We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, well maintained, challenging but fair”

Princeville Makai Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Top Golf Experience on Kauai; Our 27-hole Golf Facility was designed by Mr. Robert Trent Jones Jr.-in the late 1960s. We recently went through an extensive renovation to 18 (Oceans & Lakes Nines) of our 27 holes (Woods Is Still Open But Was Not Renovated). The new 18 was opened in January of 2010 and is now know as the Makai Course. The new and improved championship Makai course is a breath taking par-72 at over 7,200 yards. We proudly boast some of the most epic ocean/mountain views Hawaii golf has to offer.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views, well maintained, challenging but fair”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Makai course was one of the top 5 conditioned courses I have ever played, which is probably partially due to the climate in this area. Views were spectacular with a few holes backing up to/hitting over the ocean, and the course was challenging yet playable. Although I did not play the Prince course in Kauai, I was told the Prince course was much tougher, but in equally as good of condition. I would highly recommend the Makai course to golfers of all levels if you love the game (if you don't love golf, the price tag for a round is probably not justified).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    67
    8
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Playable fun course with ocean views”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This course in my personal opinion was much more playable than The Prince course down the road. It was also cheaper and was available on EZlinks.com for far cheaper while the The Prince course was only on GOLFNOW and no cheaper than if you were staying at one of the resorts. Challenging, fun and it had more ocean views than The Prince course. It is really enjoyable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reagpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views along the course”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Not a great golfer. But with views like this it doesn't matter. Good deal on rented clubs and shoes.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Views”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Worth your money and your time. Course in great shape while both challenging and forgiving.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SavvySeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
447 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“A bit of bias - we live on the course”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Golfing friends say this is a great and challenging course as well as being very scenic in every direction and at every hole. We actually live right on the course and collect about 10 stray golf balls which hit the house, every week. So far, no broken windows. The pathways offer excellent walking with views but only early morning and when the golfers go home. Another bonus is that in February, the Laysan Albatross chicks start to hatch and Makai is one Princeville area - in spots - where these lovely birds nest and perform their rituals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Makai Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Makai Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing