We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures don't prepare you for the beauty of the resort”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Pictures don't prepare you for the beauty of the resort”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have rented a condo at HBR via VRBO twice. Plumeria 8232 (2 bedroom with kitchen/washer and dryer) and Palms 4106 (studio). We would highly recommend both (however somewhat reluctant to do so because we want them available for US on our next trip, ha!). I'll include photos from both lanais, but you can check out pictures and amenities for either place on the owner's websites on VRBO. All pictures are exactly as they seem, nice furniture and very clean. Comfortable beds and nice sheets. Both owners were extremely helpful with all questions that we had prior to our departure.

Resort fees of $15/day include beach towels and Wi-Fi. Nothing out of the ordinary these days. Both pools are beautifully landscaped, amidst stunning views of the coast. Ditto for tennis courts. Yogi's and meditators have beautiful spots overlooking the ocean to renew their spirits. Parking is free. Prime spots closer to the condos fill up fast, but once in while you may get lucky. The grounds are extensive and hilly, so golf-cart transportation is available if you would like to use it (highly advised for checking in and out, or after a run to Costco). If you rent a studio, there are laundry facilities on-site (one located right across from the front door of 4106.) There is a grill pavilion- 3 grills and a large counter with a sink and stove- located next to the lower pool. There are tables and chairs under the pavilion and surrounding the pool. Do as the time-share locals do... pick up a fillet from Hanalei Dolphin market (they will sell you a cup of olive oil for a few cents if your condo is not stocked, and they have THE BEST fish seasoning), grab some lettuce from Food Land (your fridge is probably already stocked with left over salad dressing), pick up a papaya off the ground from one of the many trees on the resort, and grill out. It will be your best meal of the entire trip. HBR will give you a discount key tag to Foodland in Princeville on your key for your condo. Sure, you will find $8 organic eggs there, but you will also find reasonable (for Kauai) options. If you didn't stock up in Kapaa or Costco, Foodland is still a practical option for groceries due to the convenience of the proximity to HBR.

If you are a runner, this is great location for spectacular runs through Princeville. The golf course trees on Ka Haku Road provide shade for the majority of the route on that road.

Photographers, there is a bird sanctuary in between the resort and the bay. This means there are tons of opportunities in the am to capture great shots of birds found only on the island. Plumeria and the 7000 end of Banana condos would offer you the best shots from your lanai. You can fill 10 photo albums with flower shots- every inch of the resort (horizontal and vertical- love the orchids grafted on the trees!) is beautifully landscaped with a large variety of tropical flora.

There is a steep paved path to Pu'u Poa beach, below the resort. Easily walkable (approx 5-10 min?) if you are in decent shape, or use the resort transportation. Beautiful walk/drive through a dense tropical jungle. Phone/bench located at the beach end of the path so that you may phone up for a ride when you are ready to leave. It's usually about a 5-10 minute wait. Bring bug spray if you go down to the beach for sunset and plan on using the golf-cart for your return- the bugs are out in full force at the bottom of that path once night falls.

The resort is under construction (restaurant and lobby fire years ago). Yes the construction seemingly has gone on forever. Because of this, there is not a restaurant on-site. Disappointing to see so many reviews griping about the noise and lack of restaurant. If you've done your research and you are aware of this fact, then please plan accordingly. A) There are other choices for a place to lay your head or B) Enjoy the grill, your kitchen, and the multitude of restaurants in the area. Enjoy all the island has to offer during the day, when construction is at it's peak. You can enjoy serenity at the pool or your lanai in the mornings and evenings.

The resort is a fantastic value in the heart of Kauai's beauty. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: First floor condos offer the advantage of no stairs. Second and third floor condos offer better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moments4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    410
    154
    99
    88
See reviews for
476
827
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I have stayed in Unit 4221 twice and would not hesitate to return. While this unit is a studio, it is a comfortable space for two people and very well equipped. We hope to return with friends next time and rent both 4221 and 4222. Many have very adequately described the beautiful grounds, the serenity and magnificent views at Hanalei Bay Resort. While it's all true (and this particular Unit indeed has amazing views), what makes HBR, and especially 4221/4222, so special to us is the Aloha spirit we have experienced there: The folks at the front desk, the wonderful drivers who cart us around and carry our suitcases & groceries upstairs; and, of course, Joan, who shares her island home in the true spirit of Aloha. This is a beautiful resort with a great staff. We feel at home here and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Go to Kauai Trip Advisor Forum and share your space needs and budget. Local experts are tremendously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jebett, Owner at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know what a special resort we have. Our staff works very hard at making sure every guest feels like they special and cared about. Many of our front desk staff have been working at the resort for over 15 years and they love to see the same faces come through the doors. We are proud of their commitment to helping everyone have a wonderful stay and if there are any problems they are happy to help. This attitude comes all the way from our General Manager, Scott Pacer, who will do everything possible to make sure our visitors are happy. I am glad we could provide that to you as well.
Mahalo and hurry back.
Joan
Owner of 4221-2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

No mere words can describe the beauty and serenity of suite 4221 at Hanalei Bay Resort! The unit overlooks the stunning Hanalei Bay and the Namolokama Mountains filled with waterfalls.

Spectacular views are had from any area of the suite, Bali Hai can be seen from the comfortable four poster king bed. The unit is beautifully decorated with lovely furniture and Hawaiian art.

Suite 4221 is located in a very private area of the resort. As you sit on the slate covered lanai you feel you are the only people staying at the resort. The small kitchenette was perfect for the two of us.

The resort grounds are filled with tropical plants and orchids, beautiful exotic birds are everywhere, and their songs fill the air. The pools have the feel of being in a tropical wonderland filled with water falls.

Princeville is convenient for activities throughout Kauai. We went on a Zodiac trip down the Na Pali coast with Holo Holo, went to a luau in Haena, visited Po'ipu, hiked in Waimea Canyon, and the Kalalau Trail. We were only there 8 days and sure did not want to leave!

The best part of our stay was the hospitality of Joan, the owner! How wonderful she is to work with. A bottle of wine, fresh fruit, and snacks were waiting for us when we arrived. She invited us over to see her in unit 4222, and WOW, it is spectacular! On out next visit we hope to rent both units and bring friends. How can we ever thank her enough for such a wonderful anniversary!!

Room Tip: All units are beautiful, but few have such a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jebett, Owner at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
What a nice thing to wake up to this morning, but a review from my guests. I can't express how pleased I am you loved HBR 4221, the views of the bay and waterfalls, but most of all the aloha spirit we who own at Hanalei Bay Resort want to express to all our guests. It is visitors like you who add to the aloha of the island. I hope you will be able to return soon and I look forward to you bringing your friends and showing them the beauty of Kauai and Hanalei Bay Resort.
Mahalo,
Joan
owner HBR 4221
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was sorry to see the poor review given Hanalei Bay Resort last week. I have been a timeshare owner at the resort since 1997 and I have to say that the resort looks beautiful (the best it has looked in years) and the staff continues to be wonderful and helpful. What most people that are visiting don't understand is that 2/3 of the units are timeshare units and 1/3 are wholly owned and are rented out by their owners. You can also rent timeshare units that are unused. Yes, the timeshare units are undergoing significant renovations and major improvements at this time (90% are complete), but are anticipated to be completed by late fall. The front desk and restaurants are also undergoing renovations. If you choose to rent an owned unit, it is prudent to check out reviews of that particular unit. Management has limited control of the owned units and how they are maintained. I have a feeling that this was the case in the previous review. It is always prudent to do due diligence on rentals. (you can see this from the wonderful reviews of other specific units). The views from Hanalei Bay Resort are incredible and the staff does all it can to convey the Aloha spirit. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our bedroom had an awful smell the whole time we were there. I think it smelled like mold but my husband described it as cat urine or a dirty locker room. We complained several days in a row until we were finally provided with a dehumidifier. The bucket had to be dumped three times between the days of Wednesday and Sunday. The dehumidifier had to run day and night and it was very loud and kept us awake. The staff kept telling us that the unit we were in was just remodeled. This is very hard to believe due to the horrible smell. I am a caseworker and the smell in this room is what I refer to as a dirty house smell. The parking was not adequate due to the construction and we had to park far from our unit. The area where the resort is located is beautiful but this resort should be torn down. In order to get to the ocean you had to walk down a steep hill or wait for the resort to send someone in a golf cart. When you try to walk up or down this hill in the evening it is very dark. There are no lights and it is dangerous. When it was time to check out we were told we owned money for staying in the resort each day plus a Hawaiian tax. Due to our complaints the fee was waived but we did have to pay the tax. This so called resort was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Aloha,
I am very concerned about your recent stay at the resort. The unit was a remodeled unit that had just been completed, so we have placed ionizers in those units to try and eliminate any odors from the renovations. Our beach path does have a phone to call the bellman to pick up guests , and shuttle the guests at night from the beach. The resort is working hard to try and address your concerns, and mahalo for the feedback.

mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a magnificent place in the middle of paradise! The gardens are so beautiful and they attract a huge range of birds. Of course there are always the hens and roosters coming to visit and we were lucky enough to see all the new babies. The spa and pool make you feel like you are in the jungle. Such a relaxing place. But there is also lots to do. Several tennis courts as well as easy access to the beach with the option of being picked up by a cart to climb the hill if you have worn yourself out swimming, surfing, canoeing, etc. etc. Your choice.

The rooms are comfortable and currently undergoing renovation. It will be even better when completed. The design for the new entry area and restaurant is spectacular. Views in every direction. What an outstanding place to spend a week or two.

Room Tip: There are rooms with wonderful views over the bay, but we enjoyed our garden room close to the main...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green resort. Easy to recycle and no perfumed products for those to cannot tolerate them.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived at the HBR under misty skies, which made our first sight of the Bay and surrounding mountains look like a magical scene out of a fairy tale. The views were even more astonishing when the skies cleared.
HBR has everything you could want to spend quite a while here.We were only here a few nights but all agreed we would have liked to spend the week in this setting.....
The unit we stayed in was huge and very well kept. Service was excellent. Ryan was so helpful with his golf cart when ever we need a lift to the beach, or even just the pool.
The beach is the same one used by the Princeville Resort. It's very lovely.
The entire resort was beautifully kept. It is a very fine place to stay on the North Shore.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on a high floor facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyblue528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing