We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“lovely, lovely, lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely, lovely, lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we very much enjoyed our stay at HBR (unit 3105/6). Specific unit was very comfortable, handy to the car park but not suffering from noise, close to pool, FABULOUS views. Resort did not feel crowded, & staff very friendly. Would return to this resort in a heartbeat. Our unit had full kitchen, so absence of onsite eats not an issue. 2 year old loved the pool, rides back from the beach in the golf-cart, chickens & nene at the back door. Foodland Makai card with the key a nice touch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    373
    134
    94
    84
See reviews for
418
719
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a top floor room in the 3300s. Can't remember the number but it was lovely. Had two adjoining rooms, two bathrooms for two of us. Lovely big bed, little kitchen and living room. Balcony had sea views where we could watch the sun set. The resort is large and everywhere is walkable but they have a free golf cart service which can take you anywhere! We were right next to one of the pools which was beautiful. There was a bit of building work going on but it didn't bother us. I'm sure once it is finished it will be every better!

The beach was lovely. If you walk along you can get a the pier which is beautiful. Maybe don't take valuables as they may get wet! I loved the area. Everything happens within a few miles. Just up the road is the zip wiring which I highly recommend! Also go surfing if you can!

The service in the resort is great. You can get clean towels whenever you want and the reception can give you lots of information about the area.

Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 9/02 - 9/09 in 2311/2 nice little condo with a pretty good view. Probably the most convenient location on the property, right next to the pool, the parking lot, the beach path, the tennis courts, and close to the "lobby". The pool is lovely with the jacuzzi, and throw in the Monday afternoon Mai Tai party. Grounds are lovely and lush. Views are fabulous most everywhere you turn. Sunsets from Pu'u Poa Beach down the path by the St Regis are five star like the neighboring hotel.

The condo itself while not fancy, was clean, had all the things one would expect to find save maybe a cookie sheet or something to put a pizza on. The wall bed is comfy or so I was told... I got the king bed which was great. The wall bed does leave a too small TV next to it though. I wasn't ready to leave the north shore after a full week here, out of our two week visit to the island. There is quite a lot of competition for where to stay, but I'd seriously consider another stay here. Especially once they FINALLY get done with all the construction, since not having a restaurant or lounge or proper lobby, etc. leaves one wanting... condos are being redone as well... even saw new appliances being delivered to one. Potential is there and I hope to find what I'm looking for next trip in a couple years.

Room Tip: Get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hanalei Bay resort is a beautiful Hawaiiana resort overlooking "BALI HAI" and Hanalei Bay - one of the most beautiful views in the world - it is full of heart , soul, wonderful people who work here and absolutely beautiful landscaping - we return here every year and consider it a second home - it has weathered some serious downturns and is well on the road to former glory - once the Bali Hai restaurant and Happy Talk Lounge are completed and re-opened, life will be so fine again - one caveat - an automobile or other transportation is needed on the North Shore.

Green Features: New solar installation, ongoing green efforts, orchid program, recycling efforts
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here on our honeymoon. The condo is a little older but was nice. The pool is great. It is a hike down to the beach but there are golf carts that will take you down and back. The beach was very nice and I really enjoyed my shade tree on the beach. About the only drawback was they had had a fire and the on site restaurant and sundries shop had burned so you had to go off site for all meals but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in 7201 which is a great little room for a couple wanting to explore kauai and in particular the north shore. Perfect location, walk down to hanalei bay and if you can't be bothered taking the stroll the golf buggy will pick you up and drop you off! We may have been lucky with weather but we're able to snorkel, swim and fish right at the foot of the resort.
Resort staff all friendly and helpful and treated just the same as those who book direct with the resort. This room has an amazing view out to the bay as well as over the property grounds and out to the mountains.
We explored Kauai high and low and everything was super easy and accessible as long as you have a hire car. The only food choices within easy walking distance is the st regis (beautiful but pricey). The little kitchenette is workable for small easy meals as long as you are careful as the area is carpeted and the only sink is in the bathroom.
Would definitely recommend the location and the room in particular.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: The whole resort switched to being solar powered while we were there!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MianaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to have stayed at HBR five or six time over the years. My last stay was in early August 2013. There are so many good things that have already been said about HBR and I believe them all to be true. It is really unfortunate that the bar and restaurant have been under repair for the last several years. The word is that it will be done this year (but your to remember that people there are operating on island time (which moves more slowly than everywhere else). The view from the Happy Talk Lounge is one of my favorites anywhere.

If you have never been to HBR and are considering going, then I offer the following:

The staff is great and will offer you lots of help if you need it.

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept up.

The farther in advance you can plan ahead, the better room location you can get. Lots of people staying here have time-shares and book well in advance.

There is one great lagoon/resort pool with waterfalls and a hot tub. There is also a smaller circular pool. Check out the pictures on the HBR website.

The hotel is not beachfront, but has easy access to the beach. You have to walk down a somewhat steep hill. I enjoy the walk, but you can call the front desk anytime and they will send someone in a golf cart to take you down to the beach. There is also a phone at the bottom of the hill where you can call and have someone pick you up.

It will be great when the bar and restaurant re-open. Until then consider getting a unit with a kitchen. Being able to make breakfast and have beverages in you unit makes this place all the more relaxing. The St. Regis, a world class hotel, is located adjacent to the property and can be easily accessed from the same path that takes you to the beach. You can have pool side dining or high end dining at the St. Regis. It's worth checking out, even if you don't eat.

It is also an easy drive from HBR into Hanalei where there are great beaches, fun restaurants and shopping. HBR is also close to the Queen's Baths, a popular tourist attraction. The nice thing about HBR is that they do not charge for parking. You can come and go as many times as you want. But you will want to stay put.

Right in Princeville there is a grocery store, Foodland, that is less than a five minute drive from HBR and can accommodate all of your grocery needs. I recommend that you register for their Makai card and you will save a lot of money. If you are traveling with a family, I also recommend that you stop at Costco in Lihue, after you pick up your rental car to buy bulk items and save more money that way.

If you have never been to Kauai before, then you should know that the north side of the island where Princeville and Hanalei are located is the more rural side compared to Lihue and Poipu. The north side get more rain so it is generally greener and more lush. There are few strip malls and very few national chain establishments. It definitely has a more local feel.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the Banana building have the best view. In general, the ground floor units a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing