We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Home away from home, if your home overlooked...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marmac_10
SF bay area
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Home away from home, if your home overlooked paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

G9 - the building doesn't look that interesting but unit is lovely. We must have looked confused coming up because some of the neighbors popped their heads out of the door to ask which unit we were looking for. They were very friendly.

The decor is island/ocean theme but not overdone. (My little ones in particular liked the little fish decorations.)

The kitchen is well-equipped - stove, oven, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, dishes, utensils, but even baking, blenders, mixers, etc.

The bathroom as well. Well-stocked with towels and soap. You'd need to bring additional toiletries.

The view is amazing!!!

My husband and I really appreciated Laurie's personal touch. She explained what the unit was like, any concerns we might have as a family with young children, what the area is like, etc.

She also mentioned that the sofa bed wasn't very comfortable (sofa beds are never comfortable), but did suggest these folding mattresses. We ended up using these mattresses for the kids and they loved them.

Loved staying here and would do it again.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger
Ohio
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Value
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Hawai`i
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
USA
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 2 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that your party was uncomfortable. If you had phoned us for assistance, we would have been happy to explain that THERE IS A SLEEPER SOFA, just as promised in the unit listing above!!! It is indeed a lovely property with amazing views, we hope next time you'll be able to enjoy it in greater comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mauilove1...
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall - would return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Pros -
-Great location! We went for a walk every morning down the road to foodland. Lots of people around exercising and friendly, saying hello. Foodland has excellent Masubi by the way!
-Free wifi! Yes, I was one of "those people" who had to bring my laptop and work while on vacation. :(
-Views are great
-Breeze is beautiful!
- Bed was comfortable
-Offered playpen for our baby to sleep in and a booster chair
-closet had TONS to stuff! Almost everything you needed for the beach. Snorkel gear, sand pails for our daughter, beach chairs and umbrellas.

Cons -
-There was only one packet of coffee when we arrived...had to buy a pack at the store
-only 1 little one use box of laundry detergent. We had to buy a box (so if you see the Cheer in the closet, that was ours. your welcome. :)
-3rd floor! Didn;'t know that when we booked it. It wouldn't be a big deal if it was just us as a couple, but with a baby - carrying a carseat up 3 flights of floors and all your gear can get really tiring!
- really hot until you open the windows
-couches were super uncomfortable and loud! Couldn't even sit on them when the baby was napping in the bedroom, the noise of getting off of them would wake her up.
-We didnt have too much of a problem with geckos. We only saw maybe 2 tops in our unit, but we did have a problem with little bugs. There were little bugs almost everywhere. Especially in the kitchen. Almost so little you couldn't even see them, but they were all over everything.
- I had my husband trek down to the private beach. He came back dripping in sweat saying there was no way we were going down that trail with the baby! I'm sure it would have been good if it were just us two. He said the hike there was worse than the trail to get to Hidden beach behind the St. Regis. Yikes.
-lastly - the bedroom "door" would keep slamming back and forth when we would have it closed and the bedroom window open...Without the window open the bedroom would be really hot for our baby to nap in so we had to deal with it. Don't think that will really apply much to other people though.

Sounds like a negative review, but it's not. Just wanted to give people every detail! Given all of the above, we would have come back in a heartbeat! The views, the beautiful breeze, the location were all great. What a great family friendly neighborhood!. Our little girl loved it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: the little bugs
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamaaina80
HI.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009 for a stay in August 2009
3
people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mwpharr
TN
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quiet, beautiful
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing