We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For you consideration”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
So CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For you consideration”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The bad reviews could only come from people who book HBR as Hotel or Timeshare offering. You will most likely be put in the older part of the hotel that may not be upgraded and those rooms are sometimes very dreary. You have no choice in which room you will staying in with a Hotel booking, and sometimes a random placement with timeshare.

Please do yourself a BIG favor and rent the condos to insure you have the very best rooms and experience there. Google: Aloha Condo, Perrish Collection, Summit Pacific. Each site gives a selection of condos at Hanalei Bat Resort with photos and detailed information on each unit, all pricing information and you will get that unit and it will be well maintained and will have everything you will need. The prices are very good and offer many types of units from studios to 3 bedroom condos. It is a mush better deal for longer stays because there is a cleaning fee
added.

You will notice that almost all the great reviews come from people staying in the condos. Trust that. I have been coming there since the 1980's because it is so wonderful. It has old growth gardens, beautiful pools , breathtaking views and ideally located.

Let HBR be your base camp for exploring this wonderful island. There are no luxury amenities and hotel services and if that is your thing there are plenty of those Hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Book a specific condo to fit your needs and see what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    413
    154
    102
    90
See reviews for
492
838
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at HBR in 1997 and chose it again to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The grounds are as beautiful as before and of course the views are spectacular. We rented unit 4105 in the Palms building from the owners. It is a recently remodeled 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, large living room and separate bedroom. The living room and bedroom each have a lanai with great mountain and bay views. The unit was clean and fresh and the AC worked fine. The owners also have the units on either side so one could rent all 3 for a 3 bedroom suite. The unit is located right at the start of the path to the beach. The pools are beautiful and a short walk away. Our favorite was the spa at sunset. This property is close to the Princeville Center, golf courses and many beaches. The property is not a hotel but condo units. You will need a car to visit other parts of the island and to get supplies. During our stay, the restaurant and bar reconstruction had not yet been completed. When they do open, they will top off a heavenly place.

Room Tip: Some of the units are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. We prefer the ground floor units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were in one of the remodeled rooms on the ground floor and enjoyed our restful two weeks. When the remodeling is complete and restaurant and bar reopen, this will be best value on the island. The view of Hanalei Bay is stunning. The grounds are beautiful and the overall ambiance is fantastic. The staff is very helpful. The pool is very nice and it is a short ride to the beach.
This is not the big hotel experience or the usual condo experience of large buildings, but many separate buildings spaced out over a large property. Princeville in winter can have showers, but the waterfalls and rainbows are spectacular.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. However, the stair climb needs to be considered.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kauai is an island and does hope that visitors recycle. The resort has recently installed a large solar system of several roofs as Kauai relies on oil for electrical generation.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjtak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were put in a room on the ground floor that was very moldy. I am extremely sensitive to mold and we asked if we could move. They accommodated us the next day when there was availability. The second room was 1526 with a view of the mountains and valley. No mold and life was good. We had bird visitors every day and a chicken actually tried to get on our lanai. Beauty everywhere ! The walk to the beach which is shared by the St Regis was awesome. You could call for a golf cart to pick you up if you did not want to navigate the steep uphill
return. Everyone was very helpful at the front desk. You can get better deals in the villages to the south for whale watching and zip lining than the prices with the concierge. Try that first. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joepatromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We bought a timeshare here in 2001 and went back in 2013. It is as beautiful as I remember. The landscaping around the resort is incredible. The naturalized pool and hot tub are surrounded by waterfalls and well-cared for tropical vegetation. The beach is a short walk and the view over the water and mountains is spectacular. The resort is well cared for, the rooms very comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will go back soon. The restaurant and bar will be newly remodeled in the spring of 2014 and will have a spectacular view out over the ocean and sunset.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the west side of the resort for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidlBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Had a nice stay at this hotel this summer. It was under construction but everything ran smoothly for us the only thing missing was a restaurant but that will be solved soon. The rooms were big and all the necessary items present to enjoy the kitchen suites. I would stay here again as the price to amenities were about right. Oh and if you dislike walking then you would not want to stay here as it.s pretty spread out with several large elevation changes.

Room Tip: Rooms are available on three floors with stairs being the most convenient way up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceCisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny california
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed one week in a 2 bedroom unit. We booked using RCI and RCI has the resort rated as a GOLD CROWN resort, but it truly is not. All the photos on the RCI website did not match the room that we were given. The location and views were great,but our room was a huge disappointment. After reading other reviews, it seems like it is really a hit or miss experience,determined by your room assignment. We were not so lucky. Our room was not an upgraded one, but one that had the original bathrooms and kitchen from the 70's. It was a dark and smelly room. The a/c unit was all black and rusty, so we were a little concern about the air quality if we wanted to use it. The furniture had been updated and that was nice. The kitchen was supplied well enough that we were able to cook most of our meals.

The beach is great. The walk to the beach is about a 5 - 10 min walk downhill on the way to the beach and uphill on the way back to the resort. We didn't use the pool or the tennis courts, but still had to pay the resort's daily fee, We did pay to rent some beach chairs.

The location is perfect. Easy access to all the beautiful places of the north shore. It is pretty quiet. The roosters woke us up every morning around 4;30 am. I guess ear plugs might help solve this problem.

We did try to request an upgraded unit, but we were told there were no other rooms available. So, what can you do? I hope that some day all the rooms will be updated and then we will return. There did seem to be lots of construction going on around us.

Room Tip: Beg for a room that has recently been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha Guests, Mahalo for choosing Hanalei Bay Resort. We’re delighted to have you as our guests! Lush, relaxing, and as comfortable as your own home, our Princeville accommodations offer all the perks of a vacation rental along with award-winning service from our friendly staff. Located on Kauai’s North Shore, Hanalei Bay Resort captures the island’s beauty inside and out. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at booking. Please note repairs to a select group of lanais will be taking place January 5, 2018 through April 27, 2018. You may notice a minimal amount of noise between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest Regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing