We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanalei Bay Resort”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We own a two-week time share here every other year, but I was able to make this reservation two years ago for an additional ten weeks at a reduced rate. It was wonderful to be able to spend most of the "winter" on Kauai instead of my cold climate at home. The resort has a million-dollar view and is beautifully landscaped and colorful with many tropical shrubs and trees, and about fifteen separate buildings with condo units of varying sizes. The resort, with its 134 units, is now completely owned by all the time-share owners of 77 units and the individual owners of the other 57 units. It is now well managed and taken care of by good managers and happy employees, with all profits being used for upgrading and maintenance of the entire resort. A fitness center is currently being rebuilt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aloha Mark H,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the warm weather we are experiencing on the island. Our views are breathtaking and we're so glad you agree. Please make sure to hurry back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hanalei Bay Resort is an older place but has many benefits and is in a great location. The interior is older and needs updating but it is very clean. During the month of April and May they are renovating the clubhouse, lobby and restaurant since they had a fire here last year, no access to these sections of the resort. The town of Princeville is 3 miles away for some great food choices, like Lei Petite Bakery for fresh baked goods and breakfast items, or try the St. Regis hotel down the road. Many have commented on the beach access don't believe it, the resort has a nice long walkway down to the beach and it is a beautiful walk and easy, but it is uphill coming back. Golfing is a few blocks away you are surrounded by greens and tennis courts. The rooms are very roomy and quiet you cannot here the neighbors.

Room Tip: Try for the Guava building they have ocean views, but really all the buildings are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Aloha coosbaygal,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed exploring Princeville. There's tons of great places to visit. Our resort is undergoing some renovations, but will hopefully be done in the next upcoming months. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rented through Aloha Condos. Everything explained on site, room just like they show. Shared beach with Princeville, but not crowded - good snorkelling. Central for North Shore sites. Tennis courts, pool, hot tub great. Use the Cabana to grill while watching the sunset. It's Kauai so early to bed 'cause the roosters will be up at 5 am (anywhere on island).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Aloha TC B,
We're happy to hear of your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We hope you had fun snorkeling, playing tennis, and hanging by the pool. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hanalei Bay Resorts was a great condo vacation for us. We stayed in Unit 7202 through Aloha Condo rentals, which is a 1 BR.

The pros:
-washer/dryer in unit
-beautiful view of the bay from the lanai
-grilling stations very close to the unit
-close walk to the beach (about a 10 min hilly but pleasant walk--if you can't do the walk, their golf carts will drop you off/pick you up)
-beautiful saltwater pool and jacuzzi that we unfortunately used more than we would have liked due to the unusually rainy weather while we were there
-friendly staff
-close to a nice running path that we used for our morning runs

The cons:
-The entire resort has a kind of retro-90s charm to it. It didn't bother us at all, but the unit's kitchen and bathroom were pretty dated, and the resort was probably only half full and seemed like its heyday had passed--again, this was a pro for us as it meant fewer crowds.
-while we were there (spring break) there were a LOT of little kids in the jacuzzi. And the parents had very few parenting skills. Still, not the fault of the resort.
-no internet. (maybe going along with the retro 90s theme?)
-there was no door on the bedroom. We were just friends, so it didn't matter, but if you were traveling with couples that could get weird. Why no door on the bedroom?

Either way, the cons were easily overcome. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Aloha Marie D,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. With the beach only a few minutes away, tennis courts, a pool and a hot tub, there's tons of relaxing waiting to happen at our resort. We're glad you had a great time and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hanalei Bay Resort was a delight! My husband and a couple of friends of ours totally enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, sadly this unit did not have a washer and dryer but there are some on site. The unit was clean, with many amenities included. The bed was comfortable, but if you want room service there is a daily charge, I don't remember how much it was but it was not more than $8-10$ a day. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The resort has 2 pools and a lenghty but breath taking walk to the beach. The resort has free scuba lessons, which we totally enjoyed, and free Mia tia during the week, this made our stay totally worthwhile! I recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarinasWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our third trip to this spectacular unit was a charm. We also ended up renting 4301 this time around. As always the owners, Janice and Fritz Leutheuser, had their place in spectacular condition. The kitchen was beautiful with granite counter tops and fully stocked with everything needed for cooking. Comes with a stackable washer and dryer. The complex provides two pools and tennis courts. The owners provide tennis rackets, lounge chairs, boogie boards to be used at the adjoining beach at the Princeville Hotel. The units were beautifully decorated. The grounds are fantastic. We were able to BBQ at the wonderful facilities on the grounds and ate our dinner out on the lanai which over looks Hanalei Bay. This place is just so unbelievable we keep coming back. This complex seems to improve with every trip. We look forward to coming back next year when the restaurant reopens.
Thank you Janice and Fritz for another wonderful trip.

Cindy S., family and friends.
Southern California

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceeerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Aloha Ceeerae,
We're so happy to welcome you back for a third stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed your yearly unit and its accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We rented unit 1205 through Aloha Condo Rentals. The process was very easy to rent from them, all booked online. The unit itself has everything we needed -- it is a studio with a lanai, kitchenette, bathroom, and washer and dryer (which was very important for us to have!). Unit 1206 connects with a door if you need more room for more people.

As to the location, it was great, right by the main check in area and parking, and right next to the main pool. The view is beautiful of the mountains and you can glimpse the ocean as well.

The grounds are lovely and it is a fun walk down to the beach access at the St. Regis. Very steep, but easily do-able for any able bodied person (they have golf carts to call if you want a ride). We had a fun time walking down the beach and seeing how far it goes -- it almost connects with the main Hanalei Bay -- if you swim across the river you would be able to walk into town.

We enjoyed being in the Princeville area. We have stayed in downtown Hanalei, but it was nice to have the pool and we could easily drive down to Hanalei whenever we wanted to in about 5 minutes. Great walking neighborhood, and great paths around the golf course.

The cons:
Internet fee -- this is ridiculous. In this day and age, the internet should be complimentary. The internet was also SLOW for $10+ a day I was paying. Not impressed.
Resort fee -- this is very steep. I know there is a pool, tennis courts, and golf cart shuttles. But still. You definitely get the feeling of being nickle and dimed here. This should at LEAST include the internet. We ended up paying $70+ between resort fees and internet, and we were only there for 3 nights.

If the fees were removed, I would give this place a higher rating and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Aloha Jessica G,
Thank you for reviewing Hanalei Bay Resort. We love receiving feedback from our recent guests and appreciate yours. We're glad you enjoyed your unit and its accommodations along with the resort's location. We hope you had fun exploring Princeville and hope to welcome you back again soon
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $265 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha Guests, Mahalo for choosing Hanalei Bay Resort. We’re delighted to have you as our guests! Lush, relaxing, and as comfortable as your own home, our Princeville accommodations offer all the perks of a vacation rental along with award-winning service from our friendly staff. Located on Kauai’s North Shore, Hanalei Bay Resort captures the island’s beauty inside and out. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Please note repairs to a select group of lanais will be taking place January 5, 2018 through April 27, 2018. You may notice a minimal amount of noise between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest Regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing