We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun to watch the divers”
Review of Queen's Bath

Queen's Bath
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Natural pool carved into a lava shelf, the size of several large swimming pools.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun to watch the divers”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked this place out on the recommendation of a friend who had been here before. The hike down isn't too bad. It's a bit tiring on the way back up, but compared to others we did on Kauai, it wasn't too difficult. It's fun walking over all the lava rocks and watching everyone jump off the rocks and into the bath. We didn't get in - looked a little too dangerous to me! Seemed like lots of locals jumping in. We also saw a giant sea turtle swimming! Beware of parking. The lot is very small and gets packed quickly. I suggest coming early in the day, or later. Mid-day is impossible to find a lot. The entrance is also in a residential neighborhood, so there isn't street parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlahooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    292
    79
    25
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice walk..”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The walk/hike down were fine, with some nice views, but there wasn't much water in Queen's Bath, so we didn't swim. I read the warnings about safety in many guides, but I have to wonder why there would be official parking and signage if it's truly that dangerous? I don't have an opinion, but I'm putting the question out there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbhbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of turtles!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I took the grandchildren there -- it is not for swimming, and the ominous signs warn you not to try it. However, the many turtles can't read -- to our benefit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoHi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing place, but watch out for your stuff!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited Queen's Bath on Saturday, August 31st and we were stunned with the place, really loved it. Two "pools" are found here, a first one, partially open, which is great for jumping to the water from the rocks, really deep. We even saw a turtle swimming around! Second pool is not deep at all, but lovely for a relaxed swim.
Our morning at QB had been amazing until we decided to go back and realized our stuff, which we had left on the rocks, by the pool, had been stolen. We later found our backpack at near the parking lot, but phones, cameras and sunglasses had been lost. Totally ruined our day, and our perspective of the place.
I recommend everyone to go, just be careful with your belongings, specially on weekends.
I also read some reviews about the place being dangerous, but to me it just depends on being conscious and knowing your limitations.
Know that the parking lot is small, so get there early, cars left somewhere else are fined.
Also, the path is steep on some parts, and can be really muddy after rain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Florencia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Queen's Bath safety suggeston”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

While Queen's Bath is a lovely place, however, at times it can be dangerous. Please be very careful, as a roque wave can and has washed people off. Help is probably not going to quick in arriving and in the past, there have been deaths. We have been visiting Kauai yearly for over 30 years and truly feel Queen's Bath is not worth the risk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Bath also viewed

 

Been to Queen's Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing