We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thank you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“We thank you.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

First, the butler service aided us in making our plans. We arrived to an upgrade to the St. Regis suite, looking straight across the bay at Puff. We dined our first evening in the Grille, and it was beyond outstanding. The weather, for the most part, was cloudy and wet, yet we felt uplifted and relaxed throughout our stay. The spa was outstanding, the butlers were courteous and quick, the concierges knew everything possible and were quick to make arrangements. We would have said we were lucky to connect, as we did, with great places and things to do, but luck wasn't the reason: the hotel staff was the reason. The weather even cooperated by clearing for our helicopter trip, and a tour of the eastern part of the island en route to the airport, arranged by the concierge, topped off a wonderful week. We thank you.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, which gave us the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha JasonM,

Wow, Mahalo for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review about your recent stay at our Resort. Our staff truly takes great pride in being able to create a bespoke expereince for our guests. Hearing comments such as yours proves our staffs dedication and genuine "Aloha Spirit" and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    523
    266
    110
    71
See reviews for
630
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. I really don't think is could get any better. Iv stayed at a lot of hotels and this is one of the best.
1. The service is unbelievable, they are all about helping you.
2. Rooms are well stocked and very clean.
3. Food is good but a little expensive.
There isn't anything I can complain about. Everything was perfect.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tgullick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Tgullick,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just came back from a 4 night stay at the St. Regis Princeville. I have to say, we were very excited to stay here given the past reviews and reputation. I'll go into details, but to summarize, if you're expecting the type of enlightened hospitality that one would expect at the St. Regis or at the W resorts, you'll be dissapointed. Here is the good, bad, and ugly:

Good:
Amazing view - you have to get an ocean view room otherwise there's really no point in staying here
Kauai Grill - the Jean-Georges restaurant is superb. They also have a vegetarian menu.
Room Service - good selection, food was fresh, hot and nicely presented
Beach - when it's not raining, the beach is marvelous. It rains a lot on the north shore of Kauai, from speaking with locals this is the rainy side of the island so be prepared to drive an hour or two around the island to find sun
Hanalei - the town next door is really beautiful, has a rustic beach charm that feels missing in other parts of the island.
Champagne sabre - every night they open a bottle of champagne in the lobby with a sword and then serve all the guests champagne. Nice touch.

Bad:
Breakfast - a rip-off and pretty poor quality. Not what you'd expect from St. Regis. They had frozen mini-bagels... Really, its a bad note to start the day charging your guests $40 a person for such poor breakfast.
Dining venues - the property only has two restaurants, and during our stay only one of them was open for dinner on any given night.
Activities - they always had a good excuse for cancelling the scheduled activities!
Parking - $30 a day. Every other hotel on the island has free parking. In fact there is free parking for the public beach the St. Regis uses right next to the hotel.
Hotel - this is a really weird hotel in terms of architecture and aesthetic. It does not have a resort feel, rather a big open lobby and somewhat old traditional rooms. The restaurant spaces focus completely on the view out the window, so if its raining, there's not much else to look at. Green marble in the bathrooms feels very dated. The whole property feels like its trapped in the 1980s. I kept thinking how much I enjoyed the W Resort in Vieques - much nicer property, nicer rooms, nicer gym, nicer beach. Definitely much nicer Starwood properties including Westin and W resorts than this St. Regis which is really just a renovated older hotel.
Beach/ pool - one of the two hot tubs was broken. Also the chairs are pretty lame, they are like cheap beach chairs you'd throw in the back of the car.

Ugly:
Elevators - two separate elevator banks that you need to navigate between the lobby, rooms and beach. Also, one of the four elevators was out of service the entire stay. Another elevator had a smashed glass plate and cake smeared everywhere, which stayed that way until we reported it.
Location - a gift and a curse. All I can say is if there's rain in the forecast, don't go. It's not worth it, there's nothing to do at this hotel when its raining, and the drive in the rain to the south side of the island will take 90 minutes. If the weather is sunny, this is a very nice place to stay, the town next door, Hanalei, is a very pretty beach town. Also, all the activities on Kauai (helicopters, boat tours) leave from the south side so be prepared for a long drive early in the morning to these.
Gym - this was a big surprise - the gym is located off the side of the lobby near the business center (feels like its in a conference room), it has no windows and basically a few mirrors that you can stare at while working out. There are no lockers or showers, and if you want to use the steam or sauna you have to pay to use the spa. If its raining and you can't go for a swim in the outdoor only pool or a run outside, this is all you've got and its not very motivating.

I do want to express my thanks to the valet staff that were all very helpful, and to Ryan at the Starwood desk that took care of our island tours and was just very gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend getting an ocean view room, otherwise the rooms are not very impressive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Walle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Vikas G,

Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us about your recent stay at the Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we want to ensure you we take all feedback very serious. We appreciate you acknowledging our Valet team, Ryan and our Private dining service. We could not agree more that Kauai Grill is a wonderful dining choice and how remarkable our Signature Champagne Sabering is. I have shared your feedback about the Makana Terrace Buffet and dining operations with our Executive Chef in hopes that we may provide more options to our guests. We apologize for any confusion regarding our activity line up and although we are not sure what the situation was entirely we are aware that our entertainment and activities are sometime reschedule or cancelled at any given time. Our staff should have also advised you that we have two gym areas including a wonderful newly designed fitness center with one of the best views from the Resort.
Unfortunately the "Garden Island" has been given our name because of the lush green landscaped which can only be maintained with the help of Mother Nature and her rain showers. The North shore does get a large amount of rain and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which the St. Regis Brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and as SPG Platinum's we were upgraded to a wonderful ocean view suite. Honestly, even without the great room, I would rate this 5 stars all the way! The view of Hanalei Bay was just off the charts, and the resort is in quiet Princeville and just designed for relaxing!

The Good:
-Service was on point all around. Well trained staff who were very helpful.
-Rooms with an ocean view are incredible
-Suitcase packing service in the suite. Seriously, it was awesome!
-The view of Hanalei Bay is better than a postcard
-Relaxing setting in Princeville. Not a small hotel, but still felt small, even over Christmas
-For the price, this is about as good a value as you can get from a St. Regis

The OK:
-Pool seemed a bit too cold to just lounge around in
-Concierge's were not overly helpful and seemed more focused on pushing their timeshare club
-Kauai Grill restaurant is not worth the price

Room Tip: Go ocean view or you will regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Jgordan24d,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Resort. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most Bespoke and authentic "Aloha" service possible. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the North Shore's beauty while on your honeymoon. Congratulations from our entire staff on the momentous celebration. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to your Resort for any upcoming Anniversary!

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

St Regis us truly a star resort with all the attention to details from fresh flower for your hair, beaded
Leis for the family and even a gift pack for my daughter upon check in. The grounds are immaculate and you can't walk by a staff member without a friendly Aloha. Definitely will stay here again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Definitely check out tripadvisor for prices. I'd booked our stay directly with the hotel upon th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Traveladdictno1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a gracious review about your recent family getaway. Our staff takes great pride in providing the most bespoke service possible and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Being able to visit a Resort where a family can create memories of a lifetime is what we strive for at the St. Regis Princeville and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The best property on Kauai. Because it's kind of built into the mountain overlooking the stunning Hanalei Bay, it doesn't feel like a big sprawling monster of hotel. The beach is fantastic, secluded from all but hotel guests, and is bigger than it looks because you can walk all the way down to the pier further along the coast. Pool area is right on the beach and it's such a nice space you really need to dedicate a day to just lounging around here.

A car is essential if you want to explore the whole island, and the traffic is horrendous in places, despite it being a not very developed island. And it's an hour and bit away from Lihue airport on the North of the island.

The rooms are nice and clean, and the service is good but a little more hit and miss than the standards of other hotels we visited in Hawaii. Overall, no regrets that we chose this as our accommodation in Kauai, there's not much to fault here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemason57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha FreeMason57,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to your Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and we thank you for your acknowledgement. Our island is a unique destination and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the sandy shores of our Resort.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Arrived today looking with my wife to stay for two weeks stay. I parked far back of the canopy (Thursday at 2 pm in a rain storm) and valet yells at me from a Jeep as I was at the front door " I want your keys I want your want keys." Very rude and unprofessional. I said five minutes please as I wanted to go to front desk. Where is the common sense? I left and secured other accommodation on the island. I have never been treated like this anywhere before. Don't use this type of dominating behaviour please.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverMaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha Vancouvermaxxx,

Mahalo for taking the time share this feedback with our Resort. We apologize on behalf of the Valet department and I have shared this review with the Manager, Mr. Daniel Sewell, Hearing feedback such as yours allows us to correct our staff as this is not normal treatment. We apologize that you were not able to stay with us and we hope you allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate our growth and hospitality for which we are normally known for.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing