We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views, Outstanding service”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, Outstanding service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

There could hardly be more beautiful views anywhere. The landscaping is also breathtaking. The staff are attentive and personable. The resort is under major renovation, so expect a few minor inconveniences. The staff works hard to minimize them. By next year, this should a a top of the line resort. It is probably our favorite place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01dFo1ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Aloha 01FdFo1ks,
We're so glad to hear how wonderful your recent stay was here at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed the views and that our staff was able to assist you during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back once all of the renovations are set in place!
Mahalo for the comments,
HBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    409
    152
    99
    88
See reviews for
469
817
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights at HBR 5202 and we truly loved our stay. The views from the lanai were priceless and the condo was exactly as advertised. The condo was very spacious and all of the amenities were exactly as described. While reading other reviews about HBR, we were a little concerned about the distance from some of the condos to the parking lot. HBR 5202 was a very short walk to the parking lot and we rarely used the golf cart service during our stay. Having the air conditioning was very nice, especially during the hot summer months. When we return to Kauai, we will rent this unit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is our second stay at the Hanalei Resort in Princeville, Kauai. Our first time was a timeshare exchange and this time we rented from a local rental agency who represents the owner. This is a unique resort because half the units are timeshares and half are owner owned, however the resort itself is managed now by Grand Pacific Resort Management.
We have developed a love hate relationship with this resort and hope in the future it will be all love. The location, views and grounds are 5 star and the staff is very friendly. There is a unique paved walking path down to a small safe beach that is shared with the St Regis Hotel. The ocean is not accessible from almost all the other hotels and timeshares. The main pool is clean and huge in comparison to most on Hi. The rooms provide good privacy for two couples in the two bedroom two bath arrangement.
Unfortunately, this is a 3 star resort. Four of the eight tennis courts are cracked and almost unplayable although I was told the bad courts are going to be replaced. The pool surface has a form of pebbletec that is so course we had to wear ocean shoes for comfort. There is one passenger cart and one harried driver to take guests to and from the beach as well as to do all luggage transport for arrivals and departures. You wait a long time fort, if it comes at all. There is no service around the pool and no restaurant.
All the barbecues I used were in need of some serious repair and the laundry rooms had a number of non functioning washers. This resort is in need of remodeling and additional staff.
The timeshare rooms are much improved by a recent refurbishment but the owner rooms vary considerably, with some being 5 star and some in dire need of refurbishment. Our unit had a faulty shower, inadequate kitchen pans and utensils and a clothes dryer that had a 2 inch diameter rusted hole with knife sharp edges that would tear up clothes. The rental company claimed they were not aware the unit had problems.
In spite of it’s shortcomings I would come here again. The nearby beaches are the best on the island, the golf is world class but expensive and there is a great supermarket and a fine public library in the area. If walking the beach, cooking in the condo, swimming, hiking, reading and relaxing are your cup of tea, this is “Paradise”.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for the views. Rooms that face the bay directly get a lot of ahternno sun and rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizonatravelers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Although the place is smaller than a regular hotel room, like on the mainland, it is filled with everything you'll need. Large screen TV and King sized bed and don't forget the fantastic view. We'd stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If I were to base this review solely on the view and spectacular sunsets, it would be 5 stars without question. Each of the three nights we stayed at HBR had a sunset more beautiful than the last. Each of them were viewed from our huge lanai, which had seating aplenty. Our condo (which we booked through Aloha Condos) was very spacious, with comfortable furnishings and bedding. The rooms were quiet and dark, which certainly helped us sleep well. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could need for meal preparation, but the appliances were definitely dated. The carpeting was very thin. The ceiling, ceiling fans and lanai all need a thorough dusting/sweeping.

The beach was lovely and about a 10 minute walk from our building. The beach path is steep and paved, and slippery in spots near the bottom. You can call for a ride to go back up the path when you're done at the beach, but beware of blood-thirsty mosquitoes waiting to feast upon you while you wait for the golf cart. We preferred to walk back up to burn off the extra vacation food and drinks we were consuming, and keep our blood in our bodies where we like it. Sorry, mosquitoes.

We enjoyed a few games of tennis on property. Our condo had racquets and balls (as well as beach toys and an umbrella) for us to borrow. The rain that showered us during our games actually felt quite refreshing.

The resort grounds were landscaped nicely with a variety of colorful plants. The walking paths between the buildings and to/from the parking lot were not so much far as they were steep, which made the distances seem much further than they were.

The employees we encountered at check-in/check-out were friendly enough, as were the golf cart guys who helped with our luggage.

We knew the restaurant and front lobby were under construction so we weren't surprised about that, but we were very disappointed to find the main pool murky and green, but still open for swimming. Gross. We didn't come to Kauai to swim in a pool, but sometimes we like to unwind in a clean pool in the evenings. The small pool was open and clean during our stay.

Overall, we found this resort to be in a great location and a good value. What it was lacking for us was any WOW factor (with the exception of the Hanalei sunsets). There was nothing that stood out as exceptional. I do think when the pool is fixed and the construction work complete, the appeal of HBR will increase.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klauswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My overall stay at the Hanalei Bay Resort was really nice. A couple of notes:

Location - this is one if the best locations of any resort / condo I've stayed at.

Rooms - our first room had a leak in the roof and we had to be moved to a different room. The second room was nicer. Since we booked the first room through Priceline (the second was through vrbo), I'm guessing there is a section of rooms reserved for Priceline customers.

Amenities - the pool area was great and very uncrowded. Very beautiful indeed. However, the murkiness of the pool was a little unsettling. The construction noise was a bit too loud at times - although I understood it had to be done.

Parking - one of the few places in Hawaii I've been to that had ample parking.

Staff - they staff were awesome and genuinely friendly. They were the best part of the resort.

Would I come back? Yes, if the construction was complete, and I knew the room I was getting beforehand. Great, great place for a first trip to Kauai. They truly have one of the best locations in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank padden_dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We rented #2309 (Bougainvillea Building). Hanalei Bay resort is really nice and will be great once renovations completed. During our stay - July 19 to 26, there was a lot of construction work so it was noisy during the day. We were told the upper pool was murky due to some pool repair work but was safe to swim. It was acceptable and we enjoyed spending time here but I would have liked to see more umbrellas and shade around the pool.
The Hanalei Bay staff were extremely helpful and all smiles. Easy booking in and out. Great golf cart service around the resort and to the lovely beach area.
Our condo was privately owned so keep in mind that these condos don't get quite the amount of service as the Hanalei Bay owned condos even though you still pay the $12/day resort fee. For example, if you stay more than 4 days, Hanalei bay condos get a free clean and fresh towels. Not so for #2309 even though we stayed a week.
We had the studio condo with loft bedroom which has a magnificent view of the pool and mountains. The loft bedroom can get hot but we sorted it out with the fans and downstairs AC. The furniture was very comfortable and the inside was clean and updated with flat screen TV's. The kitchen is very small and the fridge is tiny. Don't do your grocery shopping before you see the fridge!
Bougainvillea Building is convenient for pool and car park but can get a bit busy and noisy at times.
The highlight of our stay was yoga offered by Joy Funk Wright in the Hanalei Bay grounds facing the ocean or on the beach. I would recommend this to anyone including beginners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbridgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing