We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanalei Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$384
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$630
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai(Princeville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,895)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveler rating
1,096
434
164
106
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
434
164
106
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf carthappy talk loungetennis courtshanalei baybali hai restaurantnorth shorebeach pathprivately owned unitaloha condoshot tubthe kitchenswim up barunder constructionthrough vrbofire pitbeautiful groundscondo unit
Filter
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We enjoyed our first visit as owners. The views are very beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. The rooms are in the process of being renovated and we were in a newly renovated one which was very nice! We did have an issue with the room which caused us to move to another renovated unit on the third day and although it was a hassle to move we give credit to Jim, the manager for understanding and offering compensation for our few days of troubles. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub area and the beach has great snorkeling and a backdrop that makes you just want to sit on the beach and gaze. There is a hill to the beach but they have a golf cart that will bring you to and from it. We are happy with our purchase and look forward to the restaurant and lounge being completed next year when we have our children along to experience the beauty of North Kauai!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWMF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

HBR is an exceptional resort because it is located in paradise. The resort itself is very nice and is in the process of being significantly upgraded but the really fabulous part of the this place is where it is located in the middle to Kauai's north shore with a fabulous view of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hi. The staff are helpful and committed and all have long term relationships with the resort. We highly recommend this resort to anyone who loves the outdoors, a true tropical environment and a relaxing stay. You cannot find a better place in the Hawaiian islands.

Room Tip: All the room are great but the ones with a view of Hanalei Bay are extra special....
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JVFKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a studio room recently. It was nicely maintained and we had a wonderful view from the balcony. The resort is very close to the St Regis and is a short walk to the beach. It is an exceptional value for the North Shore. This is our second trip to Kauai and we wanted to stay on the North Shore. After much research on hotels/condos, this was a great find. The sunsets are beautiful. Will defintely

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Mid March we spent a week in one of the two-bedroom timeshare units at Hanalei Bay Resort. We have been coming to the resort every other year since 2003. The recovery of the resort from previous years of mismanagement has been outstanding!
The grounds are beautiful and the views fantastic- most better than those of the very expensive St. Regis.
Our unit was one of the few that has not yet had the kitchen and bath remodeled. Yet all the furniture was new, new flat screen TVs, new kitchen counter appliances, all carpets are less than 3 years old. Free basic WiFi. When the remodeling is complete (fall 2014) all units will have new granite counter tops and all new major appliances. In the meantime, one can ask for placement in one of the remodeled units (about 2/3rds are done).
We had no issues with cockroaches! Some small ants which were quickly controlled by ant bait located under the kitchen sink. This is the tropics!
Resort staff is excellent. Always pleasant and anxious to provide good service.
Things to be aware of:
o Reconstruction of the burned out main lobby/restaurant building not yet finished- estimated completion is late August 2014. So no restaurant on site until then (good eating options in nearby Princeville and Hanalei). There is also construction from unit remodeling and redoing roof shingles on some buildings. The reservation staff has a construction schedule and can indicate which buildings may have construction noise.
o Housekeeping is routinely available once a week with a minimum 3-day stay. More frequent housekeeping is available upon request (extra cost).
o This is not a high-rise (and price) condo resort pampering to inactive guests! Buildings are no higher than 3 stories (no elevators) and spaced to optimize views on the hillside overlooking Hanalei Bay. Be prepared for the possibility of what some may consider long walks between the parking area and your building (but through the beautiful grounds with great views). Golf-cart shuttles are available (no cost) and promptly respond. Again, contact the reservations desk if you are concerned about the distance from parking to your unit.
o Beach access (beautiful views of "Bali Hai") are shared with the St. Regis Resort at the base of the hill. A steep and scenic walk but shuttles are available both ways.
o Two types of units are available: timeshares and private condos (rented through a property management company or by owners through VRBO). Decor of the private units is variable. Timeshare units are centrally managed with consistent facilities.
o Expect rain on Kauai, especially on the North shore. Temperatures in the low 80s year-round. Light raincoats or umbrellas are sufficient. Longer-duration and heavier rains, but generally not day long, are typical in winter months. Lighter showers (liquid sunshine) in summer. Usually if it is raining on one side of Kauai, it will be sunny somewhere else.
If one wants to experience the best low-stress 'aloha' feeling of the Garden Isle, with the current resort management we again feel that this is THE PLACE to stay on the northshore of Kauai!
Aloha!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

HBR is a large resort with great views depending on the unit. The one bedrooms and studios are close to the parking but do not have the best views. The two bedrooms are farther down the hill and most have nice views of the bay. We are owners at Alii Kai II resort which is about a mile away from HBR. Alii Kai has nice views but not of Hanalie Bay. It is a much smaller low density resort. Currently both are undergoing rennovations, which is why we stayed at HBR. The upgrades to Alii Kai put the upgrades at HBR to shame. Absolute top of the line everything vs rather mundane updates at HBR. My problem with HBR is it is too large. I like the lower density non-resort type feel of Alii Kai to that of HBR. But thast is personal. HBR is a nice resort if you like a larger resort with lots of people, nice grounds and views. My biggest problem with HBR is that we got nickled and dimed to death. $12 a day reort fee. What is that? $4 a day to rent a cooler. They are provided in every unit at Alii Kai. Lost key $15. It can't cost $3 to get one made. If you are down the hill you need to call and get a golf cart to take you to the parking lot or the beach, especially if you have any difficulty walking. My wife had just had ankle surgery so we had to take a cart everytime we went anywhere. It is not required but we felt we had to tip the drivers a couple dollars each time. Our charges for two weeks (not including driver tips) were over $300. At Alii Kai it is $32 a week. Thats it. While I truely enjoyed the views I do not plan on coming back to HBR, and look forward to Alii Kai in November with the totally redesigned and rennovated rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews