We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis for 4 wonderful nights last week. We booked through Amex Platinum and I'm SPG Gold, so upon arrival we were offered an upgrade. We had booked a Terrace room w/Mountain View and, even though we were offered an upgrade to an ocean view terrace room, we decided to keep the original room as it was really great with views of a golf course, mountains and the ocean. In addition, it was very private and quiet. Our service at the hotel was awesome. It was my husband's birthday and they brought us up a great dessert a few minutes after we checked in. We also requested a small refrigerator, which was brough immediately (at no charge). Our Amex booking included the daily buffet breakfast at the Makana Terrace and it couldn't have been nicer. Between the views and the food, we looked forward to going there daily. We had stayed at the St. Regis before (when it was still called the Princeville Resort) and although the rooms were pretty much the same (except for the electronics), they were super-comfortable. This place is really gorgeous! Staff was amazing and courteous. I'm definitely planning on staying here again!

Room Tip: They only have 34 rooms with terraces. That was important to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioCityTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha Studiocitytraveler54,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your return visit to our Resort. We are pleased to hear you got to experience our St. Regis brand and the newly renovated Resort. Having an exceptional view and bespoke service are some of the great perks you receive when staying at the Resort. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed your daily breakfast package and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another birthday celebration soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    509
    258
    106
    69
See reviews for
603
1,633
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

St Regis Princeville is a beautiful hotel with great service. Every room has an ocean view, which is amazing to wake up to in the morning. The beach area is the only beach in Princeville, so they are in a pime location. Our room service server was excellent and took great care of us, though the crab & shrimp cocktail was not up to expectations. Check in was wonderful with a pleasant greeting from valet followed by a friendly check in at the Front Desk. All around, a great place to visit on Kauai. One note would be that the rooms seem a little outdated, but still comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDtoLA0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Aloha Sdtola0408,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your stay and I have shared your review with our staff. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wow. Completely blown away! The resort is situated on a beach with the most amazing views of the mountain. The resort was phenomenal. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to the junior suite. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. It was so zen.

Princeville (where hotel is located) is about an hour away from a lot of the good restaurants on the island. There weren't much great restaurants in the area but the resort was worth all the driving.

I highly recommend the breakfast at the hotel. The restaurant overlooked the beautiful landscapes and food was really good.

All the staff were very friendly and nice.

Def would love to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYSuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first time to Hawaii and Kauai and my wife's 3rd trip. My wife has stayed on the South side of the island near Poipu the first two visits, so this was both of our first times on the North side near Princeville and Hanalei. We stayed at the resort for our entire stay, 8 full days and 8 nights.

First of all, when I heard people talk about the surrounding landscapes comparing it to Jurassic Park, they were not kidding. I've never seen such beautiful, lush and mountainous terrain in my life. Every time you turn a corner it looks like a picture book. The views and scenery are out of this world. We did a hike along the Napali coast which is something I will never forget.

The hotel itself is absolutely wonderful. The service, food and facilities are 5-star all the way. The beach and pool areas were not crowded at all and we had our pick of pool-side or beach-side lounging every day. The service staff is incredible. Each and everyone one sincerely wants to help you have the best stay possible. We sat with Minda at the concierge (who has been working in resorts for 20 years) for almost a half hour to meticulously plan our stay. She was so helpful and made our stay so nice that we didn't have to worry about planning anything.

Breakfast was normally our favorite part of the day. You get to see an unbelievable sunrise while drinking 100% Kona local coffee. You can order almost anything off the menu and the buffet is great. We ate dinner and lunch in Hanalei most of the time because there are so many good spots. Everything from fresh tacos at Tropical Taco and Pat's taco truck to incredible sushi at Hanalei Dolphin. Hanalei Dolphin was our favorite dinner spot of the trip. We ate there twice and sat at the bar while watching the sushi chef's work.

There are a ton of activities including golf, snorkeling, surfing and paddle boarding, helicopter tours, boat tours and lots of others that can fill your day if you're an active person. Otherwise relaxing by the beach and pool is spectacular as well.

I would say the only downside to the resort is the price. Food and drinks are very expensive at the hotel, expect to spend $15 for a cocktail and $9 for a beer (plus service and tax). Breakfast in the morning would normally cost us between $60 and $100 depending on what we ordered. We ate dinner twice at the hotel, once at Kauai Grill and the other at Mokana Terrace. Both were great but will run you $100 per person easily. While the price is a bit higher, you get exactly what you pay for. 5-star service, great food and convenience of not having to go anywhere if you choose.

This was truly the trip of lifetime for us, we were so sad to leave. We are already planning a visit back and can't wait to return. I would highly suggest the St. Regis and Princeville to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or simply an incredible vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is a must. We got upgraded because we were on our honey moon, but waking up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
ALoha AlexGaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for choosing our Resort for your Hawaiian honeymoon getaway. First time experiences on Kaua'i are a truly unique memory and we are pleased to hear you choose the North shore of Kauai. When Jurassic Park was filmed on Kauai they had an easy time finding exactly what they needed and they truly did not have to edit a single shot! We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and our staff truly takes great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come, hopefully to celebrate your first anniversary.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just wonderful. The view is probably my favorite of all time views on vacation. No complaints. We loved it. We did not have a lanai - I think I would have really enjoyed that. Not sure if they offer one. Would be worth it to ask for one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha Yellowpurple,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We can truly agree with you 100 percent that the beauty of the North Shore of Kauai is like no other and we are pleased that you were able to experience it. Although our standard rooms do not have terraces the view from your bay window is truly unique and some of our suites do offer ground floor terraces. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon and look forward to hearing from you.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our 10 day island hopping tour of Hawaii. On arrival, which was at 10pm local time, we were warmly welcomed and given a set of beautiful shell leis. Next we were escorted to the check in desk and were delighted when we received an upgrade to an ocean view room. The resort lobby and bar/lounge area was beautiful. We did not appreciate the full view of the resort until the morning a dee were blown away. The view was incredible of the pool and bay.

The room was spacious with a nice bay window that could be opened up to nice breeze. The bed was clean with nice sheets and pillows. Bathroom very clean with a nice tube and shower area. We were happy to find robes and slippers in the closet.

The staff were warm and welcoming and when we encountered our only complaint of terrible in room coffee, we were credited the coffees from the shop that we bought in the morning and were given complimentary in room service coffee.

The pool/beach area were to die for. Friendly staff welcoming you and setting up your chairs. Chairs were always available at prime locations (beach,poolside and facing the ocean). We were promptly offered drinks or food from the bar, which were pricey yes, but you're at a luxury resort so that is expected. They had plenty of activities at the resort including a daily champagne sunset viewing.

We did not eat at the resort since Hanalei was about a 10-15 min drive away and we were able to eat fresh local food at a very reasonable price.

Overall a very positive experience and we would stay here if the wind ever blow us back this way.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emerick1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha Emerick1685,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent experience at our Resort. Having a captivating view of Hanalei Bay is Mother nature at her finest and we are pleased to hear you were able to catch such a wonderful view from your room. We truly appreciate your feedback and genuine appreciation of our staff. We take great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke and aloha to all of our guests. We are pleased to announce that we are in the process of getting different coffee and machine put into our guests rooms. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is our second stay on Kauai, and decided this time to stay on the North Shore. The St Regis is wonderfully located, near Hanalei, with a small beach and fantastic views. The hotel staff are incredibly helpful, and nothing is too much effort. The prices are expensive - $250 for a kabana is outrageous, and drinks are also pricey.

Pro's of the Regis:
Excellent Service - the best I have ever had
Very nice room
Nice pool area

Con's of the Regis:
The price of drinks and amenities
Valet parking - not as bad as other reviewers have made out (we never waited longer than 5 mins), but I would much rather park my own car.
The refreshment center, aka wine fridge, was pathetic, possibly broken

Last year we had stayed at the Grand Hyatt at Poipu, so comparisons are inevitable, but all in all, we can't say we have a favourite - both have their good points and it will be a difficult choice deciding which one to return to. We preferred the salt lagoon at the Hyatt, but overall preferred the pool area at the Regis. The Hyatt had a happy hour, the Regis' didn't. The Hyatt let you park the car yourself, the Regis didn't....

Room Tip: We had a ocean and pool view - outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing