We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
Reviewed January 24, 2009

My husband & I stayed here because I worked for RCI and heard great things about this island. We were getting married. The woman at the front desk hooked us up with the best view I have seen. You can walk across the lawn, sit in a couple of lawn chairs with a bottle of wine & watch this sunset from the top of the cliff. I actually fell asleep only to awake to a full moon.
Liz @ the activies knows the best massage therapists that will come to the room. She planned our whole honeymoon from zodiacs to massages. The views are stunning. The pool area could have been bigger but considering it cost me $159 for the week with my timeshare, I was thrilled. Besides, you have the ocean. There are paths that you can walk down to access the ocean but it is extremely steep. There is a little place for lunch called the Paradice Grill that makes the best grilled tereyaki
chicken & delicious salads. For two people, lunch is about $20-$25. There is a little store around the corner where you can buy leis. Pure Joy !

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank KissmeCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    184
    54
    28
    15
See reviews for
146
259
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

After arriving at the airport and having a bag missing until a flight an hour later, we were very pleased that check in took less than 5 minutes. We happened to be given a ground floor unit that had been recently renovated, and beautifully so. We didn't even watch either of the 2mflat screen TVs. The unit was well stocked, and with the breakfast costs were happy to eat breakfast there. (There is a nearby Foodland, which is clean and well stocked.) The timeshare reps booked us a helicopter trip and a whale watching ride. (Saw tons of whales and some dolphins)
Restaurants :
Saffron - Princeville - 2 or 3 stars - Excellent appetizer of baby back ribs and mashed potatoes at $26.The shrimp entree was very good. The rib eye was a disappointment at $40. It was very, very thin, hence hard to cook medium rare. There were 3 errors on the bil. We were quoted $22 for the appetizer. Yhe corkage charge was misquoted. The 1/2 price promo for the appetizer was ignored. The gardens and general ambience was very nice. We considered it very overpriced. Would not return.
Kountry Kitchen - Kapaa - 3 star - We opted for breakfast for lunch one day. The loco moco was quite good, as were the banana pancakes. The scrambled eggs were disappointing as thry were chopped up on the grill, and not done in a pan. They were very dry. They had the worst coffee my wife has had in years. Unpalatable. They also charge for soft drink refills. Would not return.

Mediterranean Gourmet Pestaurant - Haena - 5 star - 2 ,eals. Lunch - The lamb burger stuffed with feta came medium well rather than the requested medium rare. My wife had an excellent lamb and hummus in pita. The mai tai was excellent as was the iced tea which was laced with passion fruit.
Dinner - The mediun rare rack of lamb was a delight. Couldn't have been better. The twin lobster tails were great but I didn't take to the stuffing. There was complimentary pita and hummus, also very good. The service at both meals was excellent. We also had a belly dancer that somehow was not terribly obtrusive. Highly recommend.
Hukilau Lanai - Kapaa - 5 star - Wow! - I will start with only a $10 corkage charge, for us a real plus. The medium rare filet was perfect, as were the pork medallions. They have an excellent wine list. We sat looking out to tiki torches in a garden setting. Very romantic. Our server Nicole was so good we asked for and got her on our return visit. The prices are substantially lower than our other dinners that we had. Reservations a must. Overall, easily our favorite.
CJ's - 4 star - Corkage $20. A relaxed atmosphere without much ambience. Good salad bar. Good rolls come with dinner.The 5 chop rack of lamb was excellent, as was the fall off the bone baby back ribs with mashed potatoes.Quite pricey and reservations are recommended.

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, beauty of area
  • Disliked — Sliding glass door very heavy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We have finished staying here at The Cliffs for a 2 week period. We rented first through a real estate agent we have rented from before, and then we used a timeshare week exchange through RCI.

I can speak in this review about the private condo as well as their timeshare rentals/exchange experience.

The first week we were in the private rental for Condo 9203. It is a four bedroom unit that you can choose whether to book only the number of bedrooms you need. We booked 3 bedrooms. We had a lovely ocean bluff view and the grounds are nice and quiet (yes even with the wild roosters/chickens which you don't really notice after a while).

This unit was well laid out and had all the amenities we were looking for to keep us well taken care of.

The pool was closed for renovations, yes, but that's no worry. They had maps and pool passes for the Hanalei Bay pool which is just lovely and a mere 10-12 minute walk away with beach access too or you could drive for 4 minutes (free parking).

The Cliffs pool was nothing last year compared to what it's going to look like in another 5 weeks when they are done (Feb 2008). It's going to be gorgeous and the hot tub outside will be just as lovely (lava rock layot etc.)

They have activities to keep you busy too (if you want that) or you can just laze on your lanai. If there's construction on one side (the pool stuff) then you go to your lanai on the other side. There are barbeques all around and we used them. There was NO pressure to see a timeshare at all. If you want to save money (200 bucks or so) then you know you are doing a timeshare presentation in exchange for that savings. But it's pretty much you who decides if that's what you want to do. They have an orientation/meet the guests day there on Monday's and they offer free food/drinks. It's a great way to meet other guests. Even if you are so lazed/busy that you never see them again.

Outside of that, we then switched over to their 1 bedroom with loft unit in their timeshare/interval owner's buildings. We were in unit 3305 and it was a renovated unit. They were fine with making sure we were in a renovated unit too. We didn't have the ocean bluff view we had of past, but regarldess of seeing the housekeeping building for a bit in our (we can still see a bit of the ocean view), there's no bad view when you are in Kauai. Seriously. The other lanai was more relaxing for us because it really was overlooking a part of the street that only people driving to/from the resort would use. It was and is pretty darn quiet in Kauai.

This was our second year here at The Cliffs and we had heard and read some pretty awful things. True, it's a tropical island so there will may be cockroaches but they do pesticide spraying and notifiy you of when this is being done and they have housekeeping that can come in and help if you think you've got some problems. They have cans of bug spray and really, I didn't see an issue at all.

Having the washer and dryer was great. Having the tradewinds (lanais on both sides that open to let the breeze in is perfect...no A/C missed at all). Having the fans in the rooms so we could lock our lanai up at night was just fine too. I didn't feel hot/muggy or whatnot and I love my A/C...so I truly think the experience was just lovely.

You can't be in Kauai (shouldn't be) without a car. So, the fact that you could go to the pool at the Hanalei Bay Resort was great. They don't treat you any differently and the views are astounding so you should really take advantage and go. However, the Cliffs pool reopens in February.

The only negative thing I could say is that you do have to check under and behind your bedroom furniture just to make sure that you don't have anything thrown under there that housekeeping could have missed. If you notice something, they can take care of it or you have a broom/vacuum to do it yourself.

The only other negative thing I could say is that most housekeepers don't wash the blankets as well as the sheets (on a regular weekly basis). So, I chose to wash mine because there was the smell of a woman's perfume that was a bit strong for me. Mind you, this was pretty easy to fix and I'm a bit of a neat freak so again having the washer/dryer was perfect to do this and I didn't feel like I was doing housekeeping because I had the lanai to retreat to.

The warning note I would make is that if you travel before February 2009, then you'll have some construction noise in building 1 or 2 (unit would be 1XXX or 2XXX). Ask for something in building 3 or 4 or 8 instead. If they don't have anything, just sit on the lanai on the other side away from the pool and you'll have the peace and quiet quite easily.

Do go to the town of Hanalei and eat at Java Kai (breakie/lunch), the Hanalei Gourmet (dinner/entertainment some nights?/desserts) and then do get Kauai Beef from the Chevron station (they have a deli/bakery/cafe too) and try their grain fed beef (will be a bit more gamey...but yummy and not easily available any where else).

Again, we will be back next December for our third visit and may fit in one more in the summer just to experience the new pool a bit earlier.

Enjoy The Cliffs like we did.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank landgottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

My brother and his wife booked this thru a real estate agent. She failed to disclose
A. There was construction (as in cement trucks, catapillar tracters) most every day RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR CONDO. The diesel smoke came in thru the windows.

B. There was no pool (this apparently is what the construction noise was all about - they were building a pool

C. No jacuzzi

D. No 5-minute walk to the beach (can't walk to a beach at all)

It was out and out breach of contract, since contract stated there was a pool, jacuzzi, walk to beach.

The unit we stayed in was nice, but what good is it if you can't even sit inside it and have a conversation during breakfast (cuz construction noise was so loud).

To get to any beach requires a car, and a 15-minute drive, so know this going in.

I'm in my early 40's and have traveled all over the world, sometimes roughing it, and sometimes paying $200/nite (like we did for this place) and going for some luxury. For this type of money, one should have a better experience.

  • Liked — pretty much nothing
  • Disliked — no beach access, no pool, no jacuzzi
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed at the Cliffs with two girlfriends through the II exchange program, and found the accomondations to be as described on the Cliffs' website. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We did not have air conditioning, but the breeze from the 2 lanais kept the condo cool and relaxing. The condo was very quiet and perfect for sleeping, except when the roosters wake you at 5 a.m. This is something that you will need to expect, but it just made you more aware that you were in beautiful Kauai. The mornings were my favorite time, peaceful and heavenly as you eat your breakfast on the lanai. The Princeville community is so well kept, private, and quiet. I would recommend Princeville over any other area on the island. You do need to drive down to Kapaa and Lihue for excursions and meals (I highly recommend Kintaro's in Kapaa), but I loved returning up North. Kauai is absolutely the most beautiful island I've ever been on, with green trees and clear oceans at every turn. You will not be disappointed with either the Cliffs or Kauai. One last note, Liz, our activity director at the Cliffs was great for recommendations. Make sure to attend the orientation meeting upon your arrival.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small pool, which started renovation during our stay
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My husband and I booked the second half of our honeymoon at the Cliffs Club in Princeville through our timeshare ownership with Shell Vacations. We stayed the first half of the trip in Kapaa at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, and maybe we were just spoiled by then. The Kauai Coast was newly renovated, beautiful grounds and rooms, spectacular views. At the Cliffs Club, we were greeted by what seemed to be a "traditional" timeshare, where a specific person owns that unit, rather than an updated, plush environment. The place looked ike it had been decorated by a housewife in 1985. We had an ocean view, but it is on a cliff, so it is not a close view, and we did have a few buildings in our lines of sight. There are a ton of wild chickens running around, squawking all the time, and our downstairs neighbor kept feeding them, so they were out in front of our window all the time. The condo had the standard amenities, but it looked very 80's. Desperately in need of an update. The bed was also very uncomfortable. We did not really like Princeville itself so much, it takes forever to get out of the area and get out to where there are things to do, but the town of Hanalei is about 15 minutes away, and we spent most of our time there. There are restaurants and such in Princeville, but they are either very spotty with hours of operation, or mediocre food, or if you go to the Princeville Hotel, major bucks. But the view and food was worth it for a one-time dinner. For the rest of the trip, hit Hanalei, and just sleep in your Cliffs Club condo. It's not the greatest place to hang out in. The pool and jacuzzi are terrible. But, they do have major renovation plans for the landscape and hardscape, we were told. When that is finished, the place would probably be much more attractive. But now, not so much. The best parts of the resort are if you explore down toward the cliffs, there are some paths that will take you to a few waterfalls, and Turlte Cove. There are chairs and tables, and hammocks set up on the grass areas too, but we only did this kind of stuff on the last day after check-out, most of the time we were in Hanalei, hiking, beaching, etc.

  • Liked — Hiking down past the "No Trespassing" sign to the coves
  • Disliked — Room Decor, View, Chickens, Pool, Spa
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Allens08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We were lucky enough to be given 5 days at the resort by my in-laws for our honeymoon. We were booked into building 2, which had recently been remodeled. The interior was very nice, the flat panel tv's were a unsuspected upgrade. The happiest surprise was a washer and dryer in the unit, that came in really handy toward the end of the trip. The resort was quiet but energetic - during the day.

The Cliffs are in Princeville which is all the way at the top of the island of Kauai, so it is not "conveniently located" to many of the other cities or activities - for example we wanted to go on a snorkel tour along the napali coast, it left at 6 am, and to make it to the boat we had to leave the hotel at 430 am. However, the area of Princeville is very nice, and upscale.

The one MAJOR negative about our experience, was being told we needed to speak with a woman (named Liz) upon our arrival. We, niavely, did - and then were trapped in a hard core sales pitch on everything from island activities to timeshare opportunities. We probably should have been stronger and more rude in our communication with her - but it was a very uncomfortable experience - we kept saying no, or thanks but no thanks, and she wouldn't let us leave and kept bulldozing us. Next time I will just get up and go. I appreciate she was just doing her job, but it was a really unnecessary piece of our honeymoon, and felt like a used car salesman.

I would recommend others stay at the cliffs - just don't go see anyone about your "orientation" meeting or "free cookies". or "welcome basket".

Additionally - the hotel does have good wifi (charged per 24 hour period). The pool is small but satisfactory - nothing special, but gets the job done. There are some very great views from anarondack chairs along the cliffs - great views.

We did ask for a late check out (11 standard check out time) because of a later flight - and they were only able to give us a 12 pm checkout, but that is a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dmontreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
15.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Property: The Cliffs at Princeville
Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing