We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanalei Bay Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$730
$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$489
$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$697
$544
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveler rating
1,089
430
163
105
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
430
163
105
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf carthappy talk loungetennis courtshanalei baybali hai restaurantnorth shorebeach pathprivately owned unitaloha condoshot tubthe kitchenswim up barunder constructionthrough vrbofire pitbeautiful groundscondo unit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,053 - 1,058 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nites in Feb, 2013. Unfortunately, the "studio" unit assigned us was very shabby and poorly equipped.Doubt the owner did any renovating since originally built. The floor had actually sunk an inch or two below the lanai sliders. The furnishings looked like they came from a yard sale...tired, and cheap...., no chair, no writing surface, etc. the "kitchen" equipment consisted of a small old fridge on the floor and a few utensils...no microwave , stove top, or toaster so had to go out for breakfast. Request for a microwave and/ or toaster was ignored. Our room was not serviced during our stay. Our friends had a nice unit, so its luck of the draw...on plus side grounds, pool, beach are all nice though, so if you go, just be careful which unit you get and read the fine print describing kitchen equipment if that's important to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandeleie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aloha aandeleie,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your studio and the accommodations. However, we're glad you enjoyed the beach and pool. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to learn what our guests are looking for at our resort. We hope we can welcome you back in the future for a much more successful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the very modest or sparsely appointed accommodation to a luxurious 5-star hotel, it's the people running the establishment that leave an indelible impression on a traveller. The staff of Hanalei Bay Resort truly convey the aloha of the island. The current renovation didn't bother us at all because even the construction workers were pleasant and jovial. Sure, the staff had work to do but they carried on and went about their duties because it was the right thing to do: it was pono.

Room Tip: Top room so you won't worry about people with heavy strides, corner suite for wider vistas, with kitchen so you can enjoy the fresh food local merchants have to offer, and also to be economical so you can splurge on ohter things you would otherwise skimp on.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillieLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aloha BillieLosAngeles_CA,
We're thrilled you had such an awesome stay with us at Hanalei Bay Resort. Our staff will certainly be pleased and grateful hearing your review. They do their best to make sure our guests are having a great stay. We're so happy we could accommodate your needs and look forward to a return trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week. Oceanfront Realty manages them. Beds are not good, twin beds in loft are horrible. Not up to standard. Should read 4 adults and 2 children. Twin bed mattresses are like something you would put in a toddler bed.

Initially had good contact, even asked very specifically abt beds.. Was informed they were up to standard. Do not be fooled. There are enough masks and mirrors there to give you nightmares.

Great views but totally not worth spending any time there.
Management did not return email when I left.

Find an alternative if you want good rest on vacation!

Marilyn/Tucson

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misaotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Condo 9123 at Hanalei Bay Resort really helped make our vacation perfect. It is a ground floor unit with a beautiful view of Hanalei Bay and the surrounding mountains. My husband and I spend time in our accomodations wherever they are, so we were particularly delighted to be able to take our breakfast, lunch and dinner on the lanai just absorbing the exquisite beauty.

The unit itself is spacious and well equipped. Lots of beach equipment, towels, kitchen utensils, etc.. It is also a well cared for unit with island style furniture that particularly appealed to me.

It's at the top of a hill, close to the beach path, tennis courts and main swimming pool. The resort also has carts that will pick you up and take you anywhere on the property, including to and from the beach.

The owner, Jane, is accessible by email or phone and is quick to respond to questions. The resort charges a $12 daily fee in addition to the rental paid to the owner, but all phone calls, local and long distance are free! That's a nice thing.

My husband and I look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have no railings that detract from the view. However, they also have visiting geese and roosters, which can be delightful or annoying.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As the price was so reasonable, we were prepared for disappointment. We were pleasantly proven wrong. Friendly service. Free, easy parking. Well-equipped room (sink, stove, refrigerator, dishwasher) with amazing views of the jungle (who needs the ocean?) and two lanais from which to enjoy it. The walk to the pool is breathtaking with the mountains in the background. The pool itself was fine, though we didn't end up spending much time there. Lots of tennis courts. You can walk down the hill to the ocean, where the St. Regis has their beach. You can even go pay $16 for a drink at their bar if you'd like. It's a few minute drive to either Princeville or Hanalei bay. The restaurants and lobby were being renovated when we stayed; it would have been nice to have a restaurant on site. You can buy beer and wine at the tennis shop, and there is guest laundry and on demand shuttle (i.e. golf cart) service. Considering you have the same view as the exponentially more expensive St. Regis next door, I don't know why anyone wouldn't stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aloha LisanCharlie,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed the amenities provided in your room. We'd have to agree walking to the pool, surrounded by those mountains, is truly breathtaking. We're so glad you both had such a wonderful time. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews