We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect North Shore comfort”
Review of Ali'i Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ali'i Kai Resort
Certificate of Excellence
markhamkpeachland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect North Shore comfort”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

It is rare to find a 2br that is friendly and so convenient to the best of Kauai's north shore beaches, Hanalei and Princeville golf and hotel. The grounds are lovely and some great views. The condos are spacious and well equipped, with laundry in each. We had one king/2twin for one week and one queen/double the other week, each w/ sofabed. Kitchens and baths looking dated, but that's the only negative. We'll return and do recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwstws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    55
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed in unit 4303 in Alii Kai I in early March. Itt's perfectly located for whale watching and listening to the waves crash below the cliff. The balcony is small but big enough for a couple of chairs. The resort appeared to be near fully rented, but the units were quiet around us. We slept well in the pillowtop beds with warm comforters, and relaxing in the livingroom with the ocean view was awesome.
The unit was clean but needed a thorough carpet cleaning. The weather was very windy and rainy, and the windows would not stay shut to completely keep out the elements, even after removing the screens to manually close them. There are a few other repairs needed. Other than that, the unit was very nice. The weather was too cool and rainy for time at the resort's pool or tennis courts.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Genius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed for one week in unit 10D. The unit was very clean and well stocked. While it was small compared to modern construction, it had a few extras like a cooler, upgraded appliances, ceiling fans, and guidebooks in the unit. Also there were free DVDs to view of movies that were filmed on the island. Jody, the check in gal, put on a great Monday morning free breakfast with handouts of all the good places to go in Kauai. It was very useful. On the negative side, there was only one small TV in the unit, no central computer access, and no air conditioning. (We were informed in advance that no AC was needed but we happened to be there during a hot, steamy spell, and some AC would have been nice.) Also, this resort required more timeshare points than our south shore resort which had more views and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShebaMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Ali'i Kai is at the end of the road so it is a lot quieter than a lot of the other Princeville rentals. The grounds are well kept and clean. Free/close parking and use of a pool. It's not as luxurious as Pu'u Poa, but in my opinion the view is better and you can hear the waves crashing. #4303 is a top floor unit with a beautiful oceanfront view on the Ma Kai side and mountain views on the opposite. However, the carpet and unit overall could use a good cleaning. The tenants directly below were noisy during certain times of day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallblonde42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I rented unit 3204 for a couple of nights as I had my wedding in Princeville but was staying in Kapa'a for the week. I rented through Aah Aloha rentals (Sandra Greenberg) and it was very easy. This particular unit only has one common wall and has an excellent panoramic view of the ocean. There were 2 bedrooms and it was nicely decorated. I would definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank missjennk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in February in unit 4303 and really loved it!
We booked through Vacation Condos Kauai on the internet.
Each unit is individually owned so it's hard to know what you can expect from the others. But the owner of unit 4303 also owns two others (3204 and 4304), so I would assume you could expect close to the same quality level in those units. The pictures on their website also imply this.

In our opinion Princeville is one of the nicest areas on the island. We had visited Kauai once (but in the month of September) and it was our favorite island. Back then we stayed in Poipu, but wish we had stayed on the north shore.
So when we planned this trip we knew we wanted to go back and stay in Princeville.

This condo is located right on the ocean (or above it as it is situated on a cliff) and there is view from every room!
The unit was very spacious, with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths, a living and dining room and full kitchen.
The furniture and decor were very nice. The beds - wonderful! Very soft with lots of great pillows! There was a king size bed in the large master bedroom. It also had a HUGE walk-in closet. The other bedroom was significantly smaller and had either a queen or double bed, sorry, I'm not sure which.
The bathrooms had tons of counter space. The master bath had a walk-in shower (no tub) with plenty of hot water and great water pressure.
The other bathroom had a tub/shower combo. It was just the two of us so we only used the master bath and it had a full size 1875 watt hair dryer, which I thought was a nice touch. They provide toilet paper, paper towels, soap, but not toiletries like shampoo
There is no air conditioning. There was a ceiling fan in each room, including the living room. And they also had an extra portable standing fan in the closet. There are windows on both sides of the unit so you get a great cross breeze. It was actually quite chilly in February, but not sure how warm it might get in summer.
There was a washer and dryer in the unit, and a fully stocked kitchen. Stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster oven, dishes, pots, pans, bottle openers, wine glasses, etc, etc...even a blender and a strainer to make pasta! Everything you'd need to make your own meals.
No ice maker in the fridge, though..just ice trays.
There is a Foodland grocery store just a couple of miles away.
The kitchen and bathrooms are nice and clean, but not upscale. About what you'd expect in an apartment, laminate counters, etc. Not granite and stainless steel if you're looking for that.

They provided a small ice chest, 2 snorkel masks (no fins), a boogie board, and 2 small chairs you could carry with you (except one was broken).
There is also free high speed internet.

There was a sliding glass door opening out onto a balcony with 2 chairs and a very small table. The balcony is not private, but THE VIEW!!!
Spectacular view! Right on the edge of a cliff overlooking the ocean! We actually saw whales right from our balcony!

I must say, that falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night was heavenly!

In building 4 which we were in, there's no backyard per se, because of the steep drop off. But a woman who lives in the complex told us that we were allowed to wander the grounds of the neighboring condos. The Cliffs, next door has a large lawn with a few chairs that's a perfect place to bring a bottle of wine, sit, relax and enjoy the gorgeous view and whale watch!

There is plenty of parking and the condo was very quiet. There is a pool, but we never used it.

I'd like to add a little bit about being in Kauai in February. Since we had only ever been to Hawaii in September and this was kind of a last minute trip, we really never gave the weather much thought. (Stupid, I know). But if you are thinking about going in February, just realize that it is not the same island as in the summer.
Especially on the north shore. The waves are HUGE and the water is very chilly. The temperatures were around 70-72 and it was mostly cloudy and windy. Not perfect beach weather. And not great snorkeling conditions. It didn't even feel like the same place to us. Places that we remembered snorkeling were barely recognizable...I'm talking about Queen's Bath. It was outright scary. We never even contemplated going snorkeling there because of all the stuff we'd read, and boy was it right.
We walked out to it and barely recognized it. The waves were incredible and completely devoured the small pool. And you could see the power of the vacuum the water was creating. It truly would be deadly. There is a sign warning of this on the trail. After watching the waves get bigger and bigger for about 20 minutes we knew they weren't kidding!
Of course, the south shore is much calmer. But it was still mostly cloudy, rainy and cool. I realize weather can be very hit or miss. And I read about this about a week before we went hoping that we'd have good luck. It was about 50-50 on the south shore and not quite as good on the north.
We did a Na Pali boat tour and the seas were so rough and it was raining so hard that the boat had to turn around before even reaching the Na Pali coastline. We did get to see lots of whales, though, so that was great!
All this being said, Kauai is unbelievably gorgeous and seeing the whales is amazing (a perk you can only see in winter).
I'm already itching to go back...only in September.
If you're not too concerned with lazing on a warm, sunny beach and swimming in clear, calm waters, then February is a fine time to come and marvel at the beauty that is Kauai. The rain actually made for some beautiful skies and a beautiful mist hugged the mountain tops, and rainbows everywhere!

No matter when you visit Kauai, you'll fall in love with this beautiful island.
And staying at the Alii Kai unit 4303 made it that much more wonderful.
Highly recommend this unit!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed here as a timeshare exchange. We stayed in Unit 10E in the Alii Kai II., an upstairs end unit with beautiful mountain view. We would love to go back. When we made the booking we didn't know anything about Kauai or Alii Kai.After making the booking I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and became a little worried about our choice. After receiving a letter and a phone call about the construction noise I was really concerned. But I figured, how much time will we spend there anyway?

My worries were completely unfounded. Jodi, the concierge, was very helpful during the entire stay and let us check in early. The unit was clean, the furnishing comfortable and in good repair. The kitchen had everything we needed - dish washing soap, paper towels, coffee filters, etc. There was even plenty of detergent for washing clothes. The best surprise was the cooler! We used it every day. We were never bothered by construction noise. Except for enjoying our balcony view every day, we didn't spend much time at the resort. We only went to the pool twice. The pool was nice and never crowded. We didn't use the grills.

The location of Alii Kai was perfect for our visit. A short drive in any direction took us to beautiful beaches. Between the Foodland Shopping Center in Princeville and the Ching Young Shopping Village in Hanalei we could find everything we needed. There are plenty of restaurants and shops. Our favorite meal was at Hanalei Dolphin.

I highly recommend the following tour operators: Kayak Hanalei for kayaking and snorkeling and HoloHolo Charters for a NaPali Coast catamaran trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgiabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,754 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali'i Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali'i Kai Resort

Property: Ali'i Kai Resort
Address: 3830 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5340
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ali'i Kai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the splendor of the Pacific Ocean, Ali'i Kai Resort is surrounded by tropical landscape neatly decorated with lush gardens and exotic Hawaiian flowers. This Princeville resort offers spacious two-bedroom, two-bathroom condos for weekly stays. Discover the spirit of Aloha on Kauai and welcome the romantic sunsets from private balconies, relax by the pool and join any of the fantastic island activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ali'i Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali`i Kai Hotel Princeville
Ali'i Kai Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing