We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A General Store of Days Gone By”

North Shore General Store
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,053 reviews
527 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“A General Store of Days Gone By”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went into this little General Store just to take a look. It reminded us of something from the olden days. Really cool little place with a little bit of everything. Good food choices and lots of this and that. We ended up getting some all natural cough drops.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    102
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good take-out choice in Princeville”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Breakfast, pizza, calzones and burgers at a Chevron gas station? Only in Kauai. The burgers are actually pretty darn good. Generous helping of fresh items ( we had the grilled mushroom and onion) and the beef itself was not only quality but delicious. The burgers featured buns toasted in their pizza oven. One order of fries clearly will satisfy two. They also have outdoor tables with umbrellas. A nice take-out or sit-in option on the North Shore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bliss62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a surprise!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First night in Princeville, we thought a burger sounded good. A local policeman suggested this place. We walked in & thought we were in the wrong place. After settling the confusion, we each order a burger with grilled mushrooms & onions. The local beef was wonderful! We ate on the table outside. Young man at the counter was very friendly & helpful.. Onion rings were just right. Burgers are not usually part of our diet but it just sounded right. What a great surprise & we were so glad we chose it. Don't be put off by the building (part service station, part general store, part restaurant). It is unique. Don't miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They actually make a pretty good pizza”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We relied on reviews and ordered a pesto pizza from this "general store" and, while the toppings were a little sparse, it was actually a pretty good pizza. The guys behind the counter are cool people and they have a diverse menu, including some vegetarian options. There's even a patio on the side of the building if you don't want to take your meal to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MedicalPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
487 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wonderful Princeville Ranch Beef”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful beef from the Princeville Ranch is delivered here on Thursday mornings. The very very best for your grill!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore General Store also viewed

 

Been to North Shore General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing