We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable trip...better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle at Princeville
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I read about almost every accommodation on Kauai, as I was really trying to make it the best vacation ever for my husband. We had decided to stay in the North as it is more lush and less touristy. After reading several internet reviews and The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, I wasn't sure about staying at Pali Ke Kua as it got mixed reviews. I called their office and spoke with Jaymi who had INCREDIBLE patience with me. I asked her about every doubt we had: would it be a good location?, are the rooms clean?,...the list truly goes on as I was sooo worried to make a mistake and ruin our one week we finally had to vacation! With that said, Jaymi was phenomenal and found the absolutely perfect room for us. Our one stipulation was that we wanted an ocean view. We weren't willing/able to pay the St Regis price, though, for a view. Well, we ended up getting St Regis views with the added bonus of having all the amenities of a condo which were so helppul, esp. the washer and dryer as we certainly dirtied our clothes on all the adventures we went on! It was so nice having a full kitchen as well! Because we came in a night early, we ended up staying at Pu'u Poa which completely filled and exceeded our expectations and was sooo peaceful. We were hoping to be near a beach which also worked out beautifully as we had Hideaways, a phenomenal beach, within walking distance as well as Queen's Bath, a true joy to see...especially when the local keiki (children) are swimming in it! Words cannot convey how indebted we are to God for sending us Jaymi who knew exactly where to place us. We were able to finally get a little rest, be near the best snorkeling and hiking areas as well as have peaceful, clean and up-to-date accommodations. The guide book truly has missed out on this condo, but that's fine with us, as it will hopefully continue to be the hidden treasure that it is!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CAAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Castle at Princeville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2010

We went through Kauai Calls to get Hale Moi #213 unit and had a great experience. It was our honeymoon and this place was a pleasant welcome to Kauai. The location is great, the north shore area, if you love beaches, watersports, laid-back country lifestyle, and want to get in on some serious hiking, sightseeing, and save money. With a full kitchen and plenty of beach accessories. You are set up to enjoy exploring the coast and save money on dining. There is a foodland right down the road (with excellent steaks!) open until 11pm which is way late out here. We ate home every night except the last night and saved cash! Also, making lunchs and using the coolers we were able to save on lunchtime as well. The owner Candace was extremely friendly and helpful with things to do and helping you out with any questions or concerns. The place is decorated well and lively (not for the sterile and plain tastes). The queen bed felt like a cloud, we collapsed into it every night and woke up in the same position!

The only issues we had was the King bed up on the loft gets hot at night if you don't get the fans going and the coffee maker wasn't nailing the kona coffee just right. Minor complaints for a memorable stay at an exquisite location. We definitely want to come back and bring more people with us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berndizzo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks early April at "Sweet Dreams", the larger side of Hale Moi #213 condo.This condo is a very good value and well managed by Kauai Calls. Comfortable, well appointed with full kitchen, laundry and beach toys. Bed is comfortable with top grade bedding. Quiet vacation and residential area and beautiful lanai view of a lush ravine. No looking into some one else's unit !

There are endless snorkel opportunities within a few miles of this location and great food nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fleecebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom oceanfront for two nights in March. Views were incredible, and we loved the wandering nenes. The steep walk down to the beach is an easy one--not a great swimming beach in the winter though. Washer and dryer was a huge bonus. We were on the bottom floor and didn't hear much noise from the people above us. Enjoyed eating our dinners on the patio as the sun set. We were in Hawaii for three weeks, and this was the most expensive place we stayed--it is overpriced. Still, the view was fabulous and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Upon first glance, I found the unit (#211) to be clean enough, spacious, with a nice enough view of the mountainside. It was not long before I realized the MAJOR ISSUES with this rental. For starters, the bed (a double) was at least 15 years old, hard as a rock and crawling with bedbugs. GROSS. We opted to sleep on the futon mattress on the floor, which was not much better. The shower screams the entire time. Earpiercing fire drill style. Not kidding. The patio is actually shared with the neighbors, so if you open the door, they can walk on in, not that they did. The last straw was when I tried to boil noodles and instead ended up cooking the COCKROACH that had crawled into the stovetop. GROSS!!! The property managers response was that "she hates those roaches too". Nice. I felt uncomfortable and skeeved out the entire time I was in the unit.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank LOVESTOTRAVEL400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Moi condos in Princeville, specifically unit #213. Excellent value, and beautiful accomodations. The units (sides A+B) have been profesionally decorated and provide great amenities. (Snorkle gear, boogie boards, tons of local info) The unit (213) is owned/managed by a local woman that lives in Kapaa. The website is [-].
If you go through Marc Resorts, you will probably pay a ton more, for a more run down unit. My advice is to rent from the above mentioned site.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jmontante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
568 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle at Princeville

Address: 5300 Ka Haku Rd Ste C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5206
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $206 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle at Princeville is set amid the beauty of Kauai's North Shore with scenic mountains streaming with waterfalls and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay. The resort offers a wide variety of moderate condominium units in three complexes. Each spacious suite features spectacular views overlooking Princeville's famous golf courses or coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Castle At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing