We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The St. Regis on the north shore of Kauai, Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Coronado, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The St. Regis on the north shore of Kauai, Hawaii”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I first saw the St. Regis on the SPG website several years ago and have wanted to stay at the hotel since that time. My dream became a reality earlier this week - we checked in on Sunday and departed on Tuesday. Our room overlooked the pool and Hanalei Bay - it was one of the finest hotel rooms in which we have ever stayed. The bath products were exceptional, the views from the room breathtaking, poolside staff very helpful (Scott and Noah), front desk (Marissa), and we really liked the idea of being able to check out DVD's from the concierge - we viewed South Pacific which was filmed nearby. It was a remarkable experience which I certainly want to repeat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor which had beach and bay views. When the windows were open you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    519
    262
    108
    71
See reviews for
622
1,658
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were visiting from Australia and arrived at the St Regis after 6 nights in Honolulu. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the service was second to none. After a fairly average experience at a relatively expensive hotel in Honolulu we were extremely impressed. We were lucky enough to receive a room upgrade and just didn't want to leave, the view across Hanalei Bay was incredible to wake up to. The butler service was extremely efficient. We would recommend the St Regis to anyone who wants to enjoy the sensational sunsets and views with friendly, outstanding service. Special mention to Mark - who was assisting with car service...great advice in helping us find some surf skis to paddle and making suggestions on what to do on the island. We had an early morning departure and the butler even provided us with some take away coffee to drink on our drive to the airport. All done with a smile a 4.45am!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha Noodle010,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our Resort. Our staff truly takes pride in being able to provide exceptional service during our guests stay and we are pleased to hear you received nothing but the best. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and give Mark special recognition for providing you the best service possible. Our butler team has some of the toughest jobs at our Resort and they manage to provide service with poise and the "Aloha Spirit." On behalf of the entire St. Regis Princeville Resort we hope to have you return to us soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It began with drinks at the pool for $20 a piece…. Then dinner at a stupidly expensive restaurant in the hotel, Makana Terrace, we ordered mac and cheese for our 1 year old boy, it never came…. The family next to us ordered some blueberry cocktails… they returned them all… we ate two appetizers and then finally just left in the middle it was so bad and the water was so horrible… oh and guess what… it was terribly expensive… then we were told we could have a 4pm checkout because our flight home did not leave until 8pm and we had a one year old baby that needed to not be outside all day and he needed naps… they kicked us out at noon…. Finally, my stupidity, I ran out of gas in our rental car in the valet area of the hotel… just needed a gallon of gas or someone to run me to the gas station 1mile away…. They would not do anything to help us… the valet and management gave me the number for a taxi service…. All of this terrible experience was also very very expensive…. To the point it was humorous..

Room Tip: dont stay here at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bmwColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha BMWColorado,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. At the St. Regis Princeville Resort we continuously strive to offer top levels of service, I apologize on behalf of the Staff and will be sharing your review with our Executive Members. I have also shared your comments about your dining experience with our Executive Chef so that they may we can remind our staff to be proactive and timely with our guests requests. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence. We would appreciate discussing the details of your experience with you personally and thank you in advance for this opportunity, if you would be kind enough to contact Noel d’Couto, Director of Operations at noel.dcouto@stregis.com. We’re looking forward to hearing from you.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I love when a luxury resort lives up to the brand expectation. The St. Regis Princeville did just that. There is a grand porte cochere to welcome you to the resort and the check-in experience that follows feels intimate rather than institutional (three desks with individual chairs rather than velvet rope maze). The decor is warm and well maintained; the grounds are immaculate and you won't find a scuff or scratch on any hallways walls or in the room.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite with Oceanview. This was our first experience with butler service and we most appreciated the free bottled water (when we asked for extras we got six bottles per day!), morning coffee delivery with biscotti and (though unused) the free pressing of two garments and unpacking service. The room was generously sized with a window that looked like a painting given the fabulous vista of the bay and sunsets. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom felt a bit dated, but you nearly forget it all when you have the chance to sit in the tub with a view of the bay.

The service was delightful all around. Andrew, who brought our coffee each morning, was professional and engaging, which is a tough balance to perfect when you're greeting guests in their rooms at 6:30am! We enjoyed drinks as sunset at the lobby bar and terrace. I really appreciated that even though we had ordered modestly and a crowd was forming, our waitress offered to save our seats when we told her we were going to stand outside to watch the sunset. The room was cleaned well and turndown service was thoughtful (robes and slippers put out, hidden TV setup with music, etc... not just flipping down the top of the bedding). I also managed to break the jetted tub as I'd pushed the stopped too far into the drain (it's a bit of an old school style). I called for service and a helpful gentleman arrived within 10 minutes and worked diligently to fix it (I created quite a project, believe me).

We ate breakfast and dinner onsite both days at the Terrace. It's a great al fresco experience and service and food were good, not excellent. Unfortunately, our brief stay didn't allow us to try the tasting menu at the Grill as it was closed both nights of our stay.

We were also treated to a bottle of sparkling wine in our room for our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

The only improvement opportunities (and these are minor) are:
1) The temperature of the room always felt a bit warm. It seemed that A/C perhaps couldn't keep up with the humidity.
2) Our phone line in the room didn't work and cell reception was sparse. The manager let us know he'd assist if we needed anything, but it became difficult to call for the car or reach the front desk. They were unable to fix it during our stay.

Lastly, note that the weather in Kauai can be quite rainy and cloudy. If you have only a brief visit, you may not see a sunny day. We unfortunately had our Southern Star Nepali Coast Sunset Sail cancelled after we drove nearly two hours towards the port on the southern side of the island due to weather. That said, the relaxing experience and great service at the St Regis still made it a worthwhile visit.

Room Tip: go for the junior suite. the butler service is a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha JohnRudha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a gracious review about your most recent stay at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. Memorable experiences are what we hold close to us throughout our lives and we thank you for selecting our Resort to play a small role in creating wonderful memories for you during your Anniversary. The captivating scenery, bespoke Butler service and uncompromising views are what make our Resort a truly unique destination. It would truly be our pleasure to welcome you back to our Resort for many years to come and for many. many more Anniversary Celebrations!

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Hands-down the most beautiful views of any hotel we have stayed in. The windows open and offer sweeping views of the Bay. Pool and beach are perfect and service there just right. It does rain more in the north shore, but if you expect that and can go with the flow, you'll be rewarded.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Trvlr609,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the St. Regis Princeville for your Hawaiian Vacation. We truly appreciate your comments about our wonderful property, having a captivating view of Hanalei Bay is Mother Nature at her finest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the beautiful "Garden Island" in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything seemed just a little "off." Too much work for too few staff? Staff unhappy with existing management? Food hard to find and difficult to understand and enjoy once found (if you can find it -- it isn't very good). A disappointment on every level but the view. Don't believe it will survive if it does not get new management and substantially improve its staff training and support, facilities and food service. Too bad -- great views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Valerie V,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent visit to our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your comments about our staffing and F&B issues with our Director of Restaurants and the Executive Chef of the Resort. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our improvements in the future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a tale of the St. Regis and the Grand Hyatt.
The name St. Regis conjures thoughts of fantasy like grounds with service that only the gods deserve. Hanalei Bay, where the St. Regis has a commanding view, is simply one of the most beautiful places in the world and frankly one of the most beautiful places in the USA. My wife and I are currently here, at the St. Regis, and we are having an unexpected experience. In our four prior visits to Kauai, we decided to switch to the St. Regis, from the Grand Hyatt, to elevate our experience and be closer to the challenging, yet enjoyable hiking in Haena. We also booked the exclusive private dinner experience (~$1,000USD). We checked in to our room, which was clean, but had some mechanical and design problems with the safe, located in the closet, didn’t allow the closet door to close or open correctly. Is this a 5 star resort? The refrigerator, is cockeyed and hangs out of its enclosure sideways. Room issues, aside (we are pretty easy going), our first morning, after a 20 hour trip, was everything we expected...amazing breakfast with that legendary service. If you put down your napkin, they picked it up, folded it, and placed it on the table…they were always there to serve you. That afternoon, we found a bottle campaign in our room and were impressed…we popped the cork then read the card, noting the hotel thought we were on our honeymoon which we are not. That was followed by a spa gift with a completely different name combination: our last name as the bride’s and some other name as the groom’s. We finally realized we were mistaken for some other couple…on their honeymoon. We brought all of this to the front desk so that the other couple wasn’t getting screwed out of their nice honeymoon amenities. From this point forward, I’m still not sure the hotel knows exactly what our name is. We decided to visit the concierge to arrange some activities and plan for my wife’s birthday. The concierge was professional and made us feel at ease and took copious notes and said that an itinerary would be created for our visit. The next day, we did not hear from the concierge and we didn’t receive any sort of communication…I visited the concierge again, and they had no record of us spending the time and no reservations were made. The concierge on duty did try to make everything right, but we lost much of the original details we set the first time. The global standard that is St. Regis did not ring true on this trip. Don’t get me wrong, the guys and gals working the car valet, bars, and restaurants were mostly excellent, but the management was the most interesting/questionable part. We first cancelled the exclusive dinner, worrying that we may be mixed up with the other couple again. We also cancelled our spa reservations because we just didn’t know what to expect. Finally, we realized that the St. Regis just didn’t want us here, so we decided that we should cut our losses and move back the Grand Hyatt where the service and property are truly better aligned with our expectations. So we asked about cancellation polices and we were able to cut our trip in half and get into the Grand Hyatt. It’s interesting that the St. Regis management had no interest in why we cancelled. I really don’t think they care if we are here since we are not with a group, not on a honeymoon, not celebrities, or didn’t have the super suite.
The other resort is the Grand Hyatt. The Grand Hyatt is a slightly less expensive resort but feels like you get much more property and greater selection of shopping, restaurants, and overall features. Most of all, they seem to care that we are patrons of their facilities and are treated like customers. The Grand Hyatt is also setup for late night walks along the beach and just feels more like a resort. You don’t get Hanalei Bay, but you can go visit it then return to a resort where they know who you are!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Kelly D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your feedback about your most recent stay. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Clearly from the details you have provided, we fell well below our standards of service and on behalf of the entire St. Regis Staff we apologize that we did not acknowledge you the way you should of have been. We truly regret to learn the details of your experience, as this is certainly not typical of the level of service we provide at our Resort. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality and personalization for which the St. Regis Brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing