We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & views, good prices!”
Review of The Tavern - CLOSED

The Tavern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Cleveland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food & views, good prices!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Make reservations to be there around sunset, wonderful views and can quickly step outdoors to take a photo. This restaurant is located in the clubhouse of the Princeville golf course. Plenty of parking. Excellent food, good choices, children's menu and easily accommodated gluten free dining. Server was helpful and attentive. Upon seating, they give you their specially spiced popcorn. A few minutes later they delivered a cheese quesadilla to my son. We tried to give it back since we didn't order and they said it was always complimentary! Surprised at the reasonable prices for such quality of food. You won't be disappointed at this well run & friendly restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    165
    59
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great quality food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We eat here every time we are on the island and they don't disappoint! The food is top notch and the service is great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Super Savory”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow this place is great! We met a family here at the Westin Princeville while we were both BBQ ing our dinner on Saturday night. They told us about The Tavern. My husband, son and 2 grand kids played golf at the Princeville golf course at 4:00pm and it just so happens that The Tavern is located on property. My daughter in law and I hung out at the bar where they had "Happy Hour" drinks and PuPu's. they were very tasted and affordable! Most appetizers were $4.00 we shared Calamari (very good). Then the rest of the family joined us for dinner. They so take care of the kids! It's a 3 course kids meal for $12.00. The adults meal was one of the most savory meals we have had in a long time. I had the Rib Eye and my husband had Clams and French Onion soup. Both very good.

The people were great, our sever Sara was very sweet but the manager/hostes was amazing and gave us the best seat in the house! The sunset was beautiful. Thanks Tavern for a great meal and thanks to the folks who gave us the best recommendation!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Tavern, Princevill, Kauai”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner, drinks and a beautiful sunset at this "northern island" location. Service was great, the food was fantastic and the overall experience in the top 5! Totally a surprise and one to recommend to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food, Service, View!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Let me start by saying why this is only a "Very Good" review: the place is noisy. But so are a lot of restaurants. Here, at the Prince Golf Course Clubhouse you will enjoy your wine while watching the sunset over Bali Hai and in the other direction, looking out at the finishing holes of a top 100 golf course. And the fresh fish of the day is really fresh and very well prepared. (It's easy to ruin the freshest fish with a poor chef.) No poor chef here--well presented and so very tasty! Add attentive service and, for the area, you have a top restaurant choice. Highly recommended for those visiting Princeville, Hanalei, Kilauea or Haena.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing