We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect evening !!”

Nanea Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Nanea Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ka Haku Road
Description: Welcome to Nanea Restaurant and Bar our focus on unique, fresh, local ingredients allows us to create dishes inspired by Hawaiian, Asian and Modern American cusines. Join us for a relaxing evening at Nanea!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect evening !!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We had just arrived yesterday and went on TripAdvisor to find a place for dinner. Made a reservation on line, arrived at 5:45 to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We arrived so early we were lucky enough to sit right next to the beautiful waterfall complete with fish. Fabulous dinner and perfect service from Bryan. We all had starters & salad,wine and dessert, all which were memorably delicious. We are hoping to get back there before we leave!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    169
    74
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
266 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the better meals of our trip to Kauai”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for our trip, and after reading the variety of reviews for this restaurant (inside the Westin), we weren't sure we would like it. We saved it for our last evening to stay close to "home" and make an easy dinner.
We were pleasantly surprised. It was a Friday evening, and we arrived at 6:30. There was a newly opened table at the edge of the lanai. Beautiful garden/pool/ocean view with the tiki lights glowing. Romantic.
IT was Hawaiian night, which included a floating Hawaiian singer and hula dancer. That was cool for about 5 minutes. To their credit, they would play for a few tables and then stop for a while. Otherwise...it could get to be too much!
But, we did have a great experience. My husband did the 3 course Hawaiian dinner. Lovely fresh fish, some beef, and a desert. I had the crab cakes. They were fried, which is not my favorite, but the sauce made up for it. Both of us had sides that were fresh and tasty.
Our waitress seemed overloaded, and things took time. She apologized for the wait many times, but since we were in for the evening experience, we didn't mind, but I can see that others may have a different view.
Our deserts were a hit, with pineapple upside down cake and a coconut pound cake. Both of us had Lappert's ice cream as part of the dessert, and when they sent the wrong kind for me, our waitress immediately made a change and brought us "extra" coconut ice cream to enjoy.
I will say that they may need less maitre d' staff and more wait staff.
Pleasant evening. Would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely garden setting but disappointing food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Thought we'd treat ourselves to lunch at a world class hotel dining room but the thought put into the food is about as good as any American coffee shop. My husband had fish and chips, too much batter and chips were the frozen type. Served with a whole lemon? I had the French dip and the beef was not fresh but refried with cheese. Never would you get a French dip sandwich in France with cheese and the dip was tasteless. Save your money for someplace else. Service was slow even though no one there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We decided to visit Nanea on our final evening in Princeville. Excellent choice. Spectacular location and delicious food. We were seated right at the koi pool and the tiki torches were being lit as we dined. Talk about atmosphere. Our server was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about food choices and wine. Both were wonderful. Just the right size portions of very fresh fish and very reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Well presented. Excellent evening and wonderful conclusion to our holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahala, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Princeville Westin Sunday brunch”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall, there was enough selection that I think it would be hard to be disappointed but see below for more information.

Atmosphere: relaxed, dress casual. You could probably get away with slippas but we wore close toe.

Brunch was $32 and $5 additional for 1 large Bloody Mary or 3 medium size mimosas (any juice added).

Food:
Salmon (decent) and ahi (no taste) sashimi sushi were put out in small portions and quickly gone. Ahi poke was amazing. Sushi rolls were blah, not real sushi, just lots of rice and no meat (reminded me of cheap Vegas buffet sushi).

Bacon, sausage great.

Eggs Benedict would have been excellent if it was warm. It was less than room temperature, ask them to heat it for you.

Prime rib was good.
Omelets were good, hard to mess up but Cody (sous chef) definitely did a great job

Pastries (blah)

Fruits were excellent

Chicken was excellent

Cold cheese and meat bar was good

Brunch went till 12:30 and by 12, there were only 2 of 3 cakes left and both were coffee based which is not a favorite taste in dessert. The coconut passion cake was out and was not replaced.
Banana bread had to act as dessert and was excellent.

Tips:
You have to apparently ask for outdoor seating as it was not even offered to us and we were placed inside and there was a table available outside without a reserved placard. Perhaps because we were local and not staying at Westin (the first thing they asked us)?

Waitress was really nice and appropriately present (not too little, not too much) until very end and I actually had to walk up to give another waitress our bill and credit card to run after 15 minutes of waiting.

Feedback to Westin: Keep all food out until buffet guests are finished. I understand the waitresses want to be done with their shift but I would think it was rude if I went to someone's house and they started putting up the food before the guests were finished. Management should address this, finer service is expected in this area of Kauai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctheworld27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanea Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Nanea Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing