We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once in a lifetime”

Sunshine Helicopters Princeville
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In an industry that demands the best Sunshine Helicopters delivers! We fly the NEW 6 Passenger EC130B4 WhisperSTAR, by far the most advanced technological sightseeing helicopter ever built! More interior room, Large panoramic windows, pilot-to-pax intercom and a 3-Camera Sky-Cam Video System recording your Actual Flight. We are the only company with Premium front-row "First Class Seats" available on each tour flight.Fly from our exclusive Princeville airport location just a few minutes from the beautiful St. Regis hotel. Book our signature "Princeville Adventure" 40-50 minute flight and tour the Waimea Canyon, Napali Coast, Waialeale Crater, numerous waterfalls and movie locations.Sunshine Helicopters is a FAA Part 135 Air Carrier and Tour Operator Program of Safety (TOPS) Certified. Most of our pilots are former Flight Instructors at some of the top aviation schools in the nation or military trained. Your SAFETY is our #1 priority!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“once in a lifetime”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wasn't going to do this-expense, fear. I was so glad I did this. This is a once in a lifetime experience. You see what you wouldn't otherwise as what you see isn't accessible any other way! AWESOME (and I mean this in the dictionary definition. . . awe-inspiring!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alis60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    40
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Can't visit Kauai and truly appreciate all there is to see without taking a helicopter tour. I have never been in a helicopter so was a little nervous but Sunshine was awesome and our pilot Adam was wonderful. This is a "must do" when you visit Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkc1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome experience!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'ld been told not to miss the helicopter tour of Kauai. Reservations were easy. The ground crew and pilot were very professional. The tour was first class and the scenery was magnificent!!! I will do this again!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dkmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As a family we wanted to take the helicopter tour, and checked out the various options. This one was covered with the discount that we received through Wyndham Bali Hai by going to their promo talk, so it vastly helped--20% off. It was in Princeville, so it was great not having to drive into the main airport. Booking was easy, and we used the early bird special and open seating to minimize our costs--and ended up with just our family in the helicopter! Book early so you get the time and date you want. Pilot was great, very informative. We had been up to Waimea Canyon 2 days before, and I'm glad we did the ground driving first--the vistas were great, and we would have been tempted not to make the drive had we been on the helicopter tour first. The tour covered pretty much the whole island, and I felt we got to see everything we wanted to. The "Jurassic Falls" was not as impressive as the movie (go figure), but I guess it would be more impressive in the true rainy season. Nonetheless, while expensive it was well worth the price, and will be remembered by all for the rest of their lives.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ghotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Your dollar goes a looong way on this trip”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

OK, let's get this out of the way first. Yes, it is expensive. Very expensive when you take a family of four. But, boy, is it ever worth the money you spent. To come to Kauai, and NOT take the air tour is like not being there at all, considering that most of this island's interior is inaccessible to you otherwise. Yes, there are cheaper options, but to hover deep inside of crater with it's lush green walls all around you, go down through the spectacular Waimea canyon, see Jurassic Park falls up close, squeeze through the ridges of Na Pali coast, all within an hour? And yes, waterfalls, people come to Kauai for waterfalls, but to really see waterfalls, you have to do it from helicopter, not from your car or resort van. You see unspoiled beauty far far from civilization, and isn't this why you came to Kauai in a first place?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FeedTheFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Helicopters Princeville also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Helicopters Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing