We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay at beautiful Hanalei Bay Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable stay at beautiful Hanalei Bay Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved Hanelei Bay Resort. The location is perfect with stunning views of the mountains and beaches. The staff were exceptional and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, I especially enjoyed the hot tub and the hot coffee in the morning was a nice touch. Kauai is certainly one of the most beautiful islands in the world and our stay at Haneli Bay one we will never forget. Five nights was not nearly enough time, I would recommend at least 10 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha,
So glad you had a great stay at the resort, and you are correct, a longer stay at the resort is the way to go. The Hot tub with the heated waterfall and sand bottom are a big amenity for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you next time, only longer this time.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    373
    134
    94
    84
See reviews for
418
718
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susanville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Hanalei Bay Resort 13 years ago. Loved it then, love it now. We are happy to see they are doing some remodeling. The grounds are gorgeous, the views are spectacular. We enjoyed the natural look of the pool area and there were always chairs and lounges available. The hike down to the beach is steep but Hanalei Bay is truly paradise and the well-protected reef offers decent snorkeling. Then resort provides rides up and down the beach for those who don't want to hike it. Can't wait to return when the restaurant is completed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha Kristin V,
We're so glad you could welcome you back to Hanalei Bay Resort after your last visit 13 years ago. We are renovating the resort in hopes that it should be finished momentarily. We're glad you were able to relax for a week in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back one all renovations are complete. See you then!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros:
*Beautiful view of garden/flowers, green hills with white clouds hanging, like a picture!
*Big room/patio. Washer/dryer is convenient.

Cons:
*Saw a 2" long cockroach in the kitchen crawling on paper towel, scarry!
*Room service every 4 days. With cocoroach problem, we took trash out every night to the street per front desk's instruction.
*Check out time is 10 am, too early if you go snorkeling and need a shower etc.
*Parking lot is very far from the unit. We had to drag all the luggage uphill several times. The golf carts are too busy to come by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha bobolee55,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're glad you enjoyed the view from your room and relaxing on the patio. However, we understand there were some concerns during your stay as well. We greatly apologize for any unwelcomed guests you may have seen in your kitchen. We'll be sure to do a full sweep of the room. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future for an even better stay!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hanalei Bay Resort is wonderful. We stayed in unit 3106. Close to the parking lot, close to the pool, totally amazing view!! All this yet very private. Very comfortable bed. The owner was great to work with too. This was my first time in Kauai. We also spent some time on the south shore. Love the north way better, but we did have perfect weather, no real rain to speak of. Easy walk down to a great beach & they bring you back up the hill if you want. Only negative is the restaurant not being open because of a fire. Other then that I totally recommend the HBR & unit 3106.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha,
Unit 3106 is a great unit, and very close to just about everything you would need for a good vacation. We hope to have the restaurant and bar completed sometime in early 2014 , and look forward to your return trip back to our little slice of paradise.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have been coming here to Hanalei Bay Resort for 15 years. Alot has changed over the years, but I have to say, the resort is at its best. The view is INCREDIBLE! Room renovations are proceeding extremely well, and we are staying in a renovated room right now, and it is wonderful. The restaurant and bar should be completed this fall and the plans look great. But, the best part of HBR is the feeling of "Ohana". The entire staff from the top down is GREAT! Everyone can't do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. WE LOVE HANALEI BAY RESORT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for noticing all the great changes happening at the resort. The boards and the staff have worked very hard to bring the resort back to the level of excellence of the past, and look forward to exceeding expectations for all of our guests. We hope now, you feel you are part of our Ohana as well, and look forward to seeing you again.
mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a nice relaxing time at the HBR. Our room was nice, the grounds were gorgeous and the view from our room was stunning. I would recommend the Hanalei Bay Resort to anyone who asked. I did have an issue though. There were rodent droppings outside of our door when we arrived. That creeped me out but after calling the front desk someone came and cleaned it off. We didn't see any other sign of droppings after that.

The pool and all of the surrounding grounds are what drew me in to the HBR in the first place. And having the option of a cart to pick you up when needed was an added plus.

Overall experience was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha,
We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing time at the resort, and that any issues were taken care of right away. Our staff does a great job of showing the true spirit of Aloha , and we truly look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
268 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location: On the North Shore. Has a shared beach with St. Regis. The beach is in a bay with beautiful lush mountains in the background. It's near the Princeville Golf course. 30 minute drive to Tunnels Beach, 30 minutes to Ke'e beach, 60 minutes to Lihue airport, 10 minutes to Food land supermarket.

Hotel: Resort style. Everything is spread out, so expect to do some walking from your car to your room or be prepared to wait for a golf cart to pick you up. Small hill down to the beach. Nice flowers and shrubbery. Plenty of wild chickens. No hotel restaurant but you have a kitchen.

Rooms: Probably dependent on the condo owner. Our room was from the 1970s. Furnishings were falling apart. Bathroom was small, dingy. Kitchen had cockroaches when we first came in. The mountain views were beautiful. Lanai with lounge chairs. Full kitchen. Dated appliances. Washer and dryer. Bed linens smelled of sweat before we used them. Large rooms.

Service: They clean the rooms every 4 days. Since there are roaches, the reception told us to put our trash bags out on the streets every night. Sometimes the golf cart doesn't come to pick you up even if you've called. $10/day + tax Internet fee. $13/day + tax resort fee. 10am check out time is early.

Overall: Based on my experience and the other reviews, the accommodations are too inconsistent. Staying here is a gamble. Why risk ruining your vacation?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing