We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever, but hotel needs a serious upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well i have to say, upon arrival i was seriously impressed, we had to wait awhile for our room so we sat on the terrace and took many pictures of the breath taking view. I've never seen anything like that in view of a hotel. After waiting and waiting we decided to go the pool area cafe and have a bite to eat, thought the view from the pool was also astonishing, the cafe itself felt like i was sitting at a dennys, my first words were wow, they need some better design for these tables and chairs, then the order, most things they were out of so it came down to splitting a flatbread and a salad, both ok, but simple, that with two cokes came to $80! oh well, i said, dont eat at the pool anymore, which we would have to worry about anyway because it proceeded to rain and storm for all 4 days we were there, the last day it was drizzling so we tried to sit out by the pool just for the view. the chairs are the worst lounge chairs from any hotel i stayed at, not even any padding, the staff nice enough, laid down about 7 towels to make us comfortable. we ordered smoothies, dont order smoothies here, i we returned them because they were ice with flavored syrup with whip cream on them, no fruit, no yogurt.
so anyway, let's just get to the rooms, thanks to trip advisor i learned that none of the rooms had balconies except for the ocean terrace rooms and when i got there it was true, i cant believe there is a hotel in hawaii on the ocean with 90 percent of there rooms with no balcony, luckily i booked the right room. so we had a terrace, it was great to be able to walk out on, our view was again astonishing and this is what id return to this hotel for, but and this is a huge but, the interior of the rooms are really run down, poorly designed, smelly and dirty. to start, the furniture seemed like it needed a serious upgrade, not modern at all, in fact i felt like i was in a best western the whole time, the wiring for the all the lights were bunched up next to the night stand in a big ugly industrial power strip, the coffee machine was the worst, it was an old leaky unit that you would see in a best western, get a nespresso people! all the other hotels we stayed in along the way has nespresso units and i liked them so much i bought one, the one at the st regis was terrible. other things, the shower sometimes would not get warm, though the sink would at the same time, but the shower sometimes stayed cold, they had to send up engineers to fix the tv, the dvd player and the AC unit. there were no waters in the room when we arrived like other hotels, so we went out and bought a bunch of water, only to return to tiny complimentary bottles by our bedside, those should be in your rooms when you check in! also, it was our honeymoon and we knew we were supposed to be getting an special gift amenity that the travel agent set up, every hotel had it nicely arranged in our room when we arrived, champagne, snacks, etc. at the st regis, nothing, we actually embarrassingly enough had to call and ask for our gift!
the spa was really nice, the massage was great, though it averages $200 with gratuity and they let you use the amenities the day you book, other days it $25 to get in, just to sauna and steam room, i think paying $1000 a night for this place should entitle you to use the sauna and steam room each day, it really should. parking is 30 dollars a day, and you have tip a few dollars each time you go in our out, it adds up! but you need a car, especially to go eat off property to avoid the 40-50 dollar entries that consume the menu at the hotel restaurants. also, one last thing, it was the first hotel that we had the breakfast package that you couldnt have it IN the room, you had to go down to a buffet and wait in line, but once down there the buffet was quite good, nice omelet bar.
finally, i would prefer not to stay there again, maybe just visit the property for dinner or do 1-2 nights there just for the view, not for extended stays. i would give this hotel 2 1/2 stars if i could, its btwn poor and average in my opinion. most of all the rooms need a serious upgrade, by far the worst rooms we stayed in during our trip of the islands.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lotsoftravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Aloha Lotsoftravel123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. We truly appreciate your acknowledgement of the breathtaking views. Having a captivating view of Hanalei Bay is Mother Nature at her finest. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your comments with our General Manager. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which the St. Regis brand is known.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,916 of 2,921 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon in Hawaii jumping from one Starwood property to another, and we have to say starting with the St. Regis kauai was the best decision we made. We had a beautiful room facing the ocean, the staff was amazing, the st. Regis has amazing facilities and spa, top notch gym and a private beach.

The breakfast buffet was amazing and had breathless views of the bay. And since it was right n the beach, even In days where it was pouring rain in Princeville, the beach area was still sunny, weird but true :)

All in all highly recommend it.

Down sides:
Parking is too expensive

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently spent more than a week at the hotel over the Xmas holidays. Although we had fun and enjoyed our trip, the hotel does not deserve to be called a St. Regis. It is not in the class of a St. Regis, a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton. On the plus side, the service was exceptional, whether upon arrival, in the dining rooms, pool side or at the beach. They really can't do enough for you. The negatives are that the hotel feels a bit tired, the beach was inundated with people from other hotels, the beach is tiny, other than breakfast, the food at the hotel was average at best, and the weather was terrible (rained four of the days all day). Apparently, this was the rainy season and this side of the island rains quite a bit.

The views and setting are beautiful and on balance we had fun but I think that branding this hotel a St. Regis is deceptive and not in line with the other St. Regis hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnyFun2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Aloha Johnnyfun2012,

Thank you for taking the time share your feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your comments with Engineering and our Executive Chef. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff, our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a discreet experience of bespoke service. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to showcase our signature hospitality for which the St. Regis brand is known.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The setting for this hotel is beautiful, but the property is not at the level of a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton. Certainly does not seem to meet the expectations you would have for a St. Regis. Dining options at hotel are limited. Service is extremely slow. Our party of 6 wanted to rent bikes to ride around princeville but the hotel had only 4 in its entire inventory. Espresso machine in their little coffee shop was broken during our entire stay. No introduction to the hotel at check in....room key and directions to the elevator was it. The hotel seemed overwhelmed by the high occupancy during the week of New Years.

Room Tip: The rooms have a glass wall between the shower/bathroom and the rest of the rooms that can be transp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcr618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was meant to be 4 but unfortunately we were delayed in Las Vegas and our flight got in to Kauai too late - the hotel were great in reducing our reservation without penalty. This resort is really lovely. The rooms are possibly a little dated if you're looking for sleek modern lines then this may not be to your thing. But really - who is looking at their room with a view like this place has. The pool area is nice, it's not gigantic but is large enough and is right next to a lovely stretch of beach where the sunsets are pretty awesome. There's a community shopping area up the road before the golf course with a supermarket for supplies and stuff. We had some cocktails one night in the lobby bar with a view of the sunset which were great. The staff here were all very friendly and very attentive, the views were great and it was very relaxing to be here. I would stay again happily.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely unbeatable. For this reason I will go back again and again. The hotel, one of the ugliest buildings is average. You have to wait approx 20 minutes for a table at breakfast. The Buffett is average by 5 star standards. The beach area is lovely but sun beds in short supply. Be sure to get there early if you want a nice spot to spend the day. Would say that without the location would be at best a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Aloha devil63358,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide the most impeccable service for which the St. Regis Brand is known.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's all about location with the St. Regis, Princeville.

While the property sometimes seems to struggle with a somewhat ugly structure, the view of Hanalei bay and the mountains behind easily make you overlook the disappointing architecture.
Everything else is as expected from an SPG premium property- service and ambience.

We were at the St.R for slightly delayed celebrations of our wedding anniversary. It was lovely to find a handwritten card by the hotel manager coupled with a bottle of champagne when we returned to our room on the second day.

The pool by the bay is wonderful. Snorkeling in the bay is colourless and disappointing for the reefs there have long been dead, supposedly since the couple of storms weathered by Kauai.

We were at the restaurants only for the breakfast which was packed each day, especially during the Sunday brunch. The Sunday brunch is quite a spread! The evening champagne ritual on the terrace outside the bar is interesting but nothing extraordinary.

If on the island again, I'd return for the service and the luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Aloha mcblr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service makes us a truly unique destination and we are so pleased that our Resort could play a small role in celebrating some of the most memorable moments of your time together during your anniversary. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $590 - $1,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing