We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunset View and Food to match”
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Kauai Grill is a comfortable yet elegant hideaway with sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai. The seasonal menu is composed of a wide selection of hand-crafted dishes created from flavors found here on the Garden Island of Kauai with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Sunset View and Food to match”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In St. Regis hotel. I started with a Bellini, normally it's Prosecco with peach juice, their version has cherry, not peach. Husband started with grilled black pepper octopus and a white wine from Alsace. I started with froi gras brulee with grapes, tarragon & ruby grapefruit. Main courses: veal chop with artichoke hearts, husband had hapa'upu'u (Hawaiian sea bass) in a chili & Thai basil sauce over fermented black beans. The room faces the bay and we watched the sunset as we ate. A lovely dinner with good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    150
    120
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Setting, Good, But Not Great, Food”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is another place to make sure you take your wallet, and the wallets of your 10 best friends; as well as take out a second mortgage and sell your car... OK, I'm sort of joking, but it is the most expensive place we dined in a trip to Hawaii that included Ko Olina, Wailea, and almost all of Kauai. Now, having said that, the food was good, but not great - at least not what one would expect for the setting, service, and cost. My wife and I decided that you come here for the view and ambiance rather than any other reason. The service was impeccable though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perigrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best high end restaurant in islands of Hawaii”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Food preparation, service, ambience all make this a top rated restaurant worthy of a special occasion. I would rate 29-29-29 on Zagat's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“St. Regis Kauai Grill”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

UNBELIEVABLE!!! The service was excellent, as you'd expect at a St. Regis. But - the meal was absolutely amazing. The best meal I had in Kauai, hands down. Maybe the best ever! Go there for sure, but bring your wallet...it's expensive. The views of Hanalei Bay are incredible. Make reservations and ask for a table on the glass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great service, lovely food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to Kauai Grill with friends who had come to visit Kauai. FIrst of all, the view overlooking Hanalei Bay at sunset was wonderful. Our wait staff was very attentive, always keeping water refilled. I started with an appetizer that was caviar on crunchy poached eggs. Very interesting textures: the poached egg was coated in something an deep friend, hense the crunchiness. When I cut into it, the poached egg yolk spread around, and bites of poached egg with crunchiness and caviar and creme fraiche was a fabulous combination. For the main course I had peppercorn seared ahi. It was great, and just seared -- the way I like it -- and very tender. Everything is a la carte, so I also ordered a side of mashed potatoes. OMG! The mashed potatoes were served is something that looked almost like an ice cream dish, and they were exquisite. I am certain they were made with Yukon Gold potatoes, because they were golden yellow, and I am equally certain they were made with butter and cream: yum! I skipped dinner because there was no way I could fit anything else in.

All in all, a lovely experience; highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hummba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing