We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Location - Very Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Location - Very Good Service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I just returned from a stay at the St. Regis Princeville with my wife and two young kids (6 and 4). It was spectacular. We were a little uncertain about whether the hotel would be a good fit for a family with young kids, but we all really enjoyed it and saw a lot of other families there. There is a lot to do for kids at and near the hotel, and Princeville is a perfect base for exploring the gorgeous north shore of Kauai.

We had stayed at the Princeville 8 years ago, before it was a St. Regis. The upgrades are all big improvements to a hotel that was already a very good hotel.

The views from the St. Regis lobby are absolutely extraordinary. Every time we would walk into the lobby, our jaws would drop from the view. Sunsets from the terrace are some of the most beautiful I've seen.

Our room was very comfortable, also with a great view. We stayed in a junior suite - which was perfect for a family of four. There was plenty of room for 2 rollaway beds for the kids, and the seating area was very comfortable. We requested a fridge, which was nice to keep drinks and snacks cold.

Service was absolutely spectacular - particularly at the pool/beach and by the bellmen and valets. The valets are incredibly quick to get your car and are very knowledgable about local places to go. The staff at the pool and beach were very friendly and great about remembering the guests' names throughout their stay. Service at the restaurants was a little uneven - sometimes very slow, but always friendly. We had a little snafu with our room when we checked in (they gave us the wrong type of room the first night), but they quickly fixed the problem to our satisfaction.

We loved Pacific Dream Photography, which is the onsite photographer. We did a family photo shoot on the beach, which was incredible. I would highly recommend using them - it was actually a highlight of the trip.

Overall, I highly recommend the hotel. It is pricey, but an amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mbavon,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at our Resort. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation and we will be sure that Pacific Dream Photography receives recognition for taking such excellent care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Princeville Resort.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    511
    259
    108
    69
See reviews for
609
1,640
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are finishing up our wonderful stay at the st Regis. This trip was for our 6th anniversary and was our 4th time on Kauai. This place is wonderfully relaxing and offers the most amazing views and most romantic setting we have ever experienced. It is very expensive but that is expected and some of the guests can be snobby but that is also to be expected. All in all a wonderful time and we will be back. We did notice that there were a lot of families with young children here but we did not mind. Highly recommend as it feels incredibly secluded from the world in such a luxury setting. Venturing into the town of hanalei, and hiking the nearby trail to kē ē beach is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmbutterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Dmbutterfly,

Mahalo for your gracious review and thank you for taking the time to post it. Rest and relaxation is a veiled treasure found at our resort. The captivating scenery and sheer beauty of Kauai holds your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy the moment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed every moment of your vacation getaway and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Happy Anniversary and we wish you many more to come!

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The St. Regis Princeville Resort is located at one of the most spectacular locations on earth and the amenities, service and aloha spirit at this top notch resort is beyond reproach. We had a five night stay at the resort with the family, including two kids, and found the entire time incredible! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by Matt, one of the most friendly, sincere and helpful persons you will meet. Matt made an instance connection with our daughter Ava, and that feeling of being welcome and treated as more than a guest was evident with everything we did. From the morning buffet with kind and friendly service, to the pool and spa with incredible views to the evening sunset show, the St. Regis Princeville is a big slice of Heaven! We don't usually return to the same place for our vacations, but I think we will be return visitors for many years to come.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a good view of the ocean which is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Aloha Chris D,

Thank you for a very thoughtful review and for choosing the St. Regis Princeville Resort for your Hawaiian Vacation. We truly appreciate your endorsement of our hotel and we are pleased to hear that your experience with Matt and our other staff was beyond expectations. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a “more personal” experience and it looks like we have fulfilled all your expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Princeville Resort as our ohana (family).

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

For a destination dining room attached to the Jean Georges name, the food was a great disappointment compared to the establishments in Las Vegas and New York. Go for the incomparable views at the bar during sunset and save your food dollars elsewhere. A long trek to Merriman's but the cooking far surpasses St Regis'.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eutr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Eutr,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We apologize that we fell short of delivering a restaurant experience that you deserve and expect from a St. Regis. Your comments will be shared with our Executive Chef. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

They may have changed the name to St. Regis, but the room we were booked into was about the level of a motel 6. The room was filthy, balcony covered with mold/mildew, carpets stained, foul odor. Changed to a room with a lanai but was in worse condition. The overwhelming smell of mold and mildew permeated the hallways, outdoor furniture coated with mildew, as was the deck and siding. At these prices, one would at least expect cleanliness. Third room was finally acceptable. Overly busy reception area/valet parking--long waits for your card, long waits to get a bellman for you luggage. Buffet breakfast at almost $40 pp was not worth it. Pass on this hotel. Go to Poipu and stay at the Grand Hyatt.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Avoid room 507 as your view will be that of an elevator shaft. Avoid any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveldoc350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Traveldoc350,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We pride ourselves in providing a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. Clearly from the details and photos you have provided, we fell well below our standards of service, and for this we are very sorry. Your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping, reception and bellman staff to remind them of our continued efforts in being proactive and timely. We would appreciate discussing the details of your experience with you personally and thank you in advance for this opportunity, if you would be kind enough to contact Noel d’Couto, Director of Operations at noel.dcouto@stregis.com. We’re looking forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have to say the property is beautiful, the staff is top notch. The visual presentation of everything is impeccable. However, this is the end of the good news. When I arrived for my honeymoon, I was thrilled as I went through the check-in process and walked to my room. The room was perfect and the hop took 20 minutes to walk us through the features of the room, the hotel and then took several pictures for us. I thought "Wow, this place is awesome!" The next morning, my new wife and I walked down to experience the much pictured tranquil pools to relax, sunbathe and relax. Imagine our surprise to find the pools, the hot-tub and the beach mobbed with kids and families. It was utter chaos. My wife tried for over an hour to read her book by the pool before she had to gave up due to the constant splashing soaking her book. We then ordered two cheeseburgers and two bloody mary's. I was stunned to get the bill of nearly $90 without the tip! The food was basic and the drinks were terrible.

During all this time, I noticed most people did not have Regis towels, brought coolers, folding chairs and their own food. I thought this was VERY odd for such an exclusive upscale hotel. So I asked one of the staff what the deal was. He explained with a frustrated look on his face that the Regis has an agreement with the Westin up the road so that their guests can be bused over to the Regis to use the facilities, pool and beach! I was furious! I was paying $500 a night for tranquility and luxury only to be over run with $125 a night patrons. This is totally unacceptable to me. I will never stay at the Regis again. I will more than likely never stay at a Starwood facility either without at least calling in advance to ask "Are the facilities ONLY available to the guests?"

I sat by the pool for two days trying to relax, fighting to find available chairs, quiet spots in the pool or wait staff all of which were consumed with Westin guests. At one point I thought I found a quiet corner just to have 4 families come down the hill, spread out several blankets directly behind me setup their baskets of food and coolers and proceed to have a full blown family picnic complete with soccer balls and badminton. They even pilled much of their stuff on the chairs to the right and left of me and asked my wife and I to move to make things easier for them. When I said no, I spent the next 45 minutes listening to the rhythmic thump thump of several people kicking the soccer ball to each other culminating with me getting whacked with a wild kick. My wife and I packed up and left the beach never to return for the 7 remaining days of our stay. We got up every morning, packed up and left to tour the island.

Stay away, find a private home or condo to rent in the North Shore area and REALLY enjoy your stay instead of dodging coolers and soccer balls. Or at least stay at the Westin for the 75% cheaper rate and then just hop the bus from the lobby every half hour to the Regis to enjoy their amenities.

Room Tip: Stay at the Westin down the street for 75% cheaper rates and then just hop the bus from the lobby ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank ohhzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear ohhzone,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We also appreciate your kind words that our property is beautiful and that our staff is top notch. We are disappointed to hear that your beach and pool experience was anything less than exceptional. Over these past years we have had many couples that found Romance and Tranquility at our resort and we sincerely apologize that this was not the case for you and your wife at this time. We want to assure you that only St. Regis Princeville guests have privileges and exclusive use of the main swimming pool, children’s pool, whirlpools and pool deck. Our staff monitors the pool and beach areas throughout the day. We do allow the guests of our sister property The Westin Ocean Resort Villas to use the beach area in front of our property. On that note, it’s worth to mention that all beaches in Hawaii offer full public access, and on occasion, especially during the summer season the beach can be active with visitors and families. We regret that you and your new wife had challenges during your stay and for this we are very sorry. We would appreciate discussing the details of your experience with you personally and thank you in advance for this opportunity, if you would be kind enough to contact Noel d’Couto, Director of Operations at noel.dcouto@stregis.com. We’re looking forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel has the best hotel view in the world. Service is great. Food is just OK. North Kauai is perhaps one of the most beatifyl places on earth. Eat off the hotel grounds in the town nearby. Food is much better. Pool and beach are paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaddius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Thaddius,

Thank you for your kind compliments on The St. Regis Princeville Resort and the north shore of Kauai. We thank you for selecting us to be a part of your stay here on the beautiful island of Kauai. We look forward to your next return visit.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing