We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst of worst”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst of worst”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Recently atayed there and I can't get over how awful it was. The only thing the place has going for it..is its location. The rooms were dirty, the air conditioners ( wall ) were so filthy that I couldn't even turn it on for the fear of an allery attack! When you want to use the beach ( and who doesn't when you are in Hawaii) you have to rent a chair $3.00 a day and free towels ( but, gee they never have any!) The only people that were friendly there were the bartenders!

Helpful?
6 Thank eescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    411
    154
    99
    88
See reviews for
477
827
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Deigo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

After leaving the elegant resort of Hapuna Beach hotel on the big Island, nothing seemed to compare. My standards had changed and rightly so. If I am spending my hard earned money, I don't expect to stand around for 20 minutes in the rain to get a bell hop. Guest were waiting for more then a half an hour.
It seems their golf carts that take you to your room were "all" broken. So we had to wait around for two young locals to throw our luggage in a van and drive us down a hill to our room. These two guys were the only ones helping and they were in no hurry. You would think the hotel would hire a sufficient amount of help. Thank goodness this was only for one night.
If you are expecting a hotel room with nice amenities, housekeeping and room service, forget it. It was a older condo, with a kitchen. Which I guess is ok for a long stay, if your willing to carry your groceries up and down the hills, you can't drive to the front of your room. I have been to resorts on hills, and the hotels provide a shuttle service around the grounds, not here.
The one ant in the bed was just as good as a thousand, I could not sleep. There was no air conditioning in the bedroom, only the living room which was an old rusty monster.
The balcony had a beautiful view, if housekeeping swept up the bird food seeds, maybe it would not be covered in bird droppings. We could not sit outside for our morning coffee, since the birds kept walking around us looking for more food., the ants were busy with the old seeds. So I tried to look at the bright side, the view on Hanalei bay. The straw that broke my back was when I could not flush the toilet bowel. I had to stick my hand in the tank to get it to flush. After feeling so special at Hapuna, I lost it. was so fed up with all of this I called the managers office at 7:00 am and left a voice mail.
We packed up in 10 minutes and when my husband checked out there was a $50.00 credit. I guess management knows of the problems and don't care, since this is probably the most reasonable priced hotel in Princeville. My suggestions is stay somewhere else, then drive to Hanalei for the sunset.
The Princeville resort is so over the top, that it does nothing for this beautiful island and the true Hawaiian experience.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The ants, broken toilet, bird droppings on the balcony
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay someplace else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAgentMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

I have always loved Kauai but my recent stay in Unit 4222 at the Hanalei Bay Resort really proved to me what paradise should be like. The Bettencourt's condo is the epitome of good taste and sheer comfort. We had such a great time lounging on the Lanai morning and night (the sunsets were spectacular), and even a little rain didn't discourage us.

We were very comfortable in our home away from home. Joan's decorating taste is exquisite and the couches not only looked great but were very comfortable too. Felt like every part of the condo was beckoning to us to just relax and enjoy. While we only used the 1 bedroom condo, there is an adjoining "lock-off" (unit 4221) that serves as a 2nd bedroom or separate hotel room and the furnishings are just as comfortable in there. The kitchen is well appointed and has just about any gadget you could wish for, although we did enjoy the Bali Hai restaurant on occasion and just had to visit the Happy Talk lounge. Can't be expected to cook every night on vacation!

My stay was from September 2 - 9 and I have already booked for next year. Have to say that part of the experience was the wonderful contact with Joan (owner) over the months prior to our vacation, and the great visit before we left the island. Yes, they love to vacation in their little piece of paradise too!

Helpful?
4 Thank yovdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

Wonderful condo with plenty of space. The views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hi are really perfect. We saw a rainbow from the lanai on the 2nd morning we were there - what a sight. Would recommend this condo to friends and family in a snap!

  • Liked — The view & location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Hanalei Bay Resort was in a wonderful location. It was quite and peaceful, and the views were incredible. The condo we rented 7307 was extremely nice with every thing you could possibly need. Would definitely go back if given the chance.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — flies at pool are agressive.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lilcaptaingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

I stayed at this amazing resort with my family in July 2006 and was beyond amazed. We stayed in unit 7105/7106 which is owned by Joyce Craddock (888-729-6899) and will come back here when we return. The condo has amazing unobstructed ocean views from every room! The entire unit is very tastefully decorated and is so comfortable - flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo plus the wonderful gourmet kitchen. We have now found a place to come to as a family where everyone is happy. Our kids loved the big lawn area right in front of the condo so they could play and catch frogs, and my husband loved the fact that the BBQ's are just around the corner.

I really wanted a ground floor unit so my kids could just run out and play and I could watch them!

Simply paradise for our family - we will return soon!!

Debi - Belmont Shores

  • Liked — quality of the interior of the condo
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book through the owner for best vaulues
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank 90803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

This condo is beautifully furnished Hawaiian style. The location is perfect, very close to the walkway leading to the beach. The view from the lanai is captivating, and we were lucky enough to see a double rainbow our first day.
The resort is very relaxed and comfortable, and this condo is lovely!
Mahalo!

  • Liked — location, pool
  • Disliked — I would like more space next time, so would rent both sides of condo
  • Tips/Secrets — sunscreen
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing