We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and grounds, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and grounds, great service”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at the Princeville St. Regis for 2 nights in late March in a prime ocean view room, 4th floor level. The view of Hanalei Bay and the surrounding mountains was perfect. While the room has no actual balcony, the window and screen slide back and an iron rail on the exterior gives the feeling of a balcony while you are actually inside the room. We found the room to be well appointed, beds very comfortable, silky linens. The bathroom was large and up-to-date. Eating breakfast, lunch, or dinner outside at the Terrace restaurant overlooking the bay is a treat, and the food was excellent. Some reviews have criticized the service, but we found it to be exceptional during our stay and definitely what you would expect at the St. Regis.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    523
    266
    110
    71
See reviews for
630
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Princeville Hotel many times and were eager to experience the newly remodeled St. Regis. Upon arrival, we were impressed with the updates in the lobby and the addition of the on site spa. When we checked-in, the agent congratulated us on our anniversary (the reason for the trip) and informed us the hotel would be sending us a gift to honor the occasion. This was completely unexpected and we appreciated the thought. Upon arrival to our room we were pleased to see the rooms were still familiar but everything had been replaced and upgraded. The pool area was also a pleasant surprise, as it had a much more tropical feel. Dinner at the Kauai Grill was on of the best meals we have had on the island.

However, not everything was as great as we had wanted. We found that prices across the board had increased without necessarily an increase in quality. Further, we formally enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the terrace every morning only to find this had been replaced with a la carte offerings that were just as pricey as the buffet and not nearly as interesting.

We have no problem paying a higher price for a great experience. The St. Regis left us with wanting. The prices were indiscriminately high and there seemed to be a lack of attention to detail for a hotel of this caliber. The promised and unexpected gift to celebrate our anniversary never arrived and showed the hotel has not quite worked out all their kinks yet. After staying at this property over 10 times I am doubtful we will stay there again, as the value and experience we had for the money paid simply didn't add up.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis, Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Aloha,

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit.

Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience. We treasure your comments and I have forwarded them to our management team to take corrective action.

There is simply no excuse for missing your room delivery and is something that we are taking seriously.

I feel I must address your comments regarding prices. Providing value for money spent is very important to the management of The St. Regis Princeville Resort. After conducting a full pricing audit of all our menus, comparing September 2008 as Princeville Resort to now as St. Regis, the F&B prices have increased a marginal 1%. This is comparing all menus across all of our establishments. Certain items have increased due to quality enhancements and focusing on purchasing "local" to support our island home. Other items have actually decreased to provide value.

I would like the opportunity to earn your business back. Please contact me personally at chris.white@stregis.com so we may discuss your next visit to Princeville.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Such a great hotel! The service was great and everyone was warm and welcoming. The hotel is so clean and spacious. The lobby is something else. We went to the pool and the staff there are so nice, they set up your towels and even get you ice cold towels. I love this hotel and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

One of the best places I've ever stayed.
Pros:
Service is 5 star quality. Evian face spray, cold towels, chilled grapes. Staff were awesome.
Resort is incredibly clean. Everything was brand new, literally.
Rooms are modern, up-to-date, and very comfortable.
one of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen.


Cons:
None.

I highly advise staying here

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We arrived to the hotel and were met by welcoming staff. At check in we were told we had a 1st room floor right by the pool and we asked to be moved to a 2nd room or higher for a better view. They honored that request and put on the 3rd floor over looking the pool and bay. It was wonderful. Our room was spacious and I loved the see through shower. Who wouldn't want to look out at the bay and the wonderful Kauai mountains while showering :) . FYI-There is a "privacy" option if you would want it.
The pool was very nice, clean and there were always chairs available. Pool staff was there to assist you in getting towels and ice water. The drinks were pricey but I knew that going into the hotel. The Lava Flow drink is so yummy to sip on at the pool but the price tag is $15. Just warning you. We treated ourselves to these luxuries as we were there on a rewards business trip.
We did go snorkeling and used the hotel's equipment. We saw a few fish.
The lobby bar has a wonderful view of the bay and is a great place to watch the sunset and sip on a cocktail. Also the restaurant has a nice breakfast served on the terrace.
We did not eat dinner in the restaurants there. We had catered events in the hotel and that food was fabulous!!
I did see a penthouse suite and all I can say is WOW!!! This suite was huge and had 2 balconies along with the biggest bathroom I have seen in a long time.
We enjoyed our stay and would go here again.
Enjoy and Aloha!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trendzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This is our second time staying at the resort, once prior to the renovation. The renovations are stunning! The staff - valet, front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, spa, pool were all very friendly and kind. We commented how this is one of the reasons why we keep coming back to Kauai - a rarity on other resorts.

Scott secured dinner rsvp on Valentine's at Kauai Grille and it was divine esp. at sunset. Waking up each morning to stunning views of the mountain and ocean was breathtaking.

I had two spa treatments, an oxygen facial by Juliet and a spa pedicure by Karleigh, both were incredible.

Small things that were cleared up - we had early morning and afternoon calls that we're wrong numbers probably from two families next door to us. Front desk suggested a Do not Disturb and it cleared up the wrong calls.

Cool compresses, water, pineapple slices were all great little amenities at the pool. The valet guys were super sweet and had water and towels if we wanted.
We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

The "new & improved" version of the Princeville Hotel, now branded a St. Regis is the antithesis to what Princeville and Kauai has been. Pretentious and curt staff, rude oin some cases (male pool are personnel so obviously leering at female guests), everything centered around emptying your wallet, and not by nickels & dimes. The food was bland and generally overcooked, food and drinks are way overpriced and the room was just...okay and again overpriced. The views are stunning and Princeville is just gorgeous and we will return again, just never to the St. Regis!.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoFuChenZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis, Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Aloha,

On behalf of the staff of The St. Regis Princeville Resort I would like to personally extend my apology that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit.

Our goal is to provide a memorable experience to all of our guests.

Since a memory is as unique as the individual I would enjoy the opportunity to communicate with you directly to better understand your concerns. Please e-mail me at chris.white@stregis.com

Mahalo for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing