We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat dissapointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Somewhat dissapointed...”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful location. Unit was very nice....everything one would need or want. Good ocean view....all of that was wonderful. The area that was a big disappointment was that we came in telling them that one was ill & needed help getting things up to the room (second floor with no elevator). No help was offered & we saw many visitors being assisted later. We were willing to pay or tip well but.......That seems like a little thing but at this particular time, it was a deal breaker.That & that alone leaves a sour note. We inquired about help with leaving & were told to just let them know. All were well by the time we left & no help was needed. We do realize that this was the shortcoming of only one person but it did color our time there in an unpleasant way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    190
    56
    28
    15
See reviews for
151
265
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Cliffs was a Beautiful property to stay at. All the ameneties you needed in the kitchen to cook as little or as much as you wanted. Beach towels to take with and use while out and beach chairs. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms were spacious. Large living and dining areas, so you never felt like it was crowded. Much nicer than even the pictures show on their website. Very happy with our stay there! Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view of the ocean and could see a few whales from our Lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 1 weeks at the Cliffs resort, went to the orientation and signed up for yoga on the bluffs with Dianne, who said she had 16 years of expertise. She was horrible, had newcomers to the activity hyperventilating, holding poses until they cramped, and had a poor overall understanding of her supposed craft. Those who smoke are relegated to dedicated smoking areas away from the condos ... which is not a problem, until the smoker in our group deposited her suitcase at the car at 4:30 in the morning, and while having her cigarette 60 feet away, watched with horror as the paper delivery man stole her suitcase on his way through the parking lot, thinking nobody had seen him. Immediate contact with security resulted in them admitting this is not the first time theft of this nature has happened. The management at the Cliffs washed their hands, stating the bag was unattended, the police, although cooperative and understanding, assured our group there was really nothing they could do, as the management had waited so long before contacting them. The only high spots of the trip were the incredible staff at the Makai Golf Course and the beautiful scenery on the course. The NaPali coast by helicopter and catamaran were incredible. Gabriela provided a 90 minute facial to all the ladies, complete with massage for $99 .... and the ladies absolutely loved her service.

Room Tip: Security is very visible on this resort for a reason ... they have a high amount of theft and crime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainBill217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Y, Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha ‘Captain Bill’
I was sorry to hear that you had some disappointing situations while at our resort. Diane, who leads our yoga program generally receives very positive reviews and is quick to point out to all her clients to “know your limitations and only do the positions and timing within your personal capabilities”.

Regarding your luggage issue, I was surprised to read your statements in this review which contradict your statements made to our staff, management and the police report I have on my desk.

I feel it is only fair to point out the fact that the police were contacted, they did make a report, and your statement that “the smoker in our group deposited her suitcase at the car at 4:30 in the morning, and while having her cigarette 60 feet away, watched with horror as the paper delivery man stole her suitcase on his way through the parking lot, thinking nobody had seen him” Was never reported to our staff, management or the police.

In fact, this Trip Advisor report is the first time any of us are hearing this story. The additional statement that “The management at the Cliffs washed their hands, stating the bag was unattended, the police, although cooperative and understanding, assured our group there was really nothing they could do, as the management had waited so long before contacting them” is also untrue. The police recently contact me regarding a question from an incident in October of 2012.

Additionally, to set the record straight, your statement “Immediate contact with security resulted in them admitting this is not the first time theft of this nature has happened” Is also untrue. This is in fact the first time anything like this has happened at this resort.

While we are not perfect, and unfortunately situations do arise even in paradise in today’s society, we enjoy a very high satisfaction rating, as evidenced by Trip Advisor reviews and reviews from other companies. I remain sorry about what happened to your group, but felt it only fair to state the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Cliffs is beautifully located on the North shore, cooler in summer, very pleasant in winter. We have been here numerous times and keep coming back for the view, the rooms, amenities and location. Condos are nicely appointed and spacious, much more than some, and easily accessible. One third are on the ground level of three levels. The pool and hot tub area is a lovely place to soak up sun or sit in shade. Tennis players will appreciate two courts recently resurfaced. A beach is in walking distance for serious walkers but there are so many nearby beaches to visit via car as well. Two beach chairs and a cooler are provided in the condos.

Room Tip: Buildings 4, 6,7,8 and 9 have ocean views. We have stayed in all the different buildings and have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SLS3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Cliffs at Princeville has captured the ultimate location on the island of Kauai. The views of the mountains and the ocean are jawdropping. The condos themselves are modern, spacious,updated and immaculately clean. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that every guest has the best vacation possible by helping to plan activites, and respond to ones requests. We have returned here many times over the years and each time the experience gets better.

Room Tip: Room numbers which begin with 9,8,6,4 have the most interesting views of mountains and ocean. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denver68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Cliffs for 7 nights, and found the units to be spacious and well appointed with all the items we need to be self sufficient if we wanted too. We have two teenage kids and found the space in the units more than adequate, in addition the onsite activities program welcomed all and was comprehensive. We booked our activities through Susan, she was excellent, this was the firs time we used a concierge service to this capacity. Susan organised our whole week, and fitted in everything we wanted to do (which was a lot). She provided us with colour coded maps and comprehensive directions. Thanks Susan it is because of you we had such a wonderful time. All the staff at the Cliffs where lovely, the views from our unit located in building 7 was awesome. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7, 8 have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I stayed at the cliffs for six days in unit 8205 (through oceanfront realty). the unit was very well equipped and comfortable. the view was outstanding from this unit, by far one of the best. however, there is no access to the beach, and you cannot see the sunset. the bbq's on the property were close by and exceptionally clean. the staff was very welcoming and helpful, we did not have any issues when we were there. the location is excellent for hikers (as we are) but it was very quiet for any night life. there are not many restaurants to choose from, and if you are looking for night life, this is not the place to go. however, the grocery store is so close by, and the kitchen is so well equipped along with the BBQs on site, it is easy to be self sufficient. if you are looking for a peaceful vacation, in a very comfortable, scenic place, this is it! there are two trails very close by, and of course not a far drive (30 mins) to many more trails including the kalalau trail. the weather does tend to be wetter and cooler in this part of the island, so be prepared as it is much different from the south part of the island, however a long as you have wifi (which you do at the cliffs) you can keep up with where on the island to go for some drier weather.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
24.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Property: The Cliffs at Princeville
Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing