We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable views of Na Pali!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Yes, it's a St. Regis. Yes, it's a luxury resort. But what makes it special? The view! The view of the Na Pali coast from the glass-enclosed lobby is just incredible. I got a partial ocean room view on the second floor which was close to the pool and I could see the beach and the bay from the window. Service is impeccable. The only "complaints"? Not really, but I had stayed at the same property years ago, before the renovation. There was a swim-up bar with metal stools in the pool (the bar stools were underwater), but they got rid of it with renovation. There's still a decent poolside bar though, but no longer a swim-up bar. Also, my room does not have a balcony or lanai, which is usually among Hawaiian resorts. Otherwise, the resort is perfect, or as perfect as any resort can be.

Room Tip: The partial ocean room I got was decent even though it was on the second floor. It appears that mos...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyXiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha BennyXiao,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay. We appreciate your acknowledgement and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that you were not able to experience the pool bar as it was before and unfortunately we do not have balcony's available on our newly renovated rooms. We hope you will return again soon and partake in some of the most uncompromising views in Hawaii.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,783)
There are newer reviews for St. Regis Princeville Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where do I begin.....perhaps at the airport where our expensive, private car from the resort couldn't be found until after multiple calls were made to the resort. The 45 minute ride to the resort was unbearably annoying listening to the driver's boring island trivia. I really don't care that Kauai has the most free roaming chickens in the world. Once we arrived at the resort we were horrified to find that they had no power! Oh lucky us!!! Nothing worked...elevators, lights, computers for check-in, nothing but a dark lobby and darker restroom. The only place to wait and get some food was the pool but to get there without an elevator required that we walk down an extremely long, steep, dangerous, never used back path/stairway. Once down at the pool only cold food was available and it was expense and the drinks were awful. Finally after the power was restored we were shown to our full ocean view room which was small, dirty and looked as if the rug hadn't been cleaned in 10 years. After some "discussions" with the manger we were able to upgrade our room to an ocean view suite for a hefty price. It was necessary as the original room was disgusting. The suite included their much touted "Butler Service" which was a joke as they give you free coffee and tea and not much else, although they did offer to unpack our suitcases for us which we declined. Dinner that night at the Kauai Grill was bland and the service awful.

The next day we tried to book spa appointments but no one was answering the phone. In fact no one ever seemed to answer their phones, period! Not the front desk, concierge, spa no one! We had to wait for call backs from everyone! Either too busy or understaffed. You can guess which one! When we finally got through to the spa.....ops all booked. Want to change a reservation?...sorry you need 24hrs. in advance to re-book high tea or just about anything else. Want lunch? Only the pool restaurant or room service is available during the day.

Now here's the real problem... It RAINED the entire time!!! Nothing on their website tells you that Princeville, being on the North shore of Kauai, gets rain, rain, rain. If you want a sunny Hawaiian experience stay on the South shore. We heard the Grand Hyatt was the place to go! OK, so maybe we didn't do enough homework but still... Yes, the island is a lush, beautiful, tropical paradise but unless you wants to go to a rainforest for your vacation don't come here. Coming from The Four Seasons Maui made this look like a joke of a hotel. It is a 3-star experience at top-end, 5-star prices and not worthy of the Starwood-St. Regis name!!! Save your money and go elsewhere...This was the worst hotel value I have ever experienced, disappointing in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Aloha AlliC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The St. Regis Princeville Resort. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as this not typical of the St. Regis Brand. We pride ourselves in being able to provide a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. Clearly from the details you have provided we fell below standards. Your feedback has been shared your with Executive Members so that we may improve. The lack of response from our staff is unacceptable and has been addressed. We also apologize that it rained during your stay as the North Shore is normally known for a little more rain than other parts of the island. We would appreciate discussing the details of your experience with you personally and thank you in advance for this opportunity, if you would be kind enough to contact Noel d’Couto, Director of Operations at noel.dcouto@stregis.com. We’re looking forward to hearing from you and we hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to our island home.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On a great day, beside the pool and Hanalei Bay at Princeville, this really cannot be beaten. The service was impeccable but the food and informal lunch menu, not madly exciting. We figure they have to cater to the tastes and needs of their varied clientele at the pool-side location. We did not stay at the hotel but decided to go for a lunch treat after selling our Princeville home. It was still a good choice and it is local. The hotel seemed to be extremely busy with people catching a tan and escaping the snow and ice on the mainland! One tip: buy a bottle of wine rather than choosing the buy-by-the-glass option. It is much better value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha Dr. Benjamin P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our Pool and Nalu KaI Bar and Grill. Our staff truly takes pride in being able to provide exceptional service to all of our visitors. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay at our Resort.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the St Regis, Princeville,Kauai. It was absolutely perfect! The service was great from the time the valet opened my car door. We had a perfect view of Hanalei Bay and "Bali Hai", saw whales from our window seat in our room, went kayaking up Hanalei River, sat out on the beach, had dinner at a great restaurant , all on site!
We loved the location of the resort. You can drive into Hanalei Village and spend the day shopping and browsing and getting to know the locals. it was truly an anniversary to remember. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! The rooms are beyond great. I stayed in a jr suite and it was awesome. The shower overlooks the ocean. Service and grounds were great! Food was great but expensive. (Everything is expensive in Hawaii though) you will love your stay here. Very relaxing and beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclovesmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha Cclovesmexico,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your stay in 2012. We truly value our guests feedback and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. We appreciate your acknowledgement and would love to have you visit again soon.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I visited the St. Regis Princeville last summer. My wife and I anticipated a beauty that is unsurpassed typical of St Regis but were not blown away when we entered the property. It lacks the wow factor. The beach was small and even though the bay was very beautiful it had a very nice view and the pool was nice but very small and in Kauai there is a level of peace that is expected but due to the size and proximity to the bar it felt more like a 4 star hotel. Not stating that there was any negative observations but for the price and what one expects from St. Regis it could have been more than what it was. Just to compare the Hyatt was a better hotel for less money and with much nicer pool and beach. Also the proximity to other area attractions is much better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha Carriesman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the St. Regis Princeville Resort. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. We take all feedback very seriously and I have shared your comments with our Executive staff so that we may improve our levels of service. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which the St. Regis Brand is known.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is flat out over rated, rooms are dated, stayed last week and HOTEL was overrun with a cheesy sales convention. They took the place over, hard to RELAX with my family.

Food was not great and service was slow.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha TravelHeather,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent visit to our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Our staff takes great pride in being able to provide bespoke service to our guests and I have shared your comments with our Executive members so that we may improve for future guests. We hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to regain your confidence.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $528 - $1,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing