We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and value”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hanalei Bay Resort in condo 7202. Overall the condo was great. It had been recently renovated and everything was in excellent working order. The condo is fully air conditioned, which is an advantage since the patio faces west and the bed was very comfortable. It has an excellent view of Hanalei bay and surrounding hill sides and a large patio. Overall, Hanalei Bay and this condo are a very nice place and a good value. Amazingly quiet and peaceful. We didn’t take advantage of the two pools but they looked nicely maintained, as were the tennis courts, and the resort grounds. My only complaints would be that currently the bar and restaurant are closed, but restaurants are a close trip away in Princeville, and due to the fact that the property is hilly, you can expect a lot of walking or golf cart rides to the parking lot and the beach. A small price to pay for such a great place. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lycharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    405
    150
    98
    88
See reviews for
462
808
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at the Hanelai Bay resort from July 15- July 19 with our extended family. We stayed in unit 4323. Once you walk in this unit you are blown away from the awesome view. This unit was spacious with a master retreat and another loft bedroom. Everything in this unit has been upgraded. I loved the beautiful well equiped granite kitchen..They had a great bar table on the lanai that sat 4. We would enjoy our morning coffee and breakfast each day on the lanai, as well as cocktail hour and dinner. This unit is well stocked with snorkel gear boogy boards, pool toys, beach chairs, ect. It is a short walk to the beach {they share with the St Regis}. You can call for a golf cart shuttle to take you down if you are hauling alot down to the beach. The pools are great, we loved the circular pool close to our unit. The large pool was relaxing and had a great grill where you could purchase burgers at lunch.
We stopped at Cosco {ajacent to the airport, across from the mall} and stocked up on great wine and meat and fish to grill. We also went to the Hanelai Dolphin fish market purchased ahi and delicous sushi to take back and grill at the condo. Our favorite restaurants in Hanelai are Postcards and Hanelai Dolphin. We also enjoyed going to the St Regis on Sundays at 4 to listen to a great jazz group and take in the beautiful view from this hotel . The farmers market in Hanelai on Saturday mornings is a fun outing too, {We loved Sal's salsa] I can't say enough about this resort, I hope we get to bring the whole family back again soon!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinderteacher76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We chose Hanalei Bay Resort for its location on the northshore of Kauai. Not many condos are actually on the beach here as opposed to Maui. We chose HBR so we could walk to the beach. We chose it also for the views that our particular condo afforded and the price of the rental. The grounds were lush and green and well kept. Check in was quick and easy. The bellboys were always quick to respond and very friendly. Our particular condo required a bit of a walk on inclines which would prove difficult to some. We walked more often than not to our vehicle and the beach, but occasionally would call for a cart. We liked the fact that smoking was only allowed out the parking lot, but of course a few people chose to break this rule. The pool area was nice, but the water a bit cold. The BBQ provided (at a cost) at lunch most days was good and the people friendly. We wish the sundry shop and the poolside supply store had longer hours. Also, Internet access from our room would have been nice. All in all a great place to stay and visit the northshore of Kauai. Make sure and spend time in Hanalei shopping and eating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was the best family vacation we've ever had! Six days in a beautifully furnished 3 Br 3 Ba condo with spectacular views of Hanalei Bay and the many mountain waterfalls beyond. All 7 of us thoroughly enjoyed daily walks to the beach and on site pool with waterfalls and jacuzzi and returning to the confortably air conditioned fully supplied comforts of our temporary home. Great near-by markets and eateries in Princeville and Hanalei and easy access to breathtaking island helicopter tour. Very confortable beds for all and an unlimited supply of pool & beach towels. Snorkel gear and kayaks readily available at quite reasonable rates. On last day a double rainbow formed over the bay perfeclty framed by our lanai and plush resort grounds. Absolute paradise!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo and we would definitely stay here again. The view from the balcony was amazing. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean and offered many ammenities. The bathroom was spacious and updated beautifully. It was a bonus to have the vaulted ceiling and air conditioning. The condo exceeded our expectations. The resort could not be in a more beautiful area on Kauai. The pool was great and the grounds were so lush and tropical. It was very quiet and peaceful during our stay. The only disappointment is that the resort no longer has a restaurant on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Hanalei Bay Resort was beautiful. From the fabulous pool to the beautiful grounds to the amazing views to the excellent service, we could not have been more pleased!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_4_Kennedys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Hanalei Bay Resort is a beautiful place with lush gardens and a georgeous pool. Upon entering the open air lobby we were greeted by friendly staff. Through out our stay the staff was friendly. Beyond the lobby is a koi pond and waterfall that enthralled my daughter everytime we walked by. As you descend the steps past the pond, there is the most beautiful pool with waterfalls. The pool, for us, was the biggest draw. It varies from a one foot sandy pool to a large three to five foot deep swimming area. Very kid-friendly. Next to the pool is a mini-store with snacks, drinks, and snorkel rentals. There is also BBQ shack where you can order wraps and BBQ plates at a good price. The resort also has well kept tennis courts that we did not use. Lastly, The resort is walking distance from the beach. However, the walk could be strenuous for some. All up hill to get back to the resort. They do offer golf cart shuttle rides back up. I don't know about the cost of that if any. We chose to hike back up ourselves. In sum, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing