We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
286
348
137
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
348
137
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbali haithe kitchenbedroom presidential suitetime sharethree bedroomthrough rcitimeshare presentationnorth shorethere is no air conditioningthe trade windsopen windowsrice cookergrocery storeupstairs unitmaster bathstainless steel applianceshot tub
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 876 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a little dated, but that is probably the case with most time share places, and really, once you get here, who cares! You're in Hawaii! If you're spending your time hanging out in your room, you might as well have stayed at home! The grounds are well-kept and tidy. There are some nice pools. The clubhouse keeps boardgames and a fair selection of videos for family entertainment in the evening. We spent some evenings taking walks around Princeville and just taking in all the beauty of the area.

The only two minor things I can say is that the wake-up calls by a local rooster were a little annoying. We just got up and told him to scoot, and that was all it took. And we also had a few tiny ants in our kitchen. This didn't really surprise me since we're in the tropics. We just wiped them up like breadcrumbs and went about our day!

Kauai is beautiful and for the few minor things that might bother you, overall the Bali Hai Villas are just fine, and you'll quickly turn a blind eye to them if you are the kind of person that likes to enjoy yourself on your vacation, as opposed to focus on the little things. Seriously, if you come to Kauai, you will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newcombslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A long way to go but thjis resort is getting there,we stayed in 1611, upgraded unit,marble kitchen counter tops, beds could be firmer,2 bdrm unit, they need to ditch alot of there box tv's, pools are ok, front dest people were very nice, shopping close by, beautiful views. no fitness center, no A/C

Room Tip: No A/C, 1611 was great location, away from sun beating into unit to keep unit cooler
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My Hubby and I just stayed here in room 1616 for 9 days. We were in a 2 bedroom condo through an RCI exchange.

Checking in everything went easily and everyone was very friendly. Immediately they did set us up for a RCI presentation which we really weren't sure we wanted to attend. The advantage of attending is you will receive a discount card for tours/restaurants/stores, etc 15-30% off, which can be substantial for a family or you can choose to take a $100 Amex card. Supposed to last 90 min, we were having too much fun and could never make the tour.

Condo was really nice, looked fairly new. Master had a very comfortable king bed, plenty of dresser storage and t.v., clock/radio/ipod dock, phone, sliding door to patio. MB had jacuzzi tub/shower, large closet, very large sink/counter area, windows to open for air.
Also had washer/dryer closet, safe in the closet, small ice chest, extra pillows and blankets.
Kitchen was a really good size with all appliances, stove/oven, micro, dish washer, disposal, fridge w/ice maker, etc. Kitchen had all amenities, plates, silverware, glasses, cups, knives, pots, pans, rice cooker, utensils, pizza and cookie pans, etc. They set you up with a starter package of dish detergent, dish soap, trash bags, sponge, laundry detergent, shampoo, etc. If you need more you need to purchase more at the local grocery store.

Living room was very spacious with a door to the patio (table & 4 chairs), with a couch, t.v., stereo, dvd player. Dining room had a table and 4 chairs. Spare bedroom had a queen bed with a full bathroom, toilet, pedestal sink, walk in shower, closet.

Unit does not have A/C, while we were there the trade winds were blowing so the fresh air was cool enough. The only draw back was at about 4am the sprinklers would come on right outside our bedroom window and wake us up. About 3/4 of the way through a family moved in across from our bedroom window and they stayed up till 2am every night talking loudly on the patio. The facility has a "quiet policy" where you are supposed to be respectful of other guests and keep it quiet from 10pm to 6am, unfortunately they didn't get it but that is not the facilities fault, i should have said something to the office, i am sure it would have been taken care of.

We had mountain views out of the kitchen window and views of the grounds out of the other windows. Lower units do not have ocean views, maybe the upper units would. The ocean is within walking distance but you cannot get to it due to the steepness of the cliffs. If you go 1mile down the road to the St. Regis you can use the beach, you are not supposed to use the pool/jacuzzi. There are 2 pools with hot tubs, bar-b-q's on the property. They are in the process of building a new clubhouse at the smaller pool.

I think that pretty much covers the Bali Hai. The Princeville area is beautiful, i would defintely stay in this area again as well as the Bali Hai.

Room Tip: Stairs only on the upper units.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank desertscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was all prepared to expect the worst, especially given some of the reviews I read. I don't know where these other reviewers stayed, but our unit was AWESOME! I was very impressed (which, admittedly does not happen too often). Mind you, we did stay in one of the new units, which could have made all the difference in our experience being wonderful while someone else's not so much. We stayed in unit 1222 a 2/2 presidential suite. It had everything we needed to feel like home.

We loved the washer/dryer in our unit. It was really spacious. The master had a huge fan unit so I didn't ever hear any roosters in the morning. We slept with the slider open and let the cool breeze in..heaven. The grounds are very nice, the pools are great. The location is incredible! Honestly, I loved it there. AND now that I know, I'll definitely be back. I am an owner, but the person who checked us in didn't even know until I mentioned it. If you are contemplating staying here or even going to Kauai, GO! I didn't want to come home.

I would recommend splurging on a dinner at the St. Regis - the best sushi we have ever eaten. THE BEST! We ate at some other places in Princeville, but nothing impressed us and in fact I thought most of the places around there were pretty bad. CJ's was subpar to say the least.

We also went to the breakfast presentation where the vendors show up to tell you about their stuff. We ended up booking a plane ride that was really fun and SAFE. We got a discount card that we used to get credit from a kayak trip we had already booked through Kayak Kauai. They were very helpful and it wasn't high pressure at all. Hike to Queens Bath!

I would not hesitate to recommend staying here, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in room 921, a 2bdr, 2 bath, 2nd flr unit in need of updating. The noise was very
annoying from vehicles on the road, crying babies in other units and the roosters at 3:30 every
morning. We knew there was no a/c, unfortunately their were also some days with no trade winds. Neighbors smoking on the balcony below our bedroom always found its way to our unit. Some neighbors were playing cards on their balconies at 1:30am and we could hear every word
of their conversation. Not a fun vacation for the four of us travelling together.

You would think that when owners are staying at another property they would receive a room
equal, if not better than one they own elsewhere. We were travelling with a couple looking to
purchase a unit for themselves. After they saw the unit we were given and the customer service
we received at Bali Hai Villas they said they wouldn't even consider buying there. We contacted the front desk and asked to speak to the manager and the female that answered the phone said
his name was Jim, she didn't know his last name. Shame on you Bali Hai Villas Princeville. Another disappointing RCI Exchange.

Room Tip: No air, lots of neighbor noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ConnieM613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews