We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Just returned from a week at The Cliffs. Unit very roomy, huge master bedroom, enormous grounds but not utilised. View from the second and third floor units may be very nice of the sea, but hard to see from the ground floor due to the unkempt garden in front of the unit. Found staff to be very distant, unhelpful and unfriendly. Check in time is 4pm, we were kept waiting till after 5pm without even an apolpgy. Had to make activity arrangements through a local agent as the activity director was not interested in helping us. We were a group of 4 from Australia. Housekeeping was very poor, after changing some of the sheets on the 3rd day they stowed the upright vacuum cleaner in the wardrobe in the lounge amongst our clean hanging clothes and on top of our shoes. Every activity was $20 or more, even painting a coconut. Kaui is a very beautiful island and there is lots to see and do, however make sure you stay somewhere other than The Cliffs, you will certainly enjoy your stay on the island more.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    184
    54
    28
    15
See reviews for
146
259
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We stayed a week in one of the 1 bedroom condos as a timeshare exchange. Compared to other resorts I have stayed at, this one is just ok. The condo was very spacious for a 1 bedroom, with a large living area, well-stocked kitchen, and 2 full baths. However, the furnishings and finishes inside are very dated and need upgrading. The bed in the master bedroom was so uncomfortable that my husband wanted to sleep on the floor. Absolutely DO NOT GO to the "orientation" meeting the morning after you arrive, as this is a huge waste of 2 hours of your precious vacation. All they do is lure you in with the promise of a drawing for freebies (that are really just coupons), and pitch their over-priced activities. Buy the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" and book your own activities!

That being said, this resort is on Kauai and that is enough to warrant 3 stars. Wherever you need to stay and however you need to get there, go to this island! It was the most fabulous week of my life in the most fabulous place I have ever seen. I can't even comment on the amenities of the resort, because the natural amenities are such that we never even wanted to look at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank craezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

The Cliffs condo complex in Princeville is one of the best deals you can find in Kauai! It is wonderfully located high above the Pacific in the beautiful resort area of Princeville. We rented a 1 bedroom unit in building 1 (unit 1206) for only $875 for 7 nights! Quite a deal when you consider you have your own kitchen, two bathrooms, and washer/dryer! Most units are individually owned, so do your research in regards to furnishings,etc. The complex is also staffed and the reception desk is helpful. You can rent beach gear, borrow beach mats, or sign up for a multitude of activities. We enjoyed every second of our stay at The Cliffs and can't wait to get back there soon!

Helpful?
20 Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

We just (literally hours) got back from staying at the Cliffs in Princeville. We were told that we weren't going to have an ocean view room, but were very suprised when our room had a view of the ocean. The rooms had huge windows and patio doors that let us soak in the view of the ocean. We had a 1 bedroom suite with loft. Our loft had 2 double beds, a pull out couch (2 different ways) and the master bedroom had a king sized bed. There were 2 small tvs (one with dvd and vcr) and an awesome sound system that made the music float through the suite. The kitchen was a full kitchen and we didn't need anything that wasn't in there. We ended up doing a lot of cooking and got by pretty cheap for food for a weeks stay. On Fri, Sat, and Sun they have a meeting to tell you about different activities on the island. We found that it was cheaper (if you're willing to listen to a timeshare deal) to go with the company that is in a little hut-like building next to Safeway in Kapaa. The pool is very nice and it has a little "hot" tub attached but isn't really heated a whole lot. There is an adult jacuzzi in a fenced off area that was hot (too hot on a sun burn). The staff was helpful. There was a little library of books to borrow from during the week if you forgot one. They also had games to borrow. If you want to rent a movie it wasn't too bad, but we never did. All in all, the Cliffs was the perfect place for a family of 6 adults to stay in Kauia.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank VGardengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2005

On the plus side, the units are big - at least a thousand square feet, with a living room, full kitchen and washer and dryer in the unit. Two patios and two bathrooms. No A/C, but at the end of August it barely bothered us - the apt. stayed cool if the doors were open. The property was great - with nice sunset views from the hammock on the large lawn.

The bed was terrible - we heard this complaint from others as well. They definitely need to upgrade the mattresses. Also, beware the "guest services" desk. They charged us almost forty dollars a person over the cost of the boat cruise we booked through them. Some nerve. Book your own tours, reference a guide book of some sort and you're set.

Also - no need to leave the North Side of the Island. It is by far the prettiest part of Kauai and perhaps all of Hawaii. Lots of beaches and activities nearby.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2005

Our family stayed at the Cliffs from March 20-27, 2005. It was a beautiful piece of property. The unit was immaculate and nicely laid out. We had a balcony off the living room and also off our master bedroom. We had a partial ocean view. The pool area is very nice. The pool was bigger than we anticipated and our girls had a great time there in the evenings. My husband was able to bbq every night without lining up to use one of the on-site bbqs.

The propery itself is home to lots of Hawaiian birds and flowers. It is a great location for all of the northside beaches which are fantastic but are not swimmng beaches in the winter months. The nearby town of Hanalei is a 'must see'. Good restaurants and shopping, not to mention the great beaches.

The Cliffs is a short ride to Hanalei, about half an hour to Kapaa and 45 minutes to the airport.

We will definitely be returning to this property. Loved everything about it.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2005

Stayed at the Cliffs as a timeshare trade. Very nice condo resort on the north end of Kauai.

Resort offers "in house" weekly activities as well as guest information on surrounding beaches, activities, etc.

Decent pool area with hot tub plus "adults only" hot tub area. Gas grills and a dining area is also at the pool along with restrooms with showers and changing areas.

No restaurant on site. Closest restaurants are a 5 minute ride to "Princeville Center". Also located there is a sizable grocery store, shops, etc.

The units are great, spacious and family friendly. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, 2 bath. Large bedroom with private full bath and small patio. The "great" room was sizable with sofa bed and dining table, galley kitchen plus another patio with table and chairs. Great for those late night poker games! Washer and dryer in unit. Everything was neat and clean.

The only drawback to the resort is location. Princeville due north and at a higher elevation. The temperature is about 5-10 degrees cooler than the south end of Kauai and is overcast quite a bit. Also, not really much in the way of night life. But, the drive is only 45 minutes to Lihue and an hour to Poipu Beach.

We would go back to the Cliffs again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank FoodieByChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
15.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Property: The Cliffs at Princeville
Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing