. The 45 minute update took 2 hours. When there were extremely noisy neighbors past 10 pm and we called security; it took over 45 minutes to get security out to quiet them down. Housekeeping comes at the most inconvenient times, we were on a tour from 7-3 and housekeeping couldn't come then, they came at 4:30 when we were tired from our trip. Overall don't stay here if you want any real service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeobraSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Second stay here. Nice accommodations stayed here on RCI swap. Waterfall is pretty loud outside 925.

We already knew about the timeshare pitch so we were ready to avoid it. Concierge is not helpful unless you go to their 8:30 am deal. " no way"

Unplug the telephone on arrival to avoid the reminder call about the 8:30 deal or the timeshare propaganda

All in all I would come here again because I know what I'm getting. Though probably would prefer south side of island in winter

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwhite5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed are stay there. We stayed for a week in a large 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with a lanai. The unit was was very spacious and modern. The grounds are well kept and the scenery was beautiful. The pools and bbq were great to use. We were near all the beaches and places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snocerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks Jan 19th to Feb 2, 2013.
Absolutely loved and enjoyed this place!

Party of 4
My wife and I, our son and his girlfriend stayed in building #17 which is situated close to the check-in building across from a 4-bay storage locker and garbage bins. The pool / faux beach / hot tub area was resonably close, being across the "street" and behind the next row of condos.
4 BBQ's are also there, and 3 more BBQ's were behind us which were visible from our lanai. It would have be SUPER convenient if only there was a back door or even a gate on the lanai.

We declined the offer to attend a condo tour (and the $100.00 prepaid VISA) ... which the concierge desk respectfully abided by. They did call twice more, and again respectfully accepted my polite refusal. We were there as a family, and really didn't want to spend our time in the "shark tank" :)

The pillow-top beds were VERY comfortable ... moreso than our own bed at home! The appliances are all Whirlpool and Cuisinart, and everthing was flawless with the possible exception of the knife block. Somebody had obviously been abusing them.

Roosters. Yup, one or more for every unit, standard issue for every resort, restaurant, parking lot ... you name it! We really didn't mind them, as sun-up was about 7:30 AM during our stay. If they didn't wake you the garbage and/or construction truck would have anyway, as they are working on building a new clubhouse.

Bottom line: We will likely consider becoming owners at this resort when we get a little closer to retirement (5 or 10 years from now) as it would be a GREAT place to "hole up" for couple of weeks every winter. We would likely keep our RCI resort in Florida as well, for exchange purposes.

Queen's Bath ... very beautiful, but unfortunately incredibly dangerous and un-usable in the winter months.

Most beaches are also a lot rougher in the winter. Anini beach was well-protected by a barrier reef, but the coral is hard on your bare feet. Wear water shoes. Poipu was good, but a long drive. We settled for the Hanelai Pier beach (on the river side of the peir) which had about 2-1/2 ft waves. Saw a turtle there too!
Waimea Canyon is a must-see on a CLEAR day. We went on a "partial clearing" day, and found the view at the Kalalau Valley lookout at the end of the road to be 100% obstructed. We hung around for about an hour, waiting for the fog to burn off, and were somewhat rewarded for our patience with a partial view. A perfect view would be stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
23.7 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bali Hai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Property: Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Address: 4970 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bali Hai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Bali Hai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Villas Hotel Princeville
Bali Hai Villas Kauai
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing