We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Tour”

Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend, Michael, have transformed their 8-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The Robertsons grow a small cacao (chocolate) grove and part of every tour is a chocolate tasting and lesson on how chocolate is made. Longer tours include samples of delicious tropical fruits. The fun, educational tours of the garden include ethnobotanical and medicinal uses of plants, stories and information about native Hawaiian and "canoe" plants, and much more about a diverse collection of species from around the world. RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED. Visitors can experience the garden on pre-scheduled tours on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. We strongly recommend good walking shoes. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Eat your way through the gardens and get a great history of plants on Kauai ... Short tour (2 hours) ended up being more like 3 1/2 hours because the group enjoyed it so much

Thank FlyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, FlyDC. We're glad you enjoyed your tour, even if it did run dramatically overtime. We hope that wasn't a problem, but as you mentioned, people end up having so much fun and asking so many questions that sometimes we just can't help it! Here's wishing you safe travels exploring the world. Perhaps we'll see you back on Kauai someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you like gardens this is a fabulous thing to do. If you have no interest in plants then you should skip. The garden tour requires some walking and it can be slippery in the rain. But the collection is plants all thriving are just beautiful. I have been to botanical gardens all over the world and the collection here is so vast. The plants are healthy and loving the climate. It is a gigantic garden but the tour takes you through and explains the plants and their origins. I saw trees here that I had not seen anywhere else. The flowers were spectacular. This place is a labor of love. If you like tropical plants in a splendid setting it is a must do activity.

2  Thank Nina961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review, Nina. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our gardens. If you want to stay in touch with us when you're not in Hawaii, check out our Facebook and Pinterest pages, which we'll keep updated with recent photos. Also, if you have any suggestions for making our tours even better, we're all ears! We look forward to seeing you again someday. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Both my wife and I love gardening - edibles and ornamentals. We read the favorable reviews and had high hopes for the outing. We did know that it was a "private" botanical garden (as opposed to other 3 on the island), and phoned for our tour. First, they do have some lovely plants, and it is obviously a work-in progress. It is based out of a home (so parking is on grass, check-in is under the garage overhang). None the less, it does lack some professional touches (such as something as simple as providing a credit card receipt!). They split the very large group into two manageable groups (of around 20 persons each). Our tour guide was very knowledgeable on some things, relied on the labels for many items, and in some areas was wrong (I am a master gardener). The chocolate tour involved sitting (1/2 hour) while the guide explained the different types of chocolate (we had already been given the basics on how chocolate is produced from the peeled bean), and we were given samples of 7 different types of chocolate. A lot of the time was taken up by talking, some of it helpful (such as history and utilization of the plants), some of it not germane. We left the tour approximately 20 minutes early - too much time standing in one spot in the heat. We did not feel there was value for the $45.00.

8  Thank DrEvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, DrEvs. We're glad you enjoyed our gardens even if it didn't meet your expectations. If you have a moment, what exactly did the tour guide tell you that was wrong? We'd like to do our best to make sure we aren't giving out wrong information. Do you have any other suggestions for making the tour more enjoyable? It sounds like more benches or areas to sit would be helpful. Thanks again. Hope to see you on Kauai again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This 3 hour tour was one of our favorite events on our vacation to Kauai! We loved enjoying all the natural beauty while learning about how many of nature's creations can be used for healing or nourishment. Tasting all the different fruits along the way was especially fun and helped get through the warm day!! We loved tasting the chocolate also! It was fun figuring out our favorites.
We would definitely do this tour again if we have the opportunity to return! Our tour guides Steve and Karen were fantastic! They were informative and interesting! Our teenage boys enjoyed this tour, one for the photography and the other from the perspective of a survivalist! Bug spray and umbrellas were provided for the tour! A must see!!!!

2  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Bill and Lucy did a great job with our tour of the botanical gardens. What they have done with their beautiful property is amazing. They have nearly 600 species of plants spread over 8 acres. We got to tour the grounds and got to sample chocolate made by the owners (they have cacao trees on site). The tour we ended up going on originally was scheduled for 2.5 hours and it ended up lasting for 4 hours! That definitely made it worth the money. The owner was our tour guide and we got such a great understanding of why he planted certain plants and the ideas behind everything he did. I recommend bringing a hat and insect repellent!!!! I got bit horribly by so many bugs. Besides getting bitten, I would definitely do the tour again.

5  Thank NBruin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing