We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening but no "Wow"”
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Kauai Grill is a comfortable yet elegant hideaway with sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai. The seasonal menu is composed of a wide selection of hand-crafted dishes created from flavors found here on the Garden Island of Kauai with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening but no "Wow"”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We very much enjoyed celebrating our 40th anniversary in this fine resturant. We splurged on the tasting menu with wine pairings. Each course was very good and a couple of the pairings were outstanding. The service was attentive and well paced. But with this reputation and price point, there need to be some "Wows" in order to earn an outstanding. Just no wows.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    151
    121
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Negombo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

horribly over priced. Agree with the review that the servers don't have the training you would expect at such a high-priced restaurant. A $50 bottle of wine could have been had from Foodland for under $10. The decor is more like a Denny's than a 5 star hotel. The salad was so-so however the main dish (mora and salmon) were delicious. We remember the days when we had fantastic experiences eating the fish buffet at this hotel. Those days gone. Our general experience with restaurants on the North Shore is that you pay alot for mediocre food. Best to buy fish at a local fish market and cook in the condo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Desserts”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My kids and I went to Kauai Grill only to eat dessert.
We ordered the Chocolate Cake with Vanilla ice cream, JG Cheesecake with Sweet Bread ice cream and the Passionfruit Souffle with Ginger ice cream. We waited what seemed a long time, and ate bread while people watching.
The manager, Antonio, (eye candy ) showed up suddenly with complimentary dessert of White Chocolate Pavlova with Yuzu sorbet. I dont know why we were given that, but our desserts arrived soon after and they were AWESOME, AMAZING, WONDERFUL.

Everyone there was super nice and friendly. It was a most wonderful experience for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_traveler895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, HI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Be sure to get the Sea-Salt Caramel Sundae!

Appetizers are really good. Ordered the Octopus and chicken Samosas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 70sKauaiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great attention but not very creative”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you've been to a Jean-George restaurant in New York you'll be pretty disappointed with the Kauai Grill but then the Kauai restaurant just has the Jean-George name and not his attention or invention.
The service staff was excellent, very attentive and they did suggest the specialties to us. The crab cakes were mushy and tasteless and the pepper jelly so overpowered the octopus dish, all we could taste was the pepper. The rest of the meal was OK but no WOW factor. And so I can say, yes, we had a meal at the Kauai Grill and no, we'll probably not go back for another try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing