We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The St. Regis is a must if you go to the North Shore. The breakfast was top notch. The staff were really friendly--you could tell they liked being there--who wouldn't. The views from the room and lobby were out of this world. The golf nearby was amazing. There are so many things to do there, we cried when we left. A truly special place.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view I think all of them have a view--we were on the 7th floor and j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmartin222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha Wmartin222,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at our Resort. Hearing feedback such as yours if one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    495
    249
    104
    69
See reviews for
593
1,600
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tenafly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Superb, great spot to relax and chill out. It's on the north shore of the island which has less things to do than the southern end in the winter-time but we had a marvelous relaxing experience. Highly recommend the property.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room which was spacious and had a marvelous view. It was on the seventh f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

WOW! Where do you begin? The staff, the service, the views, the beach, the pools, the food!!!
Their attention to detail is awesome! We were celebrating our anniversary and were only there a night at the end of our stay in Kauai. Certainly saved the best for last!!

Room Tip: Ocean view! The set up is interesting how you have to take elevators to get down to the pool/beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy44077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha Cindy44077,

Thank you for taking the time write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at our Resort. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to create the most bespoke experience possible. We are pleased to hear you were able to visit us during your Honeymoon and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Entrance to the hotel gave notice of what to expect inside. Spectacular doesn't seem enough. Rooms and staff were superb. Jazz band in the evening was the crowning touch. View of the bay and the mountains just added to the exemplary experience. Special kudos to the manager who enlightened us on some Hawaiian culture while opening a bottle of champagne with a sword. Loved it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha Budflouse,

Thank you for taking the to write such a sincere and wonderful review about your recent experience at our Resort. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked Kauai as the second part of our honeymoon trip. After leaving the Maui Four Seasons I knew it was going to be hard to top. We were originally booked to stay at the Grand Hyatt but we had such a terrible experience that my husband called the St. Regis to see if they had any rooms to take care of us. The St. Regis was extremely accommodating and felt bad we were off to such an awful start in Kauai. They upgraded our room to ocean view. The room itself was amazing. The doors opened completely so the entire ocean if your view. It looked like it was a screensaver. It was absolutely incredible. The grounds were impeccably kept and the service was top notch. The pool was really beautiful and lead down to the beach where they have a campfire and smores night a few times a week. The other thing i really liked about the hotel is they had alot of tropical fruit which i didnt experience at other hotels. It was great to try something new everday. The only thing I will say is the St. Regis is on the North side of the island and a lot of the activities take place in the south which usually takes 45mins to an hour to get to. It was a little inconvenience but totally worth it. The Grand Hyatt does not compare to the St. Regis at all. It truly is an amazing luxury hotel which saved our honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha MarisaP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear our Resort was able to accomidate you with open arms and that your Honeymoon stay was exceptional. Being able to create memories of a lifetime is a veiled treasure and what better place to create those than on the picturesque North Shore of Kauai. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back soon, maybe even for an Anniversary!

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The St. Regis is situated on an amazing piece of property with a world-class view but...The hotel is a bit cold and is spread out with the pool and beach a long walk from the main areas. The lobby is a wide-open expanse that has very little in terms on personal warmth or ambiance. that being said each individual that we encountered was very friendly as well as totally helpful. I must mention the wonderful concierge Mrs.. Nekomoto who almost single-handedly set-up our itinerary. She was a truly amazing concierge. We had a personal butler service that was exceedingly helpful. On the other hand - room service continually forgot ingredients for the salads listed on the menu - for example - the hearts of palm and artichoke filled salad rarely had either! I agree with several of the other reviewers saying that the bar and restaurants closed early and had very strange alternating days of availability. The spa was atrociously over-priced such that we employed a local healer and masseuse. Finally, this is the north of Kauai - little to do in Princeville although seeing the 40 foot waves roll in on a storm was fascinating. A mixed bag overall...

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha Charles R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we take all of our reviews and feedback very serious. I have shared your review with our In room dining Manager as this is not typical of our standards and we will make sure this does not happen to future guests. I have also shared your feedback with our Management regarding the Resort. Our Resort was actually built into the mountainside and requires a bit more walking to get from the bottom to the top. We fill that they layout of our Resort does ultimately provide some of the best views of the North shore and allows you to feel like you are built into the landscape. We hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate our improvements.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We've been traveling to Hawaii over 28 years. I believe that this location on Hanalei Bay affords the most picturesque setting of all islands. I may be biased, but I keep coming back. My husband has an Amex Platinum CC, and we booked the hotel though the card's travel office. By doing so, we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite and enjoyed daily breakfast as well as $100 credit to our account. You can also delay leaving until 4PM and check in early. These offers are only through the Platinum Card. Our room was deep with a beautiful spacious view of Hanalei Bay and the waters. We had a king bed, desk with pop up flat screen TV, a spacious and comfortable living area with L shape couch, and chair, and also another counsel with flat screen TV and sound system. The bathroom was spacious as well with another stunning view of the mountains and ocean. What I like best of this hotel is the stunning views of Hanalei Bay from their restaurants and lounge, pool and beach. At night everyone congregates in the large spacious lounge with outdoor balcony to watch the sunset and also enjoy evening live entertainment. I really enjoyed sitting on the beach under umbrellas on their comfortable lounge chairs to watch snorkelers and surfers. The pool is heated to 80 degrees and was great to dip in occasionally. You have all the amenities at the pool/beach area you could desire. Great cocktails, food choices, service, towels, snorkel rentals, etc. The staff is super friendly and service oriented. You could not go wrong staying at this hotel for honeymooners, or Hawaii lovers. We also golfed at the hotel's Makai Course and enjoyed a gorgeous course with many ocean holes (with whales breaching in view). Great time! Hanalei town is close by with many fun restaurants and shops to enjoy. The whole Na pali Coast is great to visit to kayak, hike, and find hidden beaches to snorkel, swim or surf at. We also stayed in Poipu before the Princeville area, and enjoyed it there as well. But Princeville is more scenic with the mountains and the ocean. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for Na Pali coast view to see the mountains and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing