We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views from the St. Regis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the St. Regis”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently traveled to Kauai and decided to split our stay between the Grand Hyatt on the South Shore and the St. Regis on the North Shore. I am glad that we did this since it was too different experiences (of weather & activities). Overall I would say that the St. Regis was a great hotel and I would give it a Very Good because of the amazing room/service/location. The only disappointing thing was that the pool area seemed so much smaller and crowded in person. It was beautiful and well kept, it just kind of felt like a massive area of pool chairs with a pool in the middle. However the beach was great and the ocean was calm and swimable while we were there. Plus the pool service was great and everyone was very attentive, when it wasn't raining and we could go to the pool.

Our room was great with an amazing view of the ocean/ bay. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean View and had the best view of the sunset every night.

The staff was very attentive and always greeted you with a smile and were ready to help out and assist when & where needed. I only have great things to say about the staff, but then again for the price I would expect nothing less!

Again, it's difficult to compare the Grand Hyatt to the St. Regis since they are different calaber of hotels, but if we had to do the trip all over again, we would do it the same. Spend 5 nights down south and then 3 nights up north. Especially since we flew into Kauai late at night and flew home late at night. This way we didn't have to drive up north at night when we were exhausted and we had plenty of time on the day we left to drive down from the north.

For families i would recommend the Grand Hyatt since it seemed to be a younger crowd with more young families, a more open pool area and you don't feel as much pressure to dress up for the lobby, but the St. Regis had the cutest activites room for children!

My only other advice to keep in mind is that while we were in Kauai (mid - late Sept) the ocean was very rough down South and much calmer up North. You do have to deal with more rain & showers up north but that is also why it is more lush and tropical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niswongerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha niswongerl,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided the most exceptional service possible. We also agree that it can be very difficult to compare the South Shore and North Shore of Kauai. Even though the island is quiet small the climate & scenery are quiet different. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the North Shore of Kauai soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    500
    254
    105
    69
See reviews for
601
1,610
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for our anniversary and were warmly greeted with leis and water. We were acknowledged the first night with a bottle of champagne and chocolate which were a nice touch. Due to a minor glitch we were given an incredible upgrade to a fabulous top suite. The suite was modern, spacious, comfortable, and very clean with a view that took our breath away. A nice array of toiletries and amenities were provided and housekeeping was excellent. The shower only had a ledge close to the floor so all our toiletries and soap kept getting wet. I don't know why there was no soap dish or shelf higher up. However, this resort is the best on Kauai. The views are unparallelled with the gorgeous water, incredible mountains, and rainbows. Landscaping is lush and beautiful. The public areas exceeded our expectations (based on the TripAdvisor reviews we had read) and reminded us of a modern metropolitan hotel. The public areas are huge, luxurious, and immaculate, with marble, nice wood, modern furniture and had an array of shops, including a gift shop that also sold prepackaged sandwiches and salads and a coffee shop that closed at 3pm in the afternoon. Butlers were very professional and nice but I think the service is a bit overrated. It was really nice to get the freshly pressed coffee and biscotti in the morning but they are very strict about the time frames coffee service is offered as we found out when we wanted coffee late one afternoon or earlier one morning and were told we had to order room service. The only other time we used the butlers was for some pressing and laundry (which was average and a task that we would normally ask housekeeping for). We had received an email from the butler staff before our stay asking if we had any special requests so I made some minor requests which were not acknowledged and we had to request them again at the resort. The beach and pool area are lovely and we were initially set up by the pool guy with towels, umbrellas and water. However, unlike the Four Seasons, we were basically then left alone and did not see staff going around refilling water or offering cool towels or any free snacks except for only one time over several days when we were offered a piece of pineapple. However, there were servers frequently in the vicinity taking drink orders. Bell staff were helpful getting us taxis and handling luggage but we did occasionally have to ask for water bottles. One time we were told by the female attendant to get it ourselves from the cooler which we thought a bit odd for a five star hotel. We were also told we could not use the Westin shuttle (that goes back and forth to the St Regis) to go to dinner at the Westin and were told we had to pay for a taxi. The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was decent but it does not come close to the buffet at the Four Seasons Maui. Here the only made to order item are omellettes but the spread of fruit was excellent and there were an array of hot dishes and breads/cakes which were mostly all the same each day. We did enjoy breakfast though. On Sundays you have to arrive by 9:30am or pay for an upgraded brunch which I think was $60 per person. Most mornings we had to ask for drink refills or remind the servers about items we had asked for. We ate at Makana Terrace and the food was pretty good but not outstanding. Our server seemed a little-absent minded as we had to ask for items several times. We actually enjoyed our room service dinner more. All in all, I would definitely stay here again. The difference between this resort and the Four Seasons Maui is that the 4S, while professional, gives a warm sense of aloha and truly anticipates your every need and really pampers you. At this resort, the interior facilities are more impressive than the FS but staff just meets your requests and don't anticipate your needs. The 4S has free lemonade in the lobby, free coffee in the morning, free fresh fruit, snacks at the pool, a really nice game room, free sunscreen, free drinks at the hotel manager reception, etc. but there are no similar "extras" at the St. Regis (which is more expensive). Those types of things are easy to fix which would make the resort more outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanaticTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha Fantastic Trip Planner,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and take all of our guests review very serious. We appreciate you taking the time to share your views and concerns with our Resort. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Directors in hopes that we may improve on the level or service and satisfaction that our guests receive. I have also shared your feedback with our Management team so that we can address our staff in both the Valet and Makana Terrace and make sure our guests our their number one priority. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature aloha and hospitality.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Almost every part of our experience here was disappointing.
The nights we stayed, no real choice for dining ... except the fine dining or overpriced poor in-room service options.
3 star coffee making facilities in the room ... paper cups. really!?!
mini bar non existent
poor refurbishment (you could tell it used to be a sheraton)

I don't want to sound like a bitter traveller.
As i was really looking forward to our stay here.
But some of the basics and fine touches were missing.
It was disappointing and we did all we could to spend as little time on property as possible and explore as much of Kauai as possible (so that was good)

Positives.,
Some great staff.
Amazing sunset view.
Pool side was relaxing.
Our butler - Salome - was fab!

Maybe we are spoilt in Asia.
Everything is over the top and new.

But basically, at the end of the day, i think this hotel was not for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a really beautiful property with excellent service. We had a partial ocean view room on the 4th level and we enjoyed the windows that opened to our beautiful view. The room had a marble tiled bathroom and amenities that showed they paid attention do detail. We have stayed at some Four Seasons properties and felt this easily rivaled those amenities and services. We especially enjoyed the pool area where there was plenty of room. We also didn't realize the property has its own small beach. Since our stay here was to celebrate an anniversary, a birthday, and the completion of grad school, we treated ourselves to a dinner at the Kauai Grille. We were not disappointed. Great service and wonderful food with larger portions than we expected. Lastly, we were surprised with a bottle of champagne in our room and a note of congratulations. No, it is not inexpensive but if you want to splurge you will not be disappointed. We plan to return and stay longer as soon as we can! What a great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiagirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

While staying at the St Regis Princeville on our honeymoon we were offered a complimentary photo session with Pacific Dream Photography. We wanted to thank them for making our honeymoon so memorable. We will now have our beautiful photos to forever remember our time in Kauai. We had such a great experience working with the photographer Michael. He was very professional, but also funny and made us feel very comfortable. We reviewed the finished products with Jorge, who was so nice and let us have as much time as we needed to make the difficult decision of narrowing down our choices. We ended up ordering the digital files so we could share on Instagram/Facebook and then also be able to order prints to frame. Overall, we highly recommend using Pacific Dream Photography for any occasion because of the high quality of the photographs and the environment in which they create to take the photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are rather old and not modern at all...
Not as big as it looked on website.
Does not feel luxurious as one would expect from a 5star st Regis.

Location is pretty good with princeville shopping mall just beside.

Hanalei bay is 10mins drive away where you can find a very decent Spanish restaurant and Japanese restaurant (blue dolphin).

Told hotel it's our anniversary trip but hotel did nothing special for us...

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is outstanding! This hotel is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in for a number of different reasons. The service is outstanding and the views are some of the best in the world.

The check-in process is quick and easy. As platinum guests, we were provided an upgrade to an ocean view room for the first few nights. For the second half of the stay, we were upgraded to a junior suite. After seeing both rooms, I cannot imagine having a bad room/view in this hotel.

In the junior suite, the bathroom has an awesome view. The shower wall is glass and you can see the water and the mountains from the shower. The shower glass has a privacy switch that allows you to close the window for privacy.

The pool is fantastic. There are plenty of pool chairs and you have the option of sitting by the pool or on the beach. There are plenty of umbrellas so you don’t have to worry about finding the few chairs in the shade. The pool is heated. The water is very comfortable and is kept at a perfect temperature. The hot tub is very hot!

The pool service is great. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I recommend talking with them about your activity interests and restaurant recommendations. Kaipo, Noah, Gina, Michelle and Rachel are some of the best staff at the pool.

Finally, the views are just amazing. You can watch the sunset from your pool or beach chair. There are beautiful flowers everywhere and the hotel property is very well maintained.

The valet is quick, easy and also very friendly. Edie, who works the valet, is one of the nicest staff members at the hotel. The valet provides directions, towel service and bottled water service.

The food and drinks at the pool are very good but really expensive. The breakfast buffet at the terrace is good, but also very expensive. Mililani is one of the friendly hostesses at the restaurant. If you are looking for some off property restaurants close to the hotel, I would recommend the Dolphin or Bouchons for sushi.

Thank you to all of the wonderful St. Regis staff for providing an incredible experience. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruefan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing