We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 121b”

Lovely Sandpiper Village
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lovely Sandpiper Village
Seguin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room 121b”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Few things agreed with listing. It was 3 miles from the beach with view of parking lot not golf course. Little kids were crying upstairs and beside. Had to have windows & doors open since no A/C. Tiny Refrigerator did not cool below 65F. Had to buy ice everyday. Toilet overflowed twice!!
Not even a bathroom sink!! This was a two bedroom place chopped into two places B is a tiny place. Killed sixteen roaches running around with ants to chase them. Pool closed for two days due to algae bloom. I would not tell my worst enemy to stay in a 'B" side place.

Room Tip: do not get a B side room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bothell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the Sandpipper condo #121b this Sept. 2012. It was a great value at $65 a night plus cleaning fee for a couple on a budget. It was clean, comfortable, simply but nicely furnished, convenient to all the Northshore sites & places we wanted to visit, & easy to find. We had no parking problems. The kitchenette was basic but enough, the bed very comfortable, the small patio so nice to relax & have morning coffee/dinner on after an active day in the sun. We thought it romantic and enjoyed it more than the resort we stayed at because of the privacy.. there is no airconditioning because it is on the 1st floor but the fan helped as did the open patio door. Its not luxury but is quite nice. Management was easy to work with and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a couple on a budget take a look at 121b
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper Village during our recent trip to Kauai and were in room 216B. Dealing with Condo Bob online was super quick and easy and he sent us all the information right away, including great details as to where to park, how to obtain the key, wifi password, etc. All the questions I would have asked were already answered right away in the booking letter sent to us.

The location cannot be beat on Kauai. It is so close to Hanalei, and Princeville itself is a cute little place. There are a lot of vacation homes in Princeville and it definitely has that posh feel to it which isn't what we usually look for, but the Sandpiper itself was great. The pathways in Princeville were very nice and we were easily able to walk to and from Princeville Centre from the Sandpiper. Princeville centre is a nice little shopping area with a few restaurants, grocery store, etc....really everything you need.

We never had any troubles finding a parking space. But I can see that if it was really busy the unreserved spots may fill up. We did arrive quite late some nights and still didn't have a problem. We loved the pool and hot tub and used it quite a few times. Unfortunate that it closed each night at 9 but understandable.

The unit has no A/C which I was worried about because we arrived for the last week of June and first week of July, but surprisingly it wasn't a big deal. It really cools off in the evenings which I didn't realize, so we just kept the windows open and Condo Bob had 2 fans we could use. We actually ended up shutting off the fans most nights because it was too cold!

The balcony is great, very large and furnished with 2 comfy chairs. It was also really convenient to have a fridge and microwave. We were able to eat breakfast in the room each day and save some money that way, as well keep the beer cold in the fridge :) There were a lot of thoughtful and convenient touches including paper towels, lots of toilet paper, dishwashing soap, a very deep bathroom sink which was great as it doubled as our kitchen sink for dishes every now and then, plenty of garbage bags, a broom so we could sweep out the sand we brought in from the beach, and soap.

Overall Condo Bob's Sandpiper Village was a great choice for us. We even received a discount because we booked it only 3 weeks before arriving (received the last minuted discount). The room was nicely remodelled with great tile floors, nice decor, and a beautifully tiled shower.

There were a few things we did think would have made our stay "Excellent" versus "Very Good"... a few more towels would have been great - there were 2 for both of us in the room, but after 2 weeks and lots of showers after beaching everyday, the towels really started to smell. The humidity didn't help this either as it seemed like they never fully dried. Had there been 6 towels total that would have been much better. We brought our own beach towels so be sure to do that! A bathmat would have been great as well. 216B has a very nice shower, but it has no door so after every shower there was quite a bit of water on the floor and with not many towels it was an experience to keep everything nice and tidy. We also would have loved some dish rags for the dishes. The bed wasn't the comfiest, but it was nice for the full 2 weeks. I didn't really notice until we got home and slept a night in our own bed!

Overall I would highly recommend this for the budget conscious traveller. Great value and awesome location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank srude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Two negatives to get out of the way first: no a/c (unless we just couldn't find it!) and the walls are quite thin.

Other than that, we are the type of travelers who want to go, and then go again. We travel cheaply so that we can make multiple vacations a year. We look for clean places in safe areas to stash our stuff, sleep, and shower. This condo was perfect for us.

We stayed in 229B. CondoBob was very easy to work with. We booked this rather last minute, for just a 4 night stay. When we called to make the final arrangements with CondoBob, he allowed us to stay in the condo past checkout time on the final day since our flight didn't leave until the late evening. That was wonderful to be able to play at the beach all day and then shower up before heading to the airport. Thank you!

If we are ever back in Kaua'i, we will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a great stay at the Sandpiper this March. We got a two bedroom from Condo Bob and have no complaints. Some permanent residents were a little overly uptight and nit-picky, but all-in-all it worked out great. Price was quite reasonable and there was of course a pool and jacuzzi which felt great after spending all day every day at the beach. Not a resort, not a place full of yuppies and amenities, just a nice quite condo. Recommended for any who are down to earth and not in need of a luxury resort when surrounded by such breathtaking nature. Best bang for the buck in Princeville. Will be adding a review to http://www.movingtohawaii.info

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmerville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

If your looking for a place to sleep & shower this is it. The unit was clean except for behind the bed & couch. Probably would not have noticed had I not been looking for a place to plug in the laptop. If you are going to be plugging in, bring a power strip! I was thankful I had one. Never made it to the pool, the trail to the beach is 10 min. walk away! Parking was tricky but once I made it to the back lot I found it convenient & available. The small TV has basic cable. The WiFi was good. Just a warning, the closest laundry is in Kapaa. Tennis is a short walk away also! This unit is on the ground floor. Even tho there was someone above me I rarely heard them, and they had small children. This unit does open up to 130A if they want to be rented together and I was catching sound from 130A, the towel I stuck under the door didn't help much. If you like to sleep in bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn_from_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed in Sandpiper 229A, managed by Condo Bob (Bob Estes). We enjoyed our stay and might probably stay here again, for a shorter stay.

First, the not-so-good:

The unit was clean when we arrived; however, the bathroom in particular was showing its age (mold and mildew). The beds were not very comfortable - they were very lumpy and saggy and hurt my back for most of the trip (I'm in my 30s). We fought with little sugar ants our entire time there (it's a tropical area for sure, but the ants were more pervasive than other places we've stayed in the same area). Very few toiletries were furnished (1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom and no paper towels), so be prepared to go grocery shopping immediately upon arrival (calls to the management number in the condo went unanswered and unreturned). The traffic on Albert Road at the back was loud on some mornings, especially when the garbage trucks roll through at 6am. There is no A/C in this unit, and even in May, it was 85ºF or higher in the afternoons in the condo. We knew this going in, and it just meant that we had to be outside during the afternoons, which wasn't a necessarily bad thing.

The good:

The condo had everything we could possibly need - dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, plates/dinnerware/glasses, snorkel gear, a cooler, deck chairs, a boogie board, books, free Wi-Fi, and even a pack-n-play for our toddler (wish we'd known ahead of time and not had to check ours...). The view was a partial ocean view, meaning you can see the ocean from the loft and the porch, over rooftops -- that's OK, we weren't looking for an ocean view, so it was a plus. The area was quiet, and we were away from the pool; so, we didn't have to contend with any raucous vacationers.

Finally, the really good:

Location and value are definitely this unit's best features. We love the Hanalei area of Kauai, and Princeville is incredibly close (and much cheaper). We could get to anywhere on the north shore within 15 minutes. And, several of our favorite beaches were nearby (Sealodge Beach, Anini Beach, Black Pot Beach, and Hideaways Beach). The price was right for a family of 5 to stay 2 weeks.

Check-in and check-out were fairly standard, and without much hassle. Check-out is 10am, so be prepared to be out early and find something to occupy your time until your flight. Working with Bob Estes was easy to book the condo; payment is due up-front, before arrival. You get one reserved parking space with the condo; additional vehicles must park in the overflow lot nearby.

Overall, you could probably find a better place to stay in Princeville, but this was a good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeville hotels
0.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
#6 of 12 in Princeville
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovely Sandpiper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovely Sandpiper Village

Property: Lovely Sandpiper Village
Address: 4470 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovely Sandpiper Village 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lovely Sandpiper Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovely Sandpiper Village Hotel Princeville
Lovely Sandpiper Village Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing