We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in this Tropical Paradise”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First let me say this resort with its well manicured grounds, sits among one of the most spectacular settings on the North Shore of Kauai. The backdrop of Bali Hai and the many waterfalls among the North Shore mountains is nothing short of stunning.

We stayed in room 6304, a studio in the Ginger building, rented through Kristen Greene, Aloha Condos. Booking and check in went smoothly and without a hitch. Although this unit is a Studio, it has ample space, one of the most comfortable king beds and views that are superb from the balcony (we were fortunate to see whales feeding in Hanalei Bay from our unit.) The unit itself is nicely updated, tile floors and granite counters and huge tiled shower. No kitchen, but has a bar fridge, microwave, toaster oven and coffee maker.

Being on the North Shore, you will definitely need a car, but parking is free. There is a resort fee of $5 per day, which includes pool towels and a $25 registration fee at check in. The pool area is very beautiful and well maintained, plenty of loungers. Also has a hot tub carved among the rocks and plenty of tennis courts (lessons etc).

A couple of downsides. This resort although close is not on the beach ( 5min walk down, 10-15min hike back up as it is quite steep, there is a shuttle you can call and they will come down and pick you up). There is currently no restaurant on the property, but plenty to choose from close by and especially in charming Hanalei. The roosters crowing in the very early morning hours can be a distraction if you are a light sleeper.

As in most owner based condo resorts, the condition of any particular unit can vary, so you need to do your homework and ask about the condition of the unit you are planning to be in.

Would definitely come back again. And although the North Shore can be a little wetter, the sheer beauty is well worth it.

Room Tip: For ocean views upper floors are better, also some buildings are angled better than others. 6304 &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lucky enough to spend close to two weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort - unit #1558... Wonderful location, amazingly affordaable price for a comfortable little studio unit with all mod cons... Quietly situated at the jungle edge of the resort complex overlooking mountains, waterfalls and rainbows ... I'd go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: ... inquire about you unit - what's it close to? ... does that suit your personal needs - beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widget50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Carmie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family stayed in this 3 bedroom condo ("430456," VRBO #3254149ha) for a week in January 2013 and were disappointed. While the units (4304, 4305 and 4306) have great balcony views and are close to the beach trail, the lack of utensils, poor quality of cookware, old televisions and appliances and dusty bedspreads made for a disappointing stay.

The filthy cookware should have been discarded a long time ago and we counted four random spoons in a condo that's supposed to sleep 10. The TVs, refrigerator and washer/dryer are dated but functional. There is no wireless Internet option in the condo so cell phones and tablets must be used closer to the pool to take advantage of the resort's free wifi. The air conditioners in 4304 and 4305 had broken remotes (could not read the LCD) and otherwise did not perform well in keeping the units cool. The toilet in 4305 overflowed and the one in 4306 barely flushes at all -- which is probably why a plunger sits next to it.

The Hanalei Bay Resort is nice in and of itself, offering beach towels, a nice swimming pool, "Mai Tai Mondays," and golf cart transportation, but I strongly recommend considering another unit, especially considering how much these units rent for. Expect to get inundated with fees and costly options, too: check-in fee, resort fee, local management fee, optional wired Internet fee, optional travel insurance, cleaning fee, optional accidental rental insurance, etc.

The "starter kit" of toilet paper, paper towels and laundry/dish soap was appreciated, but expect a dated interior with sub-par necessities at an otherwise good location with a great view.

Room Tip: Avoid units 4304, 4305 and 4306 in the Palms building. Many of the condos here are privately owned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedicalPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I absolutely regret booking this hotel for our honeymoon. The room was very dated and seemed dirty. There were black things on our bedspread which I originally thought was rat feces, but after investigation, we believe it was part gecko feces, and part mold that flew off of the heating/AC unit right above our bed. Only turned that thing on once... There was a plug for our tub, but if not using it, there is just a big open hole to drain. We stayed there for 7 nights and our room was only cleaned ONCE. Apparently, they charge for daily cleaning service and daily towel service and parking and resort fees.... That means we had coffee in our room only one time, upon our initial arrival. They didn't even restock our coffee the one time they cleaned our room. I booked this hotel in part by reading other people's good reviews. I dont know what they're talking about! This place calls itself a "resort" but it has no resort amenities. The bar/restaurant burnt down I guess last year sometime, so there is no place to get food or drinks on the property. Mostly, we were disappointed with our room. We asked to be changed to a different one for the following reasons and they said they don't have any nicer/more updated rooms. So, we were stuck. Also, the TV is an older one (no problem there) but you are not able to rent a movie through the TV, or even watch a redbox (as we attempted to do) because there is no DVD player. You can walk down to the St. Regis and enjoy their bar and beautiful view. But it is a little bit of a trek on hilly terrain. You can call a cart to pick you up and take you anywhere on the property, but often you have to wait several minutes to make it not even worth your wait. THe only thing this place has going for it are nice employees and a beautiful view of Hanalei Bay. The front desk employee said the hotel has recently been under new management. It is apparent that in every aspect, they are trying to cut corners and save money. I'm usually fine staying in a 3 star hotel, however in my opinion, this one is more like (if not worse than) a Motel 6. Trust me, this place is not worth the money you would save. We passed one nice room that was being cleaned (it had granite countertops and a redone kitchen) but maybe that was someone's condo. Unsure why the staff said that all rooms are like the one we were in. Oh, I almost forgot when we got there was a huge mixup and we were getting settled into our "room" and they called and said they'd made a mistake. They sent a cart to pick us and our luggage up and took us to our correct room. I can tell you the first one was as dirty and the second. But the first room had a kitchenette and washer/dryer unit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank megan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After hours of researching many hotels and resorts in Hanalei, I was just about ready to suck it up and pay $565 per night for the St Regis hotel. Luckily I found this place and look forward to staying again! We aren't the touristy vacationers, while we do like some luxury, we prefer adventure and down to earth comfort. We like the feeling of living in a location, not visiting it. This resort has a lovely pool, fantastic beach with plenty of kayaks and snorkel gear, lovely grounds and breathtaking views. They have someone driving a golf cart around the resort to take you to the beach, pool or your room quicker if you'd like. We only stayed one night before we made the 11 mile hike out to Kalalau beach and we wish we had spent more time at the condos. The staff is super friendly, the lady at reception even took down our phone number and called us to make sure we made it out of our hike safely! If you are looking for marble floors, symmetrical palm trees and the standard "American tourist" hotel this isn't what you are looking for. This is the comfort of home in the paradise of Hawaii. Having said that: our taxi driver told us the St Regis' rooms are small and not special at all. So glad we saved $400 a night and had a washer/dryer in our condo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This a great value/location. The hotel experienced a big fire awhile ago so the restaurant, gym, etc. is in the proccess of being rebuilt. No onsite dining at this time. Not a big deal as the center of Princeville is about a mile away. Better yet, drive the five hiles or so to Hanaia for more choices. The pool is magnificent and there was never a crowd. It was easy to find a private spot. We booked a hotel room ($115/night). I was hoping for an ocean view, but the hotel only offers woodland views. In retrospect this was a great choice. Dead silent all night, but when the sun rises, the wildlife comes to life, very cool. No alarm clock needed here! (we sleep with the door open, screened).
The bedroom part of the room was freasly renovated, but the bath was very tired (I was told they are currently upgrading the bathrooms).
Overall a nice location with an easy walk to the beach. If you prefer there are lots of carts/drivers to shuttle you around, but we prefer the exercise from walking. FYI, we learned that ALL beaches on Hawaii are public so you may use the $600.00 a night hotel beach next door and they will leave you alone. A car is a must at this time for dining. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Until the restaurant is rebuilt a car is a must for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gasman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $263 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha Guests, Mahalo for choosing Hanalei Bay Resort. We’re delighted to have you as our guests! Lush, relaxing, and as comfortable as your own home, our Princeville accommodations offer all the perks of a vacation rental along with award-winning service from our friendly staff. Located on Kauai’s North Shore, Hanalei Bay Resort captures the island’s beauty inside and out. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Please note repairs to a select group of lanais will be taking place January 5, 2018 through April 27, 2018. You may notice a minimal amount of noise between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest Regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing