We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is where I want to stay if I ever get married again. It is awesome, beautiful, elegant, ocean views galore, stunning.... I went inside this hotel and was really impressed by how beautiful it was and how efficiently it was organized. Unfortunately, I stayed at a very disappointing time share property about 1 and 1/2 miles away, and was so tempted to just forfeit my money at the timeshare and spend my vacation at this lovely hotel. I regret not doing just that now that I am home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Cindygirl2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to our Resort. Being able to experience our Resort even for a moment is truly unique and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future so you can experience all that The St. Regis Princeville Resort has to offer.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    519
    262
    108
    71
See reviews for
622
1,658
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-November. They originally gave us a 1st-floor room, which we were not happy with since it was right by the pool with everyone walking right by the room. It also had a phone that didn't work well, a stained couch, and poor water pressure in the shower. Since there were no other rooms available, we couldn't get moved until the following day. We got moved to the second floor, which made a world of difference. A better view, better privacy, and a clean, fully-functional room!
The views here are amazing. We arrived just as a storm was clearing, and saw the most beautiful sunset with other-worldly clouds streaking across the mountains.
The breakfast buffet was good, with a nice variety of high-quality foods.
The pool was beautiful and very clean. We had a very relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
ALoha Smercury,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We apologize that your first experience with us was not exceptional and we are pleased to hear we were able to fix our situation and provide a wonderful experience for you. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which our brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our anniversary celebration in Hawaii. We had previously stayed at the St Regis four years ago for our anniversary - and LOVED it. When we planned this trip, this was the only hotel we repeated.

Often, when you return to a magical place, your memories can seem different than the reality. However, we were once again greeted by all of our wonderful experiences of our memories of our first trip - and more! From the minute you arrive, the staff treat you like a treasured guest.

We felt that each and every person went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best it could be. This is combined with the sheer beauty of the location. The breathtaking views cannot be imagined - they have to be experienced.

We cannot wait to return! Thank you so much to everyone at the St Regis Princeville!

Room Tip: We had incredible views and quiet with sounds of the ocean to lull us to sleep. We were on the wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyRP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha AmyRP4,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a gracious review about your return visit to our Resort. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and your review is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible. The genuine "Aloha" spirit flows freely at the St. Regis Princeville and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many, many more Anniversaries and celebrations.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the views of Hanalei Bay are hard to beat. The staff was very warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. The valets where knowledgeable of the island and always willing to give you information on the "local" places to experience. The very best experience we had was with the photography group located on site, "Pacific Dream". They will do a photography shoot of you on the beach. Ask for Rachel and Ryan, They are really fun to work with and they are two of the nicest people you will every meet. Not to mention that their work is world class. The St. Regis is lucky to have them work at their hotel. We will be back...

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingthedream55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Livingthedream55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying at the St. Regis Resort. Our staff takes great pride in being able to provide the most exceptional and bespoke service possible and that includes the staff of Pacific Dream Photography. It is truly an experience worth capturing on film when here in Hawai'i and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here. I won't repeat what everyone else has mentioned, here is the good, bad and ugly:
Good: magnificent view of Bali Hai...and this is what you're paying for. All of the staff is very helpful and friendly. They did their best to take care of us with our Starwood status, which I always appreciate.
Bad & ugly: We were there for Thanksgiving week. Lots of screaming rugrats running wild around the pool area morning and night (aka they were still screaming away in the hottub at 10 pm with parents nowhere in sight). Generally speaking, the pool/pool bar is ok. It is not the sophisticated 5 star experience you'd expect to have at a St Regis---think Marriott. Also, good to know for anyone who tries to do a little work while there...the internet is super slow in the room, lobby and business center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmjpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha, MJMJPI.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. I have shared your review with our Pool Management in hopes that they may provide exceptional service to our future guests and we assure you that children are not normally allowed to be at the pool unsupervised. Our Resort also offers additional speed for internet use when needed. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which the St. Regis brand is known and we appreciate your comments as always.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to stay at this gorgeous hotel for 4 nights. It has the most stunning view from all the rooms but I think our room had a more amazing view. We were in the top in the corner so had a direct out to sea view with 2 windows so we got to see both sides.
The room is lovely. The service is incredible & the pool is so amazing we didn't want to leave it.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford to stay here. It is worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Signon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we couldn't agree more about the views. Mother nature put much thought and effort when she created the North Shore of Kauai and we are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy every aspect of it during your stay. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis in early December 2013 and reserved a premium ocean view room with the possibility of an upgrade if available on check-in due to the type of package we reserved. When we checked in, we received the upgrade to a Jr. Suite. Our room was on the 10th floor and had wonderful views of Hanalei Bay although no front porch to sit on. We still enjoyed the room immensely as you could open the windows widely and get the great ocean breeze and appreciate the views from all angles in the room. The suite also comes with a bathtub that has views as well and butlers service. We weren't really sure what to so with the butler service but it was nice that they brought us freshly brewed coffee each morning and also provided lots of recommendations for local attractions.

This hotel does not have one of the open air grand view lobbies that many Hawaii hotels have but the lobby is beautiful and the deck views are fantastic. The dining room patio views are also spectacular.

Our stay at this property was fantastic. The beach and pool are very nice and service was excellent. The property seemed more natural and pretty than the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. There is easy access to the pool and beach level via elevator from the lobby. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the dining patio views were fantastic. Food was very good but typical resort prices which are expensive so be prepared to drop $ on food and drink if you don't leave the property. There are some good places to eat in Hanalei so we'd recommend going off property to explore the area and eat some of your meals.

We ventured off property to Tunnels Beach and Anini Beach as well as several visits to Hanalei Town. Tunnels was nice - got to watch surfers in some decent waves and also do some snorkeling in the reef which was a 3/4 mile walk in the sand from the parking area at Tunnels. The waves were fairly strong so we only Snorkeled briefly. If you go there, pay close Attention to the tides and don't venture out if you are not an experienced swimmer. They have a sideways rip current present at all times so pay attention to where you are when snorkeling. Tunnels is a fair drive on the 2 way road so be prepared for the drive. There is a waterway that goes across the road before the beach parking. I would not want to go across it in heavy rain. Anini also looks like a great snorkeling beach but same warning on the tides. We had shave ice in Hanalei and also ate at a local cafe which had a bar. Can't remember the name but the food was delicious and there were a mix of locals and tourists eating there.

We Snorkeled in front of the hotel as well and enjoyed that quite a bit. Snorkeling gear is available at the St Regis activity desk of $20 a day or you can rent it for $5 a day in Hanalei. This is not a great swimming beach as it is on a reef but it is great for snorkeling if the surf is calm. You would have to go elsewhere to body surf or boogie board.

There also is a nice walk from the hotel along the entry road that takes you by a golf course so walking is easy from the hotel if you want to get out and take a stroll for exercise.

After staying at the St. Regis, we went to the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. There was no comparison in terms of service - the St Regis wins hands down. If we had it to do over again, we would have stayed longer here and cut down our stay at the Grand Hyatt. The St Regis staff responded well to any custom requests that we had and they Hyatt did not. We also like the more relaxed atmosphere at this hotel versus at the Hyatt and Poipu. Hard to describe but we just felt more relaxed here and on the North Shore.

Not a cheap place to stay by any means but a great experience. If we come back and wanted to spend a bit less on accommodations, we would consider renting a house that is oceanfront and forego the service aspects but this was a great place to stay for our first time in the area. We also wanted a very relaxing vacation so having the services was fantastic!

Thanks to everyone at the St. Regis for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing