We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffs is better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed toward the middle of building 6 which has a view of the ocean and mountains with no parking lot visibility and we had a 2 story 4 bedroom / 4 bath unit. We love the north shore and prefer this side of the island due to the lush gardens, cleanliness, and charming small-town atmosphere. The view from our unit was spectacular and we spent many hours sitting on the second floor balcony watching the water. The property is on a 200 foot bluff overlooking the north shore. While it tends to be humid it's cool enough and we enjoy leaving the doors and windows open and fans on - after city living with sealed air-conditioned housing and offices it's nice to enjoy tons of fresh air and hear the birds singing. This is definitely not a place to dress up - we stay in bathing suits covered by t-shirts/shorts, sun dresses or swim cover-ups pretty much full time.

The property is well maintained with a moderately sized but beautiful pool surrounded lounge chairs - many under thatched umbrellas. There are three sections to the pool separated by a large rock / waterfall feature. One side is more family oriented with a lap section and larger play area under the waterfalls. It also includes a large hot tub which is maintained at a pretty low temperature for a hot tub. There's a small protected wading area with little geysers and sprays for the really young children. On the opposite side is a small adult area. There's also a separated hot tub just for adults which we did not use.

From the web site - there are 202 condo's on the property with about a third being privately owned. There are two timeshare organizations on property as well - Cliffs Club and Cliffs Resort. The privately owned units vary in amenities and furnishings and of the timeshare units, the Cliffs Club units are generally better furnished and maintained having all been recently updated and refurnished.

There are roosters on site and they can be noisy though it is not constant noise by any means(not sure who decided roosters only crow at sun rise - these guys seem to crow whenever the mood strikes them). There's also a flock of Nene geese wandering around and many other birds which come visit us on the balcony.

The kitchen is fairly well stocked - many pans and utensils, toaster, microwave, full convection oven, dishwasher, blender and ice maker. Could use a few tupperware containers and a colander as additions. There's also a cooler which we used to picnic on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 6, 8 and 9 all have full water views - there are probably certain units in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Aloha Brenda,

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for your kind words. We think we have a pretty special place here and it is nice when others recognize it as well. the 4 bedroom unit in building 6 is a great place for large families. The trade winds blowing through do keep the unit comfortable I am glad to see you had a chance to enjoy our pool area.
Thank you for your suggestions as to what we could add to the unit to make it more "home away from home". I do hope should you decided to visit our beautiful Garden Isle again you will again select the Cliffs for your stay.

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great condo to stay at if you are traveling on a budget (which we always are!) and want something clean and homey. If you are used to the ritz of a hotel or resort...this place is not for you. If you plan to be exploring all day and soaking up Kauai and just looking for a nice place to sleep...this is the place for you! Be prepared to have a rooster wake up at 5:00 a.m. sharp, every morning. I didn't mind; it was endearing and I find myself missing it!

Tip-Don't try to find this place in the dark, if at all possible. If my husband and I were the fighting type, it would have caused a fight! Very hard to navigate.

Also, request and ocean view room and take your breakfast out to the cliffs and soak up the view over coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Aloha from the Cliffs,

Mahalo for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even the roosters!
I am sorry you had a difficult time finding us. Was it that our directions were hard to follow? Please let me know if this was the case so that we may make corrections for future guests.
We want you to arrive stress free!

Thank you again for staying with us!

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

You cannot beat the FANTASTIC view from this place. The units are nice. Very clean. Have stayed there twice and plan to again next year. The pool is nice. Tennis courts are nice, too. The consierge is VERY helpful in setting your activities for the week ... Would definitely recommend attending the morning meeting they have to tell you about all the activities and help you get signed up. It's kind of early, but worth your time. (They even have little prize giveaways if you attend! )

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eggo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Aloha from the Cliffs!

Mahalo for taking the time to post your wonderful comments about your stay here at the Cliffs!
I agree we have an amazing Concierge team! I will be sure and share your comments with the team.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Cliffs!

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spent the week of May 31st thru June 7. My wife's graduation celebration. Beautiful property with adequate amenities. Condos were spacious and clean and comfortable. Lots to do on the north end of island, but about an hour or more away from airoprt. Traffic not too terribly bad. Roofers came to replace roof in our unit while we were there and on the days that we had planned to lay around and be lazy. Management was very accommodating and packed us up and moved us to another unit and gave a nice bottle of wine for the inconvinience. Beautiful sunset views from the property right outside our unit. Very nice golf courses on the north end. Would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Aloha Mr. & Mrs. Crittenden,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I also would like to thank you once again for your understanding about the roof work. I am very happy that you and the family were able to enjoy your time at the Cliffs and on our beautiful island.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Cliffs one day!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family stayed at a timeshare here and I think we had the best room! Top of the 3rd floor in building 9 with an amazing view of the ocean and cliffs. People would gather in the huge lawn in the back of the building to watch the sunset and we just watched it from our balcony. You can also see sea turtles from the cliffs and if you are brave you can hike down the cliffs to the lava beds below and see them close up! They are always there feeding on the moss that grows on the rocks! My only problem with Princeville is that there is no sandy beaches that are within walking distance. And FYI: Avoid using the pull out bed (the couch in the living room). It is super uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Aloha,

Delighted that your and your family enjoyed your stay! Our bluff overlooking the ocean is a great sunset watching spot, I am happy you got to enjoy it as well. We do not recommend the hike down the cliffs however. It can be very slippery.
Princeville was built on a high plateau so you are correct, no beaches very close by. There is however public beach access about a mile away at the beautiful St. Regis Hotel.
Thank you for your feedback on the sofa bed. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team.

Thank you again for staying with us! I do hope that you visit again.

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved our vacation in Unit 7301 the first week of May 2013. This condo is a very nice, clean comfortable, well equipped and decorated third floor condo with gorgeous ocean and mountain views. This "home away from home" helped make this vacation our best. This is a privately owned condo and the owners are helpful and enjoyable to work with plus the price is right. Their website is go-kauai.com. We also enjoyed The Cliffs pools, hot tub, workout room and lending library. So much to do here on Kauai and so many beautiful sights. We've vacationed many places but we will definitely come back here and hope to find this condo still available. Be sure and try the rainbow shave ice with macadamia nut ice cream in the bottom and the hula pie while you are here in Kauai. They are outstanding.

Room Tip: We loved 7301. Ocean and mountain views. Excellently maintained with many extras. It is privately ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Triptalktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are timeshare owners at the Cliffs and recently stayed in building 9 for a week late May. Princeville is close to areas that we like to visit. It is green and beautiful here compare to the drier side of Poipu in my opinion. This stay exceeded our expectation again. We were on 3rd floor and kept both sliding door partially open for air flow. We kept the louver of all the windows open, including the ones in the loft. We stayed in the units a couple afternoon and it was never hot with the fan running. Unit was clean and had everything we needed. Furniture and bedding linens are tasteful and exude the tropical feel. Kitchen utensils are plentiful and coffee maker is included. There are even candles for the patio if you need it. The cooler and 2 beach chairs that come with the unit are useful for all the trips to the beach. There are lots of beach towels and bath towels provided.

I used the exercise room on some days and am grateful that The Cliffs has added this recently. The pool's landscaping is beautiful with multiple shower stations that are beautiful and tasteful. I like the ones near the adult hot tub with the curvy design. There is a handicap lift to the pool in the back behind the lava rock. Nice touch. There are about 10 Adirondack chairs at the edge of the cliffs. They are popular in the evening when everyone comes to view the sunset. Because of our location we watched from our own lanai.

There is a library in the Recreational room that you can trade or borrow books. We do this every trip and find it a nice touch. Parking is plentiful but when we went out for dinner a couple nights, the spaces for building 8 and 9 were filled. There were parking spaces near building 7, 5 and 4, just some more strides to our room, no big deal. There is no restaurant on site but we did not expect that. Most condos and timeshares in Princeville do not have restaurant onsite either, except for the Hanalei Bay Resort and Pali Ke Kua (not sure if that one is still opened).

The complex is quiet until the rooster crows in the morning. This condo is excellent for us. Staff is friendly. The only thing that I did not like is the loud noise the washer made near the end of the cycle.

Overall, it was a nice and relaxing stay at the Cliffs. We'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanaleimomTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
24.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: $270 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing