We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican food in Hawaii”

Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Hawaii”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I ate at a mexican restaurant once on Oahu and labelled it the worst I'd ever had and swore that I'd never eat Mexican food in Hawaii again. I have high expectations given I live in Texas and eat this type of food regularly. I have been back to Hawaii on two other trips and have held true to my word. However, I saw folks eating this and decided I needed to try. I had the Chipolte fish taco and my husband had the carnitas taco, and we split the carne asada nacho. The taco's were both excellent, and the carne asado was cooked perfectly. The chips seemed to be of the grocery store variety, though the salsas were all fresh and good. Overall, I was impressed and Hawaii has redeemed themselves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lzfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    152
    56
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food is tasty and the portions large. This is a small place where you stand in line to order and then can sit at at table outside to eat. A good stop for a quick lunch on the North Shore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrhackerott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great value, excellent food! We ordered a couple of dinner platters. Food was made fresh and excellent flavor. No frills, no fancy setup, just good food at a great price!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty tasty.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ordered carry out on evening. It was tasty - but I have had better carry-out (sorry Federico). When we stopped to pick up a menu earlier in the day, the person we spoke to wasn't overly friendly. Though we did decide to write that 'visit' off and order anyway. they were timely in our pick up time. We would order again from there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tasty ..........”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Would go back in a heart beat for the fish tacos. I had fish tacos at 3 different places and this one was the best. Also had a carnitas taco and that was very good too. Rice and beans are also top notch. If you are looking for your Mexican Food Fix .... this will fit the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing