We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“SPG Platinum Member Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“SPG Platinum Member Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am a SPG Platinum, Lifetime Gold member. This is our second time staying at the St Regis Princeville. We stayed in Feb 2013 for 5 nights. I used SPG points to stay and we where booked in an ocean view room. There is no resort fee but mandatory valet parking is $30 which is doubled what it was in May 2010 when we were here last.

We arrived on a Saturday evening around 9pm. We pull up to the valet, given leis and walked over to checkin. As the resort was very full we did not get upgraded to a Jr. Suite as I had hoped but I did ask and they said towards the end of our trip they could upgrade us. Back in 2010 we were upgraded to Jr. Suite on the 10th floor in Building B (see my review). This year we were given a room on the 4th floor in building C. Although the room is smaller and the bathroom did not have a nice ocean view, the actual view from the room was better than the Jr. Suite we had. We had a nice view of the sunset, Bali Hai and the Bay. We enjoyed sitting by the window and watching the sunset. Most of the rooms do not have lanais. Some have patios like the ones that are located on the 1st floor right in front of the pool and on the 8th floor jr. Suites in building A. The rooms on the 1st floor are standard rooms and they would be noisy and have a lack of privacy that my wife and I would enjoy. There are a handful of jr suites in building A that have patios w chairs and umbrellas that are really nice. They are private and have a great view of the sunset.

We really enjoyed are room, sitting along the window seats and watching the sun set each evening. As a Platinum member we enjoyed "high speed" internet access as well as complimentary continental breakfast. We could upgrade to the full buffet for $15 per person and we did do that each day except our last. Just a FYI. If you are doing continental only please let your server know. You have to order off the menu for the continental. We did not do that and they was some confusion because we kept on getting a bill. We did have it corrected. We also did the Sunday Brunch which was nice and as a plat. member you can apply to value of the continental ($19) to the buffet price. The sunday buffet was nice with raw bar,sushi, and your reg. breakfast items. It was $60 pp. so not cheap. We did have dinner at Kauai grill one night. Food was good but we though the service was lacking, had to ask for bread, came with no butter, once our waiter took our order he dissappeared. It was worth it in 2010 but we would not go back because you are spending alot of money and the service should be there. My wife did email a complaint to Jean george.

The pool area was very nice with towel service and wait staff. We took a nice walk a long the beach and Hanalei town was a short drive away. We love going eating at the different places, Dolphin, Bubbas, Hanalei Gourmet, we tried Postarcds but it was a hrs wait so well have to try it next time.
Take a nice drive to Ke'Beach stop by Red Hot Mama's for some mexican to eat in your car and we stopped by the farmers market and actually found a nice painting which we bought.

We did get the upgrade to a Jr Suite located in Building A on the 9th floor. Whata nice room with a great view of the sunset. The bathroom had a great view of the Bay and sunset also. Thanks to Kaleo Guerrero who was one of the St Regis Butlers for his recommendation. Kaleo was very friendly and really had that genuine caring spirit. We loved the Jr Suite with the 2 flat screens (one 60inch), the view and the coffee/tea maker in room. The room showed a small amount of wear and had those pop corn ceilings. Not a big deal but surprised to they didnt renvoated the ceiling when they redid the property a few years ago.

Valets were nice and provided waters and towels if asked. Overall another excellent stay at the ST Regis. It was great to use my points and we saved a bunch on room costs. We did not have a chance to use the spa this time but last time we did it was awesome. We loved the views from the room and next time we go we'll order room service and watch the sunset from our room rather then pay big $$ for mediorce service at Jean George.

Any questions please let me know and look at my reviews of the SHeraton Kauai and Westin and Sheraton Maui also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlatinumPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    452
    234
    95
    60
See reviews for
544
1,491
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really can't say enough great things about the St Regis Princeville. We splurged and booked a room with a lanai and we will definitely do the same when we return. All of the lanai rooms are on the first floor and we had the most amazing view of the pool, ocean and mountains. The lanais have a table and two chairs, which we expected, but also had two loungers. It was perfect for when we wanted to relax, but didn't want to hang by the pool. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. We ate the buffet breakfast each morning...costly, but we ate so much that we never bought lunch so we were getting two meals in one. Ate dinner offsite each night because the two restaurants at the resort are extremely expensive and fairly limited, especially for our 10-year-old and teenager. I highly recommend the Hanalei Dolphin Restaurant about 10 minutes away. Ate there twice and would have gone more if we had discovered it earlier. Perfect sushi and an extensive, reasonably priced menu.
If you decide to splurge and have a massage, I highly recommend Toni. I had a 90-minute massage with her (my birthday present) and it was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dohalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My Husband and I had an amazing experience with Pacific Dream Photography at the St.Regis! Our photographer was a true pro and took the most amazing pictures/videos of my Husband and myself. They were even better than our wedding photos! This was the perfect ending to our vacation and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtravel066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 4 blissful nights at the St Regis Princeville. What a gorgeous hotel and amazing, unmatched service. Every step of our stay, from the greeters, check-in, car service, concierge, housekeeping, was warm, helpful, and friendly. We could just feel the stress of travel melt away upon entering the St. Regis. Our room was spacious with an amazing view of the ocean. Sitting by the windows and hearing the waves, and viewing the mountainous shoreline with morning coffee was a perfect start to every day. The location is a plus as well, as it is close to many shops, restaurants, sights and beaches. We have always had great experiences with the St. Regis, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sorha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This trip was amazing from beginning to end. Our room was perfect. The weather and view were so beautiful that we little to never closed the window. The service was spot on. Everyone we encountered went above and beyond to take care of us. I must add that I loved the bed. It was so comfortable.

We decided to have pictures taken by Pacific Dream Photography (located on sight). They were also amazing. Rachel is a true artist and gave us over 200 photos to chose from. They also put together a video that was beautiful. I would highly recommend them to anyone. The quality was great and the prices were very affordable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shillel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel on the island of Kauai!! The hotel rooms are amazing, ammenities and spa are top notch. Sunset on the deck of the bar is an experience, breathtaking views off of that area which is right above the resaurants patio, which I recommend you dine at for breakfast/brunch. You get to sip your coffee or fresh squeezed mango/papaya juices while looking at either the mountain with various waterfalls, or the ocean by just turning your head slightly. Paradise. Now, It is somewhat costly, but the experience and friendly staff make it so worth it. There is a village shopping center with a grocery store and coffee shop, etc., thats within walking distance. We've been twice, thats the only place I will go from now on when we go to Kauai!!

Room Tip: Most ocean facing rooms face the mountain with waterfalls just to the left so I recommend requesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel twice before when it was the Princeville Resort. The modest updates made by Starwood are hardly noticeable, except for a total renovation of the pool area. The new pool area is nicer overall, but I missed the swim up bar from the old pool.

The pool attendants we're very helpful and friendly. However, I can not say the same for the pool waitresses!

The mandatory valet parking is not as convenient as self park, since the parking lot is only 100 yards from the lobby.

The beach at the St. Regis is a great snorkeling spot.
The restaurant is way over priced, but it is Princeville.

The view of Hanalei Bay is a definite10 out of 10...!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get a high floor with an Ocean view - you might not want to leave your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing