We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The Cliffs is a relatively small timeshare resort situated on point overlooking the ocean at the entrance to Hanalei Bay. This was the first resort in Princeville that was purpose-built as a timeshare in the early 80's. Princeville itself is a beautiful master-planned resort area just 10 minutes from the quaint town of Hanalei (of Puff the Magic Dragon fame) and only 30 minutes from Ke'e Beach, one of the most beautiful, yet relatively uncrowded, beaches I've ever visited.

The grounds at The Cliffs are beautifully maintained and inviting; the condos are extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. A well-equipped kitchen made preparing meals to take advantage of the abundant fresh fruits and vegetables a snap. Despite having no air conditioning, the Tradewinds effectively cool the rooms to provide very pleasant sleeping. The beds, which are one of my top criteria, were excellent.

We've had many great timeshare experiences; the Cliffs rank as one of the top. We would gladly have stayed much longer than a week.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Aloha from the Cliffs,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Cliffs. I do believe we are a hidden gem on the beautiful North shore of Kauai. Princeville is a wonderful place to visit, conveniently locate to so many fun things to do.
Our Housekeeping staff has tried to think of everything to make your stay comfortable. If you can't find it, please ask us. We may have it available, such as cookie sheets, rice cookers and slow cookers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cliffs!!!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 525 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in mid-May 2013 at The Cliffs. All I can say is WOW. We thoroughly enjoyed our whole week and hated to leave. Honestly, we could have lived in that condo for the rest of our lives.

By the way your first stop after arriving at the Lihue airport is Costco. If you do not have a membership to Costco, you will before you leave the island. Cheaper gas, groceries and ready made meals as there are very few restaurants in Princeville.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fl0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha,

Mahalo for your comments! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in May!
We have tried to think of "all the comforts of home" when furnishing the units. I am glad you found it comfortable as well.

I hope that when you plan to visit Kauai again you will once again consider staying at the Cliffs!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I exchanged for a week at the Cliffs through Interval International. We arrived a day early and stayed with my fiance's parents at Bali Hai the first night. We wandered over to the Cliffs to check it out and see when we could check in the next day. The lady at the front desk said 3pm but if we left our number she would call is when the room was ready. At 11am the next day we were very pleasantly surprised to get a call from her that our room was waiting for us. Overall, the customer service was excellent. My fiancé and I tend to be loners when we vacation so we aren't really interested in resort activities or timeshare presentations. The Cliffs kindly left us alone and we loved it (I can't say the same about Bali Hai where the parents were). We didn't expect a fantastic room since we don't own there (and we exchanged a 1 bedroom and got a 2 bedroom) but we got a 3rd floor unit which had a view of the ocean out the back balcony and a view of the mountains out the bedroom balcony. Fabulous. There were beach chairs and a cooler in the closet for us to use; we didn't have to pay for them. The unit was adorable with the pineapple headboard and bedspread. No AC in the unit but it was cool enough with the balcony doors open and the ocean breeze. The open doors didn't allow for late morning sleeping though and we could hear the leaf blower below us at 7:30am (and the chickens). Fortunately, we aren't late sleepers. Overall, the resort was pretty quiet with few people and kids that we were aware of. We like it that way. We sat in the hot tub every night. There are two and both were really nice. It would have been nice if there was beach access nearby but it is called the Cliffs for a reason. Checking in and out was seamless. One day we gave the rental car to the parents and went to the front desk to see if we could get transportation to do some hiking. They took care of it right away and set up a shuttle to drop us off and arranged a time for pickup. It was pricey but the driver was excellent and he chatted with us the whole time about the island and his life and we really enjoyed it. I would recommend the Cliffs to anyone thinking of staying on the North Shore, especially those that are looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful, relaxing place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hydrolagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are love our trade winds to help keep our units cool and comfortable. Our Front Desk and Concierge staff are here to assist you with your room needs as well as help you plan any activity you may wish, There are so many things to see and do, I do hope that you will return to Kauai and will once again stay with us here at the Cliffs.

Mahalo for staying with us!

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at The Cliffs for our 10 year anniversary and had a fabulous experience. This was our first time here and we were highly impressed with our accommodations. We had a one bedroom unit on the ground level and could see the ocean in the distance. The unit had everything we needed in order to cook in and even had two beach chairs and a cooler which we used every day as we ventured around the island. We honestly didn't see much of the rest of the property because we were out exploring every day but what interactions we had with guest services were positive (they even made a last minute room change for us so that we could have an ocean view). Both the front and back patios were perfect to sip a coffee or beer on and enjoy the view. And the sunset we experienced our last day there from the actual cliffs on the property was amazing!

The location on the north side of the island was perfect for the various beaches we most wanted to explore and while it was a bit of a drive to get to the other side, we didn't care as we were in no rush and enjoyed the views along the way.

A Foodland grocery store is 2 minutes away (although we stocked up in Lihue as Princeville is more expensive) and there's all kinds of great shops there as well as in Hanalei which is a bit farther Northwest.

Highly recommend you do some sort of Na Pali coast tour while you're here - the most beautiful sights I've ever seen! And if you're more active, make sure to do some of the hikes in Waimea Canyon, which lends the best views on the island.

We spent three days in Honolulu before coming here and wish we had spent all our time on this gorgeous and relaxing island. All you need is a place like Cliffs for your homebase, a swimsuit, cover-up and some good hiking shoes and you are set!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha!

We are delighted that you spent your anniversary with us! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our little island!

I do hope that you will come and stay with us again!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first time using the time share and we found this place by luck... we read all the reviews before we book it and when we arrived we knew we got a great deal the room was very big and clean the view from the back was a garden view but it was ok we where closer to the pool. the pool was actually a nice size. the resort had lot of activity and one of them is a FREE lesson in Scuba divining in the pool. A must to do. they also do a welcome night for all new guest and they bring in al the activities personnel out to talk to you and help you book a activity trips. I will say that we enjoy ourselves there and will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralocr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first time to Kauai. My friend had been before and stayed at The Cliffs. GREAT location to explore Princeville and North shore. You should know that there are no elevators. There was no air conditioning, but with all the windows open all the time it was better than air conditioning. Maid service after 4 days included with the option of every day (but you pay) Our washing machine broke and was given a temporary fix that night and we got a new one the next day. The activities orientation was good. (It's early, but you should go, for the taro bread and juice at the very least) We did a cruise up the Napali Coast, a helicoptor ride, paddle boarding, rice mill taro field tour, luau (had to do since it was my first time!) and in-room massage which were arranged by the concierge. There were plenty of other activities that we didn't do. You don't need to bring bath or kitchen soap. You might want to bring shampoo and condtioner as it isn't replenished every day. If you are going to wash more than one load of laundry bring laundry soap (you can buy on island) BBQ facilities (we didn't use, but liked the idea that we could BBQ if we had wanted) Pool very pleasant, there's an adult area which was nice. If the kids made any noise it was muted by the pool waterfalls. Bring ear plugs just in case your room faces the parking lot (still scenic beauty in the distance). One of deck (lanai) faced a beautiful garden, the other a parking lot. We ate breakfast in, a few lunches in and snacks in. We ate out and also got stuff from the store. Having the kitchen was great, coffee maker, blender, microwave. Fresh produce from the farmer's market. Beach chairs, beach towels (maybe they were only pool towels, but we took them to the beach, cooler provided. Princeville shopping center is right there. Hanalei, Kilauea and northern beaches are all close. The last two days we went to a resort in Poipu. The nice thing about the condo is you don't feel like you have to stay on the property (to get your money's worth) like you do on the resort. Glad we did the condo/resort combo.

Room Tip: Overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alis60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 wonderful days enjoying the sites in Kauai. This was our first stay at The Cliffs. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, the room was terrific. We had a master bedroom with a loft bedroom available, if we brought guests. The weather was rainy but wonderful at the same time. No A/C available and not needed, we slept like a rock with the soft sounds of rain falling during the night. The resort is close to beaches and restaurants. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view, there are rooms that look out at the trees, tennis court, swimming pool or the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666JohnWC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
24.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: $264 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing